Skip to content
MOW & MEADOW

Guides

How to read a yard tool spec sheet (and what its silences mean)

Every figure on a spec sheet is chosen. So is every figure that is missing, and the absences are usually more informative than the numbers.

By Sawyer V.Published Last updated

Affiliate disclosure: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we rank first — here is how we're funded.

Calculator and notes on a desk

We have not tested these units. Every spec on this page comes from the manufacturer's own documentation and is linked to it. Every computed figure is arithmetic you can redo. Prices are checked daily — last verified January 1, 1970. Here is exactly how we pick.

After transcribing spec sheets from eight brands into one registry, a pattern emerges that no individual product page reveals: brands publish different things, and what each one leaves out is remarkably consistent. This is how to read both the numbers and the gaps.

The rule

Convert everything to a comparable unit before you compare anything — watt-hours for energy, watt-hours per minute for draw, cleaning units for pressure washers, cuts per charge for saws. Then read what is missing. A brand that publishes weight, RPM, acreage and warranty and one that publishes none of them are not making equivalent claims.

Figures that are genuinely comparable

FigureWhy it comparesWatch out for
Watt-hours (V x Ah)Energy is energy, whatever the brandAdvertised volts run about 11% above nominal, so all nameplate figures are similarly optimistic
Working widthInches are inchesEffective width is less than deck width once you overlap
Warranty termYears are years, and they are contractualBattery term and tool term are often different; the battery one matters more
Published depth or capacityA physical limit the maker has committed toRetail listings blur "dethatcher" and "aerator" constantly; check the inches
Cleaning units (PSI x GPM)Combines the two figures that both matterPeak PSI and rated GPM are sometimes measured separately

Figures that look comparable and are not

  • Max volts. A 60V Max pack is a 54V nominal pack. Toro is the only brand in our registry that publishes a watt-hour figure, and that figure is how we know.
  • Gas-equivalent horsepower. EGO publishes 22 HP gas equivalent for the Z6. There is no standard behind it, so it is a claim rather than a measurement.
  • Peak CFM and peak MPH. Both are peak figures, generally not achieved simultaneously, and each brand tests its own way.
  • Torque against wattage. EGO publishes cutting torque in ft-lbs and Greenworks publishes motor wattage. Those are different quantities and neither converts to the other.
  • Decibels across brands. Ryobi's 57 dB and EGO's 64 dB are each measured under their own conditions. The gap is directional, not lab-comparable — and a 7 dB difference is a large one, which is why directional is still useful.

#ad Check the Ryobi 40V HP Whisper Series 730 CFM RY404100 price on Amazonhow we're funded.

The audit: what six mower brands do not publish

This is the table that changed how we write about this category. It is the same class of product from six manufacturers, and the columns are startlingly uneven.

Published specEGORyobiGreenworksToroKobalt
Runtime claimYesYesYesYesYes
Cut height rangeYesNoYesNoNo
WeightNoNoYesYesNo
Blade speed (RPM)NoNoYesNoNo
Acreage ratingNoNoYesNoYes
Recharge timeNoNoYesYesApproximate
Warranty on the pageYesNot statedYesNot statedNot stated
Watt-hoursNoNoNoYesNo
DecibelsNoNoNoNoNo

Compiled from each brand's own walk-behind mower product page for the models in our registry, checked 3 September 2026. "No" means the figure is absent from the page we cite.

Read the bottom row. Not one of six flagship battery mower manufacturers publishes a decibel rating for a walk-behind mower — in a category whose central selling point against gas is that it is quieter. That silence is unanimous, and it is the single most informative gap we found.

Read the columns and you learn something else. Greenworks publishes seven of the nine rows and Toro publishes the one figure nobody else does. Two brands publish three rows each. None of this makes a mower better or worse, but it tells you how much of your purchase is a claim you can check.

#ad Check the Greenworks 80V 21" 4-in-1 LM2108S price on Amazonhow we're funded.

The best specification format, when you find it

Three formats stand out as unusually honest, and they are worth actively seeking.

