Skip to content
MOW & MEADOW

Battery Platforms

Greenworks 80V vs Kobalt 80V: same voltage, different bets

Identical on the sticker. One ships 320Wh and a half-acre rating; the other ships 640Wh across two bays and claims a full acre.

By Sawyer V.Published Last updated

Affiliate disclosure: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we rank first — here is how we're funded.

Row of cordless tool batteries

We have not tested these units. Every spec on this page comes from the manufacturer's own documentation and is linked to it. Every computed figure is arithmetic you can redo. Prices are checked daily — last verified January 1, 1970. Here is exactly how we pick.

These two mowers wear the same voltage badge and are not close to being the same purchase. Kobalt ships twice the energy and claims twice the acreage. Greenworks ships a documented warranty and a spec sheet you can actually read. Which matters more depends on whether you are buying a mower or joining a platform.

Side by side

SpecKobalt 80V SPGreenworks LM2108S
Deck21 in, steel21 in
Batteries in the kit2 x 80V 4.0Ah1 x 80V 4.0Ah
Installed watt-hours640Wh320Wh
Published runtimeUp to 80 minUp to 33 min
Acreage ratingUp to 1 acreUp to 1/2 acre
DriveRWD, 7 speed settingsVariable-speed RWD
Blade speedNot published3200 RPM
WeightNot published75 lb
RechargeApprox. 60-90 min40 min
WarrantyNot published on listing4-yr tool / 4-yr battery
Where to buyLowe's (house brand)Widely available

Sources: Kobalt 80V self-propelled mower listing and Greenworks LM2108S, both checked 3 September 2026.

The energy gap, worked out

The arithmetic — Installed watt-hours
Kobalt: 80V x 4.0Ah = 320Wh per pack, x2 bays = 640Wh installed
Greenworks: 80V x 4.0Ah = 320Wh installed
Kobalt claims 80 min from 640Wh = 8.0Wh per minute
Greenworks claims 33 min from 320Wh = 9.7Wh per minute

Two things are true here. Kobalt gives you twice the energy, and it also appears to use it slightly more efficiently per minute — though a 21-inch deck with turbo leaf pickup (the Greenworks) legitimately draws more than a conventional one, so this is not a defect on the Greenworks side.

Kobalt's listing describes two ports but does not state whether the packs discharge simultaneously or in sequence. We do not claim either. What is verifiable is that 640Wh is on the machine when you start it, and that you are not walking back to a charger halfway through an acre.

The platform question

A mower comparison and a platform comparison give different answers here.

As a mower, the Kobalt is the stronger buy for a large lawn: more installed energy, seven drive speeds, a steel deck and a one-acre rating.

As a platform, the picture changes. Kobalt is a Lowe's house brand, which means one retailer controls availability, pricing and how long replacement packs stay on shelves. When you buy the mower you are betting that a specific retailer keeps supporting a specific voltage line for a decade. That bet is not unreasonable — Kobalt 80V has been running for years and all its 80V packs are cross-compatible across the outdoor range — but it is a narrower bet than one on a brand sold through many channels.

Greenworks also asks you to read carefully: it runs 24V, 40V, 60V and 80V as entirely separate platforms. Buying "a Greenworks" commits you to nothing until you check which line the tool sits on. That trips people up constantly, and it is the first thing we cover in the battery compatibility guide.

What each brand will tell you

Greenworks publishes blade RPM, weight, recharge time and a warranty on both tool and battery. The Kobalt listing publishes runtime, acreage and drive speeds but not weight, cut-height range, noise or warranty terms.

We are not going to fill those gaps with estimates. A 21-inch steel-decked self-propelled mower with two 4Ah packs aboard is obviously not light, but "obviously not light" is not a specification and we will not print a number nobody published. If weight matters to you — and on a self-propelled mower it matters less than people assume, because the drive motor moves it — ask in store before you buy.

The verdict

Choose Kobalt 80V if

  • Your lawn is between a half acre and an acre
  • You want to finish without touching a charger
  • You shop at Lowe's anyway and that is where you will buy packs

Choose Greenworks 80V if

  • You want a published 4-year battery warranty
  • You want to compare on specs rather than on floor impressions
  • A 40-minute recharge suits how you mow
  • You want the tool available from more than one retailer

If your lawn is over an acre, neither of these is the right shape of answer — look at electric riding mowers instead, where the watt-hour math changes completely.

The products discussed

Specs are the manufacturer's own and linked to the page they came from. Prices come from a live daily check; where we have no verified price we say so rather than print a stale one.

1. Best two-bay runtime

Kobalt 80V Max 21" Self-Propelled (dual-port)

Kobalt · Kobalt 80V Max · Our score 8.4/10

No photo
Check price on Amazon

#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.

Two 4Ah bays, 80 published minutes and an acre rating -- the most runtime per purchase of any 80V walk-behind here.

