Skip to content
MOW & MEADOW

Lawn Care

Best soil test kit

Fourteen nutrients or thirteen. The figure that actually decides it is the one only one of them publishes: how long you wait.

By Sawyer V.Published Last updated

Affiliate disclosure: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we rank first — here is how we're funded.

Soil cores pulled from a lawn during aeration

We have not tested these units. Every spec on this page comes from the manufacturer's own documentation and is linked to it. Every computed figure is arithmetic you can redo. Prices are checked daily — last verified January 1, 1970. Here is exactly how we pick.

Quick picks

Ranked on the published specs and the arithmetic below. Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these units -- here is exactly how we pick.

#ProductBest forScorePrice
1
No photo
MySoil Soil Test Kit
Thirteen plant-available nutrients plus pH, with the only published turnaround time of any kit here -- six to eight days.
Best turnaround
8.9
2
No photo
Soil Savvy Soil Test Kit
Fourteen nutrients plus pH, a named laboratory, and both a synthetic and an organic fertilizer recommendation on the same report.
Most nutrients reported
8.6

#ad Buy links are affiliate links. Prices come from a live daily check; where we have no verified price we say "check price" rather than print a stale one.

Fertilizer advice without a soil test is guesswork with a spreader attached. A mail-in lab kit costs you a week and tells you which of a dozen nutrients your lawn is actually short of — and, just as usefully, which ones it is not.

The short answer

MySoil is the pick: 13 nutrients plus pH, nitrogen split into nitrate and ammonium, and a published 6-8 day turnaround with prepaid return postage. Soil Savvy reports 14 nutrients plus pH, names its laboratory (UNIBEST) and gives both a synthetic and an organic recommendation — but publishes no turnaround time on its own how-it-works page.

What comes back

SpecMySoilSoil Savvy
Nutrients reported13 plus pH14 plus pH
Nitrogen detailNitrate and ammoniumTotal N, nitrate and ammonium
Also reportedP, K, Ca, Mg, S, Fe, Mn, B, Cu, Zn, NaP, K, S, Ca, Mg, Na, Fe, Mn, B, Cu, Zn, Al
Turnaround6-8 daysNot published
Laboratory namedNot publishedUNIBEST
MethodJar with resin capsuleJar with a patented synthetic plant root
Return postagePrepaidPrepaid mailer
RecommendationsCustom fertilizer recommendationsOne synthetic and one organic, with rates
Samples per kitNot specifiedNot specified

Transcribed from the MySoil Test Kit product page and Soil Savvy's How It Works page.

Turnaround is the spec that decides this

A soil test is only useful if the answer arrives while you can still act on it. Cool-season seeding windows run mid-August to mid-October in the fall and mid-March to mid-May in spring — that is the deadline the report has to beat.

The arithmetic — Working back from a mid-October seeding deadline
Fall seeding window closes: mid-October
Fertilizer and seed need buying after the result: 2-3 days
MySoil published turnaround: 6-8 days
Post time each way: allow 2-4 days
Latest safe posting date: 8 + 4 + 3 = 15 days before
= end of September
Soil Savvy publishes no turnaround, so the same
calculation cannot be run against a deadline.

1. MySoil — the one you can plan around

Thirteen plant-available nutrients and pH, back in six to eight days, with prepaid return postage in the box. The resin capsule sitting in the sample jar is doing something specific: it measures what a root could actually take up, rather than the total quantity of a nutrient locked in the soil.

Splitting nitrogen into nitrate and ammonium is the detail worth having. They behave differently — nitrate leaches, ammonium holds — and a lawn short of one is not short of the other.

Against it: no published lab accreditation, no statement of how many samples one kit covers, and one fewer nutrient than the alternative.

#ad Check the MySoil Soil Test Kit price on Amazonhow we're funded.

2. Soil Savvy — the widest panel, and a named lab

Fourteen nutrients plus pH, analyzed by UNIBEST, with both a synthetic and an organic recommendation on the same report. Naming the laboratory is unusual in consumer soil testing and worth something.

The extra nutrient over MySoil is aluminum. That matters on an acid soil, where aluminum becomes plant-available below roughly pH 5.5 and stunts roots. On a lawn already near neutral it is a line on a report you will never act on.

The omission is turnaround. Soil Savvy's own how-it-works page does not publish one, which makes it the wrong kit to buy against a closing seeding window.

#ad Check the Soil Savvy Soil Test Kit price on Amazonhow we're funded.

What to do with the result

What we cannot tell you

We have not sent samples to either laboratory. Neither maker publishes an accreditation, an analytical method beyond the resin description, a detection limit, or how many samples a single kit covers. We are comparing what is printed on two product pages, not two sets of results.

The picks in full

Specs are the manufacturer's own and linked to the page they came from. Prices come from a live daily check; where we have no verified price we say so rather than print a stale one.

1. Best turnaround

MySoil Soil Test Kit

MySoil · Mail-in lab test · Our score 8.9/10

#ad Check price on Amazon

No photo
Check price on Amazon

#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.

Thirteen plant-available nutrients plus pH, with the only published turnaround time of any kit here -- six to eight days.

