Yard Tools
Best chainsaw safety gear
Both of these meet the same four standards with the same five protective layers. What differs is where the layers go.
Affiliate disclosure: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we rank first — here is how we're funded.

We have not tested these units. Every spec on this page comes from the manufacturer's own documentation and is linked to it. Every computed figure is arithmetic you can redo. Prices are checked daily — last verified January 1, 1970. Here is exactly how we pick.
Quick picks
Ranked on the published specs and the arithmetic below. Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these units -- here is exactly how we pick.
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | No photo Husqvarna Technical Apron Wrap Chainsaw Chaps An apron wrap rather than a front panel, in 1000 denier shell over five layers of cut-arresting fiber, certified to four separate standards. | Best coverage | 9.1 | |
| 2 | No photo Husqvarna Classic Homeowner Chainsaw Chaps The same four standards and the same five protective layers as the technical chap, in a lighter 600 denier shell with a front apron instead of a wrap. | Best value in certified protection | 8.7 |
#ad Buy links are affiliate links. Prices come from a live daily check; where we have no verified price we say "check price" rather than print a stale one.
Chainsaw chaps are unusual in yard equipment: they are one of the very few products where the maker names specific standards and a specific construction. That makes them comparable in a way almost nothing else on this site is — and it makes the comparison between these two shorter than you would expect.
The short answer
The protection figure is identical
It is worth being blunt about this, because the price difference invites the opposite conclusion.
Denier measures the thread of the outer shell. It tells you how the fabric survives brambles, bark and a truck bed. It does not tell you anything about whether the chain stops, because that is the job of the five layers underneath, and both chaps publish five.
The two, on published figures
| Spec | Technical Apron Wrap | Classic Homeowner |
|---|---|---|
| Shell | 1000 Denier polyester, PVC coated | PVC-coated 600 denier polyester |
| Protective layers | 5 layers TEK WARP | 5-layer frontal apron |
| Coverage | Apron wrap, continues round the leg | Frontal apron |
| Standards | ASTM F1897, ANSI Z133.1, UL, OSHA 1910-266 | ASTM F1897, ANSI Z133.1, UL, OSHA 1910-266 |
| Waist adjustment | Up to 42 in | Up to 38 in |
| Leg length | Not published | 36-38 in |
| Buckles | Acetal delrin | Acetal delrin |
| Pockets | Felling wedge pocket and gear pocket | Tool / gear pocket |
| Care | Cold wash, hang dry, no bleach | Not published |
| Warranty | Not published | Not published |
Transcribed from the Technical Apron Wrap and Classic Homeowner product pages.
1. Husqvarna Technical Apron Wrap — coverage that goes round
The wrap is the reason to pay more. Front-apron chaps protect the front of the thigh and shin, which is where the saw goes in a textbook kickback. Real cuts happen in awkward stances — limbing across your body, cutting brush at knee height — and a wrap keeps the protective layer present when the saw arrives from the side.
The 1000 denier shell earns its keep over years rather than in an incident: the outer fabric is what frays first, and a chap that lives in a truck bed frays faster.
The waist adjusts to 42 in against the Classic's 38, which for some buyers is the only specification that matters. And there is a dedicated felling wedge pocket, which the homeowner chap does not have.
Against it: Husqvarna publishes no warranty, no weight and no leg length range for this model, and the heavier shell is warmer to wear in August.
#ad Check the Husqvarna Technical Apron Wrap Chainsaw Chaps price on Amazon — how we're funded.
2. Husqvarna Classic Homeowner — the same standards, less coverage
Five protective layers, four named standards, acetal delrin buckles and a published 36-38 in leg length — a figure the more expensive chap does not state. For a homeowner cutting firewood on a sawhorse a few weekends a year, this is a defensible purchase and a very large improvement over nothing.
The honest limits: no protection round the back of the leg, a 38 in waist ceiling, and a 600 denier shell that will wear through sooner in heavy brush.
#ad Check the Husqvarna Classic Homeowner Chainsaw Chaps price on Amazon — how we're funded.
Chaps are one layer of four
- Eye and hearing protection. A cordless saw is quieter than gas and still loud — the EGO CS1804 publishes 11,000 RPM at the motor.
- Gloves and boots. Neither is a substitute for chaps, and chaps are not a substitute for either.
- A helmet, once you are cutting above shoulder height. Pole saw work and limbing both qualify — see pole saw vs chainsaw.
- Technique. Our chainsaw safety guide covers kickback, stance and what a chain brake actually does.
What we cannot tell you
We have not tested either chap, and nobody should. Husqvarna publishes no warranty term, no weight, no chain-speed rating and no service-life guidance for either product. Chaps are single-incident equipment: once the layers have pulled out to stop a chain, they are replaced, and neither page says so explicitly.
The picks in full
Specs are the manufacturer's own and linked to the page they came from. Prices come from a live daily check; where we have no verified price we say so rather than print a stale one.