Published specs

Deck21 in, steel
MotorBrushless
Batteries included2 x 80V 4.0Ah (dual port)
Runtime claimUp to 80 min
Rated forUp to 1 acre
DriveSelf-propelled RWD, 7 speed settings
RechargeApprox. 60-90 min

Source: Kobalt 80-Volt 21-in Self-propelled Battery Mower (2 batteries), lowes.com

Our arithmetic — Nameplate watt-hours
640Wh installed (2 x 320Wh)

80V x 4.0Ah = 320Wh per pack; two bays = 640Wh installed. Kobalt's listing does not state whether the two ports discharge simultaneously or in sequence, so we do not claim either -- what is verifiable is that 640Wh is on the machine when you start.

What the numbers favor

  • 640Wh installed across two bays, the most of any walk-behind on this page
  • Rated to 1 acre, twice the Greenworks 80V flagship's half-acre rating
  • Seven published speed settings on the self-propel drive
  • All Kobalt 80V packs are cross-compatible across the 80V outdoor line

What they don't

  • Sold through Lowe's only, so availability and price track one retailer
  • The listing does not publish weight, cut-height range or a noise figure
  • Kobalt's 80V outdoor range is narrower than EGO's or Ryobi's
Skip this one if

you want a platform rather than a mower. Kobalt is a single-retailer house brand -- fine for the tool, thinner as a decade-long ecosystem bet.

How it scores

Installed energy10.0
Acreage rating9.5
Drive control9.0
Published spec depth5.0
Platform range6.0

Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.

2. Best published spec sheet

Greenworks 80V 21" 4-in-1 LM2108S

Greenworks · Greenworks 80V · Our score 8.4/10

No photo
Check price on Amazon

#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.

The only mower here that publishes motor wattage, blade RPM, weight and an acreage rating -- and the only one whose battery warranty matches its tool warranty.

Published specs

Model / SKULM2108S / 2550402
Deck21 in
Max blade speed3200 RPM
Battery included80V 4.0Ah
Cut height1.38-4.0 in, 7 positions
Runtime claimUp to 33 min
Weight75 lb
Rated forUp to 1/2 acre
Warranty4-yr tool / 4-yr battery

Source: 80V 21" 4-in-1 Self-Propelled Lawn Mower (LM2108S), greenworkstools.com

Our arithmetic — Nameplate watt-hours
320Wh

80V x 4.0Ah = 320Wh, using Greenworks' advertised pack voltage.

What the numbers favor

  • 4-year battery warranty -- a year longer than EGO's 3-year, on the component that fails first
  • Publishes blade RPM, weight and acreage rating; the other two brands publish none of the three
  • 40-minute recharge on the included charger, the fastest published here
  • 4-in-1 deck adds turbo leaf pickup on top of mulch, bag and side discharge

What they don't

  • 320Wh included, the least of the three flagships -- and the 33-minute runtime claim reflects that
  • 75 lb is the only published weight here, and it is not light
Skip this one if

you want one battery to finish a half-acre without a swap. Greenworks rates the mower for 1/2 acre but claims only 33 minutes on the included pack; those two numbers only reconcile if you buy a second battery.

How it scores

Included energy6.5
Published spec depth10.0
Warranty9.0
Recharge speed9.5
Value per watt-hour8.0

Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.

Common questions

Are Greenworks 80V and Kobalt 80V batteries interchangeable?
No. Sharing a nominal voltage does not make packs compatible. The terminals, latch geometry and battery management electronics are specific to each brand, and neither sells a cross-brand adapter. Two 80V platforms are still two platforms.
Which 80V mower runs longer?
Kobalt, as sold. It ships two 4Ah packs (640Wh installed) and claims up to 80 minutes; the Greenworks flagship ships one 4Ah pack (320Wh) and claims 33 minutes. Fit a comparable pack to the Greenworks and the gap narrows considerably.
Is Kobalt only sold at Lowe's?
Kobalt is Lowe's house brand, so the product pages, stock and pricing all live with one retailer. That is fine for the tool itself but worth weighing on a ten-year platform decision, where you want replacement packs available from more than one source.
Does a bigger acreage rating mean a better mower?
It means a bigger battery, usually. Acreage ratings are a function of watt-hours divided by how much energy the deck consumes per square foot. Kobalt's 1-acre claim comes with 640Wh installed; Greenworks' half-acre claim comes with 320Wh. The ratings are consistent with the packs.
Which has the better warranty?
Greenworks publishes 4 years on both tool and battery on its product page. Kobalt's listing does not publish equivalent terms, so we cannot compare honestly and do not guess.

Sources

  1. Greenworks 80V 21" 4-in-1 Self-Propelled Mower (LM2108S), greenworkstools.com
  2. Kobalt 80-Volt 21-in Self-propelled Battery Mower (2 batteries), lowes.com