Work per charge, against a stated material

EGO publishes up to 300 cuts on a 4x4 for the CS1804 chainsaw. That names the job and the material, which is more information than any runtime figure carries, and it lets you size a pack from a woodpile instead of from a guess.

Runtime by mode rather than an average

EGO publishes 15 minutes of turbo and 150 minutes on low for the LB7650. An average would have hidden a ten-to-one ratio. Ryobi does the same on its blower with 30 and 120.

Runtime across several pack sizes

EGO publishes edger runtimes on 4.0Ah, 7.5Ah and 10.0Ah packs. That is enough data to prove the draw is flat, which is a claim no single figure could support.

#ad Check the Toro 60V Max 21" Recycler Self-Propel (21356) price on Amazonhow we're funded.

A six-step reading routine

  1. Convert the battery to watt-hours before you read anything else. Volts times amp-hours, every time.
  2. Divide energy by runtime to get watt-hours per minute, which is the number that sizes a purchase.
  3. Find the warranty on the battery, not the tool. The pack is what fails first and it is the expensive part.
  4. List what is missing. Weight, cut height, recharge time, noise — write down the blanks.
  5. Treat peak figures as ceilings. Max CFM, max PSI and top speed describe a best case, not a working condition.
  6. Prefer a brand that commits to a number over one that leaves it out, all else equal. A published figure is checkable; a silence is not.

#ad Check the Kobalt 80V Max 21" Self-Propelled (dual-port) price on Amazonhow we're funded.

What we cannot tell you

We cannot tell you whether a published figure is accurate. We transcribe what manufacturers state and we do the arithmetic on it; we run no test lab and own none of this equipment. If a brand's runtime claim is optimistic, our per-minute figure inherits that optimism, and we would rather say so than pretend otherwise.

What this method does give you is a way to compare like with like, and a way to notice what nobody wants you to notice. Start with the gaps.

The products discussed

Specs are the manufacturer's own and linked to the page they came from. Prices come from a live daily check; where we have no verified price we say so rather than print a stale one.

1. Best published watt-hour honesty

Toro 60V Max 21" Recycler Self-Propel (21356)

Toro · Toro 60V Max Flex-Force · Our score 8.3/10

#ad Check price on Amazon

No photo
Check price on Amazon

#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.

The only manufacturer here that publishes the actual watt-hour figure for its pack -- and the number tells you something the others hide.

Published specs

Model21356
Deck21 in, 14-gauge steel
Battery60V Max L324, 6.0Ah, 324Wh
Charge time150 min
Runtime claimUp to 45 min on the 6.0Ah
DrivePersonal Pace variable-speed RWD
Weight66 lb
StorageSmartStow vertical

Source: 60V Max 21 in. Recycler Self-Propel Lawn Mower (21356T), toro.com

Our arithmetic — Published watt-hours
324Wh (Toro's own figure)

Toro labels the pack 60V Max 6.0Ah and publishes 324Wh. 324 / 6.0 = 54V -- the nominal voltage, not the 60V max-charge figure on the sticker. Every brand's 'max volts' is roughly 11% above nominal, so a nameplate watt-hour number is always about 11% optimistic. This is the single most useful spec on this page.

What the numbers favor

  • Publishes a real watt-hour figure (324Wh) instead of leaving you to multiply the marketing voltage
  • 45 minutes from 324Wh, against Greenworks' 33 minutes from a nameplate 320Wh
  • 14-gauge steel deck, the only steel deck spec published on this page
  • SmartStow vertical storage -- a genuine constraint solver in a one-car garage

What they don't

  • 150-minute recharge is the slowest here by a wide margin
  • Toro's 60V line is narrower than EGO's or Ryobi's, so the platform grows less far
Skip this one if

you are buying into a platform rather than a mower. Toro builds excellent mowers; the 60V Flex-Force tool range is not the one to bet a decade of yard tools on.

How it scores

Published energy10.0
Minutes per watt-hour9.0
Deck build9.0
Platform range6.0
Recharge speed4.0

Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.

2. Best published spec sheet

Greenworks 80V 21" 4-in-1 LM2108S

Greenworks · Greenworks 80V · Our score 8.4/10

#ad Check price on Amazon

No photo
Check price on Amazon

#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.

