Skip to content
MOW & MEADOW

Battery Platforms

The Ryobi 40V platform, tool by tool

One outdoor battery family, kits that ship two packs, and the quietest published blower in the category. Also the thinnest spec sheets.

By Sawyer V.Published Last updated

Affiliate disclosure: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we rank first — here is how we're funded.

Close-up of battery pack terminals

We have not tested these units. Every spec on this page comes from the manufacturer's own documentation and is linked to it. Every computed figure is arithmetic you can redo. Prices are checked daily — last verified January 1, 1970. Here is exactly how we pick.

Ryobi 40V is the platform most homeowners meet first, and it has one clear idea behind it: give people two batteries. That decision shapes everything else about the range, for better and worse.

The two-pack strategy

Ryobi kits ship two packs where most brands ship one. The mower arrives with two 40V 6.0Ah packs — 480 watt-hours owned — and the Whisper blower with two 4.0Ah, or 320 watt-hours. The tools draw one at a time, so you get more total energy and a mid-job swap rather than a longer single run.
The arithmetic — What two packs actually buys
Mower kit: 2 x 40V 6.0Ah = 240Wh each, 480Wh owned
Published runtime: up to 80 minutes
80 / 2 = 40 minutes per pack
240Wh / 40 min = 6.0Wh per minute
Compare EGO's single 420Wh pack at 7.0Wh/min for 60 minutes
Ryobi: more owned energy, one interruption
EGO: less owned energy, no interruption
Whether that is a good trade depends on your lawn. If the job finishes inside 40 minutes you never swap and the second pack is pure spare capacity. If it takes 55 minutes you stop every time, forever.

The 40V tools we hold specs for

ToolClassEnergy in the kitHeadline published specs
RY40HPLM01B21 in self-propelled mower480Wh (2 x 240Wh)Up to 80 min, brushless, variable-speed RWD
RY404100 Whisper730 CFM handheld blower320Wh (2 x 160Wh)57 dB, 190 MPH, 3 speed tips (160/175/190), 30 min high / 120 low, 9.4 lb
RY40211017 in string trimmer240Wh (1 x 6.0Ah)15-17 in adjustable swath, 0.095 in line, 67 min, 8.8 lb bare / 12.9 loaded, 72.25 in

From RY40HPLM01B, RY404100 and RY402110 product pages, checked 3 September 2026. Ryobi's 40V catalog is larger than the range we hold cited specs for.

The Whisper Series, and why 57 dB is the platform's best claim

Ryobi is the only brand in our registry publishing a noise figure that low, and it publishes it next to 730 CFM — second only to EGO's 765. Quiet usually costs airflow; here it costs air speed instead, with 190 MPH against EGO's 200.

The arithmetic — What seven decibels means
Ryobi RY404100: 57 dB published
EGO LB6504 and LB7650: 64 dB published
Decibels are logarithmic.
A 7 dB drop is roughly a fivefold reduction in sound intensity
and is perceived as roughly half as loud.
Both are manufacturer figures under their own conditions,
so treat the gap as directional, not lab-comparable.

It costs weight. At 9.4 lb the RY404100 is the heaviest handheld blower we hold specs for, roughly double the 4.6 lb EGO LB7650 bare. Over an hour of clearing that is a real difference.

#ad Check the Ryobi 40V HP Whisper Series 730 CFM RY404100 price on Amazonhow we're funded.

The trimmer is the range's quiet standout

Sixty-seven published minutes from a 240Wh pack is about 3.58 watt-hours a minute, the most efficient trimmer figure we hold — and the only adjustable swath. Narrow it to 15 inches among fence posts, widen to 17 on an open verge.

The trade is published in the same place: 12.9 lb with the 6.0Ah pack fitted, on a 72.25 inch shaft, held at arm's length. That is the heaviest trimmer in our registry by a clear margin.

#ad Check the Ryobi 40V HP Whisper 17" Carbon Fiber RY402110 price on Amazonhow we're funded.

The spec-sheet gaps

This is where the platform is weakest, and it is worth being blunt because it affects what you can compare before buying.

FigureMowerBlowerTrimmer
RuntimePublishedPublished, by modePublished
WeightNot publishedPublishedPublished, bare and loaded
Cut height / swathNot publishedn/aPublished
NoiseNot publishedPublishedNot published
Charge timeNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Warranty on the pageNot statedNot statedNot stated

"Not published" means the figure is absent from the product page we cite, not that we failed to look.