Husqvarna Technical Apron Wrap Chainsaw Chaps
Husqvarna · Protective equipment (no power) · Our score 9.1/10
#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.
An apron wrap rather than a front panel, in 1000 denier shell over five layers of cut-arresting fiber, certified to four separate standards.
Published specs
| Shell | 1000 Denier polyester with PVC coating |
|---|---|
| Protective layers | 5 layers of TEK WARP |
| Standards | ASTM F1897, ANSI Z133.1, UL certified, OSHA 1910-266 |
| Coverage | Apron wrap -- protection continues around the leg |
| Waist adjustment | Up to 42 in |
| Pockets | Felling wedge pocket and gear pocket |
| Buckles | Acetal delrin |
| Care | Cold wash, hang dry, no bleach |
| Warranty | Not published |
Source: Technical Apron Wrap Chainsaw Chaps, husqvarna.com
1000 denier against 600 denier is 1000 / 600 = 1.67 times the yarn mass per unit length. Denier measures the thread, not the protection -- the five TEK WARP layers underneath are the same count in both chaps. What the heavier shell buys is abrasion resistance: the outer fabric survives more brush, bark and bramble before it starts to fray, which matters if the chaps live in a truck rather than a garage.
What the numbers favor
- Apron wrap continues the protective layer around the leg rather than stopping at the side seam
- 1000 denier PVC-coated shell resists abrasion
- Four standards named: ASTM F1897, ANSI Z133.1, UL, OSHA 1910-266
- Waist adjusts to 42 in
- Dedicated felling wedge pocket
What they don't
- Husqvarna publishes no warranty term
- No published weight or leg length range
- Cut-arresting fabric cannot be washed hot or bleached, so heavy sap stains stay
- The heavier shell is warmer to wear in summer
you only use a chainsaw once a year in a cool garage. The lighter chap meets the same four standards.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
Husqvarna Classic Homeowner Chainsaw Chaps
Husqvarna · Protective equipment (no power) · Our score 8.7/10
#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.
The same four standards and the same five protective layers as the technical chap, in a lighter 600 denier shell with a front apron instead of a wrap.
Published specs
| Shell | PVC-coated 600 denier polyester |
|---|---|
| Protective layers | 5-layer frontal apron |
| Standards | ASTM F1897, ANSI Z133.1, UL certified, OSHA 1910-266 |
| Coverage | Frontal apron |
| Waist adjustment | Up to 38 in |
| Leg length | 36-38 in |
| Buckles | Acetal delrin |
| Pockets | Tool / gear pocket |
| Warranty | Not published |
Source: Classic Homeowner Chainsaw Chap, husqvarna.com
Both chaps publish five layers of cut-arresting fabric and both name the same four standards -- ASTM F1897, ANSI Z133.1, UL and OSHA 1910-266. The difference is where the layers go (front only, versus wrapped round the leg) and what covers them (600 denier versus 1000). On the standards that decide whether a chain stops, these two are equal on Husqvarna's own published figures.
What the numbers favor
- Meets the same four standards as the technical chap
- Five protective layers, the same count as the more expensive model
- Leg length published as 36-38 in, which the technical chap does not state
- Lighter 600 denier shell is cooler in summer
- Acetal delrin buckles, same hardware as the technical chap
What they don't
- Front apron only -- no protection round the back of the leg
- Waist stops at 38 in, four inches short of the technical chap
- 600 denier shell frays sooner in heavy brush
- No warranty term published
- No felling wedge pocket
you cut brush where the saw comes at your legs from the side. That is what the wrap is for.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
Where to buy the tools on this page
Every link below is an Amazon affiliate link. We show no price we have not verified today, so where there is no live figure the link says "check price" and takes you to the listing to read it there.
Best coverage
Husqvarna Technical Apron Wrap Chainsaw Chaps
Husqvarna · Protective equipment (no power)
Best value in certified protection
Husqvarna Classic Homeowner Chainsaw Chaps
Husqvarna · Protective equipment (no power)
#ad As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.
Common questions
What is the best chainsaw safety gear?
Are cheaper chainsaw chaps as safe?
What standards should chainsaw chaps meet?
Do you need chaps for a battery chainsaw?
What is the difference between apron wrap and apron chaps?
Sources
Read next
- Yard Tools
The tools you buy third and fourth. This is where a platform choice pays off or bites.
- Cordless chainsaw safety
CDC protective equipment, distances and cutting practice, applied to a cordless saw.
- Best cordless chainsaw for homeowners
Cuts per charge beats minutes on a chainsaw. The published figures and the energy-per-cut math.
- How to choose a cordless chainsaw
Bar, chain, weight and work per charge, with energy per cut computed from published figures.
- Best mini chainsaw
Bar length, cut capacity and cuts per charge for compact pruning saws, converted to energy per cut.
- Yard tool safety, from the published guidance
CDC, CPSC and extension guidance for saws, washers and mowers, in one place.