The only mower here that publishes motor wattage, blade RPM, weight and an acreage rating -- and the only one whose battery warranty matches its tool warranty.

Published specs

Model / SKULM2108S / 2550402
Deck21 in
Max blade speed3200 RPM
Battery included80V 4.0Ah
Cut height1.38-4.0 in, 7 positions
Runtime claimUp to 33 min
Weight75 lb
Rated forUp to 1/2 acre
Warranty4-yr tool / 4-yr battery

Source: 80V 21" 4-in-1 Self-Propelled Lawn Mower (LM2108S), greenworkstools.com

Our arithmetic — Nameplate watt-hours
320Wh

80V x 4.0Ah = 320Wh, using Greenworks' advertised pack voltage.

What the numbers favor

  • 4-year battery warranty -- a year longer than EGO's 3-year, on the component that fails first
  • Publishes blade RPM, weight and acreage rating; the other two brands publish none of the three
  • 40-minute recharge on the included charger, the fastest published here
  • 4-in-1 deck adds turbo leaf pickup on top of mulch, bag and side discharge

What they don't

  • 320Wh included, the least of the three flagships -- and the 33-minute runtime claim reflects that
  • 75 lb is the only published weight here, and it is not light
Skip this one if

you want one battery to finish a half-acre without a swap. Greenworks rates the mower for 1/2 acre but claims only 33 minutes on the included pack; those two numbers only reconcile if you buy a second battery.

How it scores

Included energy6.5
Published spec depth10.0
Warranty9.0
Recharge speed9.5
Value per watt-hour8.0

Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.

3. Best two-bay runtime

Kobalt 80V Max 21" Self-Propelled (dual-port)

Kobalt · Kobalt 80V Max · Our score 8.4/10

#ad Check price on Amazon

No photo
Check price on Amazon

#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.

Two 4Ah bays, 80 published minutes and an acre rating -- the most runtime per purchase of any 80V walk-behind here.

Published specs

Deck21 in, steel
MotorBrushless
Batteries included2 x 80V 4.0Ah (dual port)
Runtime claimUp to 80 min
Rated forUp to 1 acre
DriveSelf-propelled RWD, 7 speed settings
RechargeApprox. 60-90 min

Source: Kobalt 80-Volt 21-in Self-propelled Battery Mower (2 batteries), lowes.com

Our arithmetic — Nameplate watt-hours
640Wh installed (2 x 320Wh)

80V x 4.0Ah = 320Wh per pack; two bays = 640Wh installed. Kobalt's listing does not state whether the two ports discharge simultaneously or in sequence, so we do not claim either -- what is verifiable is that 640Wh is on the machine when you start.

What the numbers favor

  • 640Wh installed across two bays, the most of any walk-behind on this page
  • Rated to 1 acre, twice the Greenworks 80V flagship's half-acre rating
  • Seven published speed settings on the self-propel drive
  • All Kobalt 80V packs are cross-compatible across the 80V outdoor line

What they don't

  • Sold through Lowe's only, so availability and price track one retailer
  • The listing does not publish weight, cut-height range or a noise figure
  • Kobalt's 80V outdoor range is narrower than EGO's or Ryobi's
Skip this one if

you want a platform rather than a mower. Kobalt is a single-retailer house brand -- fine for the tool, thinner as a decade-long ecosystem bet.

How it scores

Installed energy10.0
Acreage rating9.5
Drive control9.0
Published spec depth5.0
Platform range6.0

Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.

4. Best quiet blower

Ryobi 40V HP Whisper Series 730 CFM RY404100

Ryobi · Ryobi 40V · Our score 8.8/10

#ad Check price on Amazon

No photo
Check price on Amazon

#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.

57 dB published at 730 CFM. That is the lowest published noise figure on this page and it is not close.