The charge-time row matters most. Greenworks publishes 40 minutes for a 320Wh 80V pack and 30 for a 160Wh; Toro publishes 150 minutes. Ryobi publishes nothing, so on a platform whose whole strategy is two packs you cannot work out how long the second one takes to come back. The rates we do have are in charging times.

#ad Check the Ryobi 40V HP Brushless 21" Self-Propelled price on Amazonhow we're funded.

Who this platform suits

  • First-time cordless buyers. One outdoor battery family, and the only way to get the voltage wrong is to confuse it with 18V ONE+.
  • Households with close neighbors. The 57 dB blower is on this platform and nowhere else.
  • Lawns that finish inside 40 minutes. Then the two-pack kit is all upside and the swap never happens.
  • Anyone who values owned energy per purchase. 480Wh in a mower kit is more than any single-pack competitor ships.

It suits you less if you expect heavy tools later. 40V is the lowest voltage of the platforms we track, and our registry holds no Ryobi chainsaw, pressure washer or rider to compare — the EGO and Greenworks guides cover what those ranges look like.

What we cannot tell you

We have run none of these tools. How quickly the mower hands off between packs, how Whisper Series noise engineering holds up as the tool ages, and what Ryobi's warranty terms actually are for these three products are all things the pages we cite do not answer.

What is published: two packs per kit, 480Wh in the mower, 57 dB at 730 CFM, 67 minutes on the trimmer, and a set of blanks where charge time and warranty should be.

The products discussed

Specs are the manufacturer's own and linked to the page they came from. Prices come from a live daily check; where we have no verified price we say so rather than print a stale one.

1. Best for a household already on Ryobi

Ryobi 40V HP Brushless 21" Self-Propelled

Ryobi · Ryobi 40V · Our score 8.6/10

#ad Check price on Amazon

No photo
Check price on Amazon

#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.

Two 6Ah packs and the longest published runtime claim on this page, on the platform with the cheapest route to a fourth and fifth tool.

Published specs

ModelRY40HPLM01B
Deck21 in
MotorBrushless, 40V HP
Batteries included (kit)2 x 40V 6.0Ah
DriveVariable-speed rear-wheel self-propel
Runtime claimUp to 80 min on 2 x 6Ah

Source: 40V HP Brushless 21" Self-Propelled Mower, ryobitools.com

Our arithmetic — Nameplate watt-hours
480Wh (2 x 240Wh)

40V x 6.0Ah = 240Wh per pack; the kit ships two, so 480Wh total -- but only 240Wh is available at any moment, because the mower draws one pack at a time.

What the numbers favor

  • 480Wh across two packs, the most total energy in any kit here
  • Two packs means you swap and keep mowing instead of waiting on a charger
  • Ryobi's 40V range is the broadest consumer battery line of the three platforms

What they don't

  • Only one 240Wh pack is live at a time -- the 480Wh is sequential, not simultaneous
  • Ryobi does not publish a cut-height range or weight on the product page, so both are unknown to us
Skip this one if

you own nothing on Ryobi yet and expect to buy heavy tools later. 40V is the lowest voltage of the three platforms, and the ceiling shows on chainsaws and riding gear.

How it scores

Included energy9.5
Swap convenience9.5
Platform range9.0
Published spec depth5.0
Value per watt-hour8.5

Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.

2. Best quiet blower

Ryobi 40V HP Whisper Series 730 CFM RY404100

Ryobi · Ryobi 40V · Our score 8.8/10

#ad Check price on Amazon

No photo
Check price on Amazon

#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.

57 dB published at 730 CFM. That is the lowest published noise figure on this page and it is not close.

Published specs

Max air volume730 CFM
Max air speed190 MPH
Speed tips160 / 175 / 190 MPH
Noise57 dB
Batteries (kit)2 x 40V 4.0Ah
Runtime30 min high / 120 min low
Weight9.4 lb

Source: 40V HP Brushless Whisper Series 730 CFM Blower (RY404100), ryobitools.com

Our arithmetic — Published noise gap
7 dB quieter than EGO's 64 dB

Decibels are logarithmic: a 7 dB drop is roughly a 5x reduction in sound intensity, and is perceived as roughly half as loud. Both figures are manufacturer-published under their own test conditions, so treat the gap as directional, not lab-comparable.