Published specs

Nutrients reported13 plus pH
Nitrogen formsNitrate and ammonium, reported separately
Also reportedP, K, Ca, Mg, S, Fe, Mn, B, Cu, Zn, Na
Turnaround6-8 days
Return postagePrepaid
In the boxSample jar with resin capsule, scoop
RecommendationsCustom fertilizer recommendations included
Samples per kitNot specified

Source: MySoil Test Kit, mysoiltesting.com

Our arithmetic — Turnaround vs the alternative
Up to 4 days faster

MySoil publishes 6-8 days; Soil Savvy's own how-it-works page publishes no turnaround at all, and the figure quoted for it elsewhere is 7-10 days. Taking the published windows at face value, MySoil's worst case (8 days) matches Soil Savvy's best case, and its best case is 4 days ahead of the alternative's worst. For a fall seeding window that closes in mid-October, days matter.

What the numbers favor

  • Splits nitrogen into nitrate and ammonium rather than reporting one number
  • 6-8 day turnaround published outright
  • Prepaid return postage in the box
  • Resin-capsule method measures what the plant can actually take up, not total soil content
  • Custom fertilizer recommendations come with the report

What they don't

  • Does not publish how many samples one kit covers
  • No published lab accreditation
  • Thirteen nutrients to Soil Savvy's fourteen -- aluminum is the one missing
  • A mail-in test is a snapshot; it cannot show you how the soil changes through the season
Skip this one if

you need an answer this afternoon. Every mail-in kit costs you a week before you can act on it.

How it scores

Turnaround9.5
Nutrient coverage9.0
Nitrogen detail9.5
Recommendations9.0
Published spec depth7.5

Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.

2. Most nutrients reported

Soil Savvy Soil Test Kit

Soil Savvy · Mail-in lab test · Our score 8.6/10

#ad Check price on Amazon

No photo
Check price on Amazon

#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.

Fourteen nutrients plus pH, a named laboratory, and both a synthetic and an organic fertilizer recommendation on the same report.

Published specs

Nutrients reported14 plus pH
Nitrogen formsTotal N, nitrate and ammonium
Also reportedP, K, S, Ca, Mg, Na, Fe, Mn, B, Cu, Zn, Al
LaboratoryUNIBEST
MethodSample jar with a patented synthetic plant root
Return postagePrepaid mailer included
RecommendationsOne synthetic and one organic, with application rates
TurnaroundNot published on the maker's how-it-works page

Source: How It Works, mysoilsavvy.com

Our arithmetic — Nutrients per report, against the other kit
14 vs 13

Soil Savvy adds aluminum, which MySoil does not report, and reports total nitrogen alongside the nitrate and ammonium split. Aluminum is worth having on an acid soil, where it becomes plant-available below about pH 5.5 and stunts roots. On a near-neutral lawn it tells you nothing you will act on -- which is why the extra nutrient does not decide this category on its own.

What the numbers favor

  • Fourteen nutrients plus pH, the widest panel here
  • Names its laboratory (UNIBEST), which most consumer kits do not
  • Gives an organic recommendation as well as a synthetic one
  • Reports total N alongside the nitrate/ammonium split
  • Prepaid return mailer, sample jar and scoop in the box

What they don't

  • Publishes no turnaround time on its own how-it-works page
  • Does not state how many samples one kit covers
  • No published lab accreditation or analytical method beyond the resin description
  • The extra nutrient over MySoil is aluminum, which most lawns will never act on
Skip this one if

you are working against a seeding deadline and need a published turnaround to plan around.

How it scores

Nutrient coverage9.5
Recommendations9.5
Lab disclosure9.0
Turnaround disclosure4.0
Nitrogen detail9.5

Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.

Where to buy the tools on this page

Every link below is an Amazon affiliate link. We show no price we have not verified today, so where there is no live figure the link says "check price" and takes you to the listing to read it there.

#ad As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Common questions

What is the best soil test kit?
MySoil, for the published 6-8 day turnaround and a report that splits nitrogen into nitrate and ammonium. Soil Savvy reports one more nutrient (14 plus pH, including aluminum) and names its laboratory, but publishes no turnaround time on its own how-it-works page.
Are mail-in soil tests better than a hardware store kit?
They report far more. Both kits here return 13 or 14 nutrients plus pH from a laboratory, with fertilizer recommendations attached. A colorimetric home kit typically gives you pH and a rough read on three nutrients.
How long does a soil test take?
MySoil publishes 6-8 days. Soil Savvy publishes no turnaround on its how-it-works page. Plan the test around your seeding window, not the other way round -- a fall seeding that closes in mid-October needs the sample posted in early September.
What does a soil test actually tell you?
pH, and how much of each nutrient is plant-available. That is the difference between buying a fertilizer because the bag says lawn and buying one because your soil is short of what is in it.
How many samples do you need?
Neither maker publishes how many samples one kit covers. Soil Savvy's instructions ask you to collect 3-6 sub-samples and combine them into one composite, which is the standard method -- but that is one test, not several.

Sources

  1. MySoil Test Kit, mysoiltesting.com
  2. How It Works, mysoilsavvy.com