Published specs

Max air volume730 CFM
Max air speed190 MPH
Speed tips160 / 175 / 190 MPH
Noise57 dB
Batteries (kit)2 x 40V 4.0Ah
Runtime30 min high / 120 min low
Weight9.4 lb

Source: 40V HP Brushless Whisper Series 730 CFM Blower (RY404100), ryobitools.com

Our arithmetic — Published noise gap
7 dB quieter than EGO's 64 dB

Decibels are logarithmic: a 7 dB drop is roughly a 5x reduction in sound intensity, and is perceived as roughly half as loud. Both figures are manufacturer-published under their own test conditions, so treat the gap as directional, not lab-comparable.

What the numbers favor

  • 57 dB published -- the quietest figure any manufacturer on this page publishes
  • 730 CFM while doing it, second only to the 765 CFM EGO
  • Ships with two 4Ah packs (320Wh total) in the kit
  • Publishes high AND low runtimes rather than an average

What they don't

  • 9.4 lb is the heaviest published handheld weight here, roughly double the EGO LB7650 bare
  • Manufacturer noise figures are measured under each brand's own conditions -- not a like-for-like lab comparison
Skip this one if

you need to move soaked leaves off a large property fast. Quiet costs air speed, and 190 MPH is the lowest peak here.

How it scores

Published noise10.0
Peak airflow9.5
Included energy8.0
Weight5.5
Runtime honesty9.5

Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.

Where to buy the tools on this page

Every link below is an Amazon affiliate link. We show no price we have not verified today, so where there is no live figure the link says "check price" and takes you to the listing to read it there.

  • Best published watt-hour honesty

    Toro 60V Max 21" Recycler Self-Propel (21356)

    Toro · Toro 60V Max Flex-Force

  • Best published spec sheet

    Greenworks 80V 21" 4-in-1 LM2108S

    Greenworks · Greenworks 80V

  • Best two-bay runtime

    Kobalt 80V Max 21" Self-Propelled (dual-port)

    Kobalt · Kobalt 80V Max

  • Best quiet blower

    Ryobi 40V HP Whisper Series 730 CFM RY404100

    Ryobi · Ryobi 40V

#ad As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Common questions

Which yard tool specs actually matter?
Watt-hours (volts x amp-hours), published runtime by mode, working width, and warranty term on the battery rather than the tool. Those four are comparable across brands. Peak headline figures like max CFM or gas-equivalent horsepower generally are not.
What does 'not published' tell me about a tool?
That the manufacturer chose not to state it, which is information. Three of six mower brands in our registry publish no weight; only two publish an acreage rating; and not one of six publishes a decibel figure for a walk-behind mower.
Is gas-equivalent horsepower a real specification?
It is a marketing comparison, not a measurement you can check against another brand. EGO publishes a 22 HP gas equivalent for the Z6; there is no standard behind that number, so we quote it as the manufacturer's claim rather than treat it as a comparable figure.
Why can't I compare voltage between brands?
Because 'max volts' and nominal volts differ by about 11%. Toro publishes 324Wh for a pack it labels 60V Max 6.0Ah, and 324 divided by 6.0 is 54V. Always convert to watt-hours before comparing anything.
What is the most useful spec almost nobody publishes?
Work per charge. EGO publishes up to 300 cuts on a 4x4 for the CS1804 chainsaw and up to 70 cuts for the PSA1000 pole saw. A work figure against a stated material tells you far more than a runtime in minutes.
Should I trust manufacturer runtime claims?
As a ceiling, and only within one brand. Every runtime figure is measured under conditions the manufacturer does not publish, so a claim from one brand is not directly comparable with another's. Use them to compare models within a range, not across ranges.

Sources

  1. Toro 60V Max 21 in. Recycler Self-Propel Lawn Mower (21356T), toro.com
  2. Greenworks 80V 21" Self-Propelled Lawn Mower (LM2108S), greenworkstools.com
  3. Kobalt 80-Volt 21-in Self-propelled Battery Mower (2 batteries), lowes.com
  4. Ryobi 40V HP Brushless Whisper Series 730 CFM Blower (RY404100), ryobitools.com
  5. EGO POWER+ 21" Select Cut System (LM2135SP), egopowerplus.com
  6. EGO POWER+ 18" Cordless Chain Saw (CS1804), egopowerplus.com