What the numbers favor

  • 57 dB published -- the quietest figure any manufacturer on this page publishes
  • 730 CFM while doing it, second only to the 765 CFM EGO
  • Ships with two 4Ah packs (320Wh total) in the kit
  • Publishes high AND low runtimes rather than an average

What they don't

  • 9.4 lb is the heaviest published handheld weight here, roughly double the EGO LB7650 bare
  • Manufacturer noise figures are measured under each brand's own conditions -- not a like-for-like lab comparison
Skip this one if

you need to move soaked leaves off a large property fast. Quiet costs air speed, and 190 MPH is the lowest peak here.

How it scores

Published noise10.0
Peak airflow9.5
Included energy8.0
Weight5.5
Runtime honesty9.5

Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.

3. Best runtime

Ryobi 40V HP Whisper 17" Carbon Fiber RY402110

Ryobi · Ryobi 40V · Our score 8.6/10

#ad Check price on Amazon

No photo
Check price on Amazon

#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.

67 published minutes and a swath you can dial from 15 to 17 inches -- the only adjustable-swath trimmer here.

Published specs

Cutting swathAdjustable 15-17 in
Line0.095 in bump feed
ShaftCarbon fiber
Battery (kit)40V 6.0Ah
Runtime claimUp to 67 min
Weight8.8 lb bare / 12.9 lb with 6.0Ah
Length72.25 in

Source: 40V HP Brushless 17" String Trimmer (RY402110), ryobitools.com

Our arithmetic — Nameplate watt-hours
240Wh

40V x 6.0Ah = 240Wh. 67 minutes from 240Wh is about 3.6Wh per minute -- the most efficient published figure of the three trimmers here.

What the numbers favor

  • 67 minutes published, more than double the EGO kit's 30
  • Swath adjusts 15-17 in, so tight borders and open verge get the same tool
  • Best published watt-hours per minute of the trimmers on this page
  • Whisper Series noise engineering, same line as the 57 dB blower

What they don't

  • 12.9 lb with the 6.0Ah pack fitted -- the heaviest trimmer here, and it is held at arm's length
  • Ryobi publishes no noise figure for this specific model
  • Bump feed, not an automatic reload head
Skip this one if

you have wrist or shoulder trouble. 12.9 lb on the end of a 72 in shaft is a lot of leverage, whatever the runtime says.

How it scores

Runtime10.0
Efficiency9.5
Swath flexibility9.5
Weight5.0
Line handling7.0

Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.

Where to buy the tools on this page

Every link below is an Amazon affiliate link. We show no price we have not verified today, so where there is no live figure the link says "check price" and takes you to the listing to read it there.

#ad As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Common questions

Are Ryobi 18V and 40V batteries interchangeable?
No. Ryobi runs 18V ONE+ for handheld power tools and 40V for outdoor equipment as two separate platforms sharing only a brand name. A 40V mower pack will not run an 18V drill and there is no adapter.
Why do Ryobi kits ship two batteries?
It is the platform's defining choice. The mower kit ships two 40V 6.0Ah packs (480Wh total) and the blower kit two 4.0Ah packs (320Wh). You get more owned energy for the money, at the cost of swapping mid-job because the tools draw one pack at a time.
How quiet is the Ryobi Whisper blower?
Ryobi publishes 57 dB for the RY404100 at 730 CFM. That is the lowest published noise figure of any blower in our registry, seven decibels below EGO's 64 dB -- roughly a fivefold difference in sound intensity, measured under each brand's own conditions.
What is Ryobi's warranty on 40V outdoor tools?
The product pages we cite for the mower, blower and trimmer do not state a warranty term. That is a genuine gap and one of the reasons this platform scores lower on transparency than Greenworks.
Which Ryobi 40V tool is the standout?
The RY402110 trimmer on published numbers: 67 minutes from a 240Wh pack, a swath adjustable from 15 to 17 inches and 0.095 in line. It is the longest published trimmer runtime we hold and the only adjustable-swath head.
What does Ryobi not publish?
Weight and cut-height range on the mower, charge time on any of the three tools we hold specs for, a noise figure for the trimmer, and a warranty term on all three. Ryobi publishes what a tool does and rarely what it is.

Sources

  1. Ryobi 40V HP Brushless 21" Self-Propelled Mower (RY40HPLM01B), ryobitools.com
  2. Ryobi 40V HP Brushless Whisper Series 730 CFM Blower (RY404100), ryobitools.com
  3. Ryobi 40V HP Brushless 17" String Trimmer (RY402110), ryobitools.com