Battery Platforms
Ryobi 40V vs Greenworks: one battery family against four
The tools are close. The number of incompatible battery lines each brand sells is not, and that is the spec that costs you money later.
Affiliate disclosure: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we rank first — here is how we're funded.

We have not tested these units. Every spec on this page comes from the manufacturer's own documentation and is linked to it. Every computed figure is arithmetic you can redo. Prices are checked daily — last verified January 1, 1970. Here is exactly how we pick.
Ryobi and Greenworks are the two brands homeowners most often shortlist against each other, and on individual tools they are genuinely close. The difference that decides it is structural: Ryobi asks you to pick one battery, Greenworks asks you to pick one of four that do not talk to each other.
The short answer
Four platforms wearing one brand name
Greenworks sells 24V, 40V, 60V and 80V outdoor tools. They are four separate battery families. A pack from one will not run a tool from another, and there is no adapter. Our own registry shows the trap in miniature: the Greenworks 80V mower, the Greenworks 40V mower, the Greenworks 80V trimmer, the Greenworks 80V blower and the Greenworks 60V pressure washer are five tools from one brand spanning three incompatible battery lines.
Ryobi runs two lines — 18V ONE+ for handheld power tools and 40V for outdoor equipment. For yard work that is effectively one decision, and every 40V tool in our registry takes the same pack.
The mowers
| Spec | Ryobi RY40HPLM01B | Greenworks LM2108S (80V) | Greenworks LM2054 (40V) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck | 21 in | 21 in | 20 in |
| Energy in the kit | 480Wh (2 x 240Wh) | 320Wh | 160Wh |
| Runtime claim | Up to 80 min | Up to 33 min | Up to 40 min |
| Watt-hours per minute | 6.0 (240Wh over 40 min per pack) | 9.7 | 4.0 |
| Blade speed | Not published | 3200 RPM | 3200 RPM |
| Weight | Not published | 75 lb | 57.5 lb |
| Acreage rating | Not published | Up to 1/2 acre | Up to 1/3 acre |
| Recharge | Not published | 40 min | 120 min |
| Warranty | Not stated on this page | 4-yr tool / 4-yr battery | 3-yr tool / 3-yr battery |
Transcribed from the manufacturers' own product pages, checked 3 September 2026. Watt-hour figures are advertised volts x amp-hours; the per-minute column is our division of one published figure by another.
The most interesting line in that table is the Greenworks 40V push mower at 4.0Wh per minute — the most frugal mower figure of any machine we hold specs for. A 20 inch deck with no drive motor is why. It is also rated to a third of an acre and no further, which is the honest trade.
#ad Check the Greenworks 40V 20" Push LM2054 price on Amazon — how we're funded.
The blowers, tied on CFM and split on everything else
Both brands publish 730 CFM. From there they diverge completely.
| Spec | Ryobi RY404100 Whisper | Greenworks 80V axial |
|---|---|---|
| Max air volume | 730 CFM | 730 CFM |
| Max air speed | 190 MPH | 170 MPH |
| Published noise | 57 dB | Not published |
| Weight | 9.4 lb | 5.5 lb (tool only) |
| Energy in the kit | 320Wh (2 x 40V 4.0Ah) | 200Wh (80V 2.5Ah) |
| Runtime | 30 min high / 120 min low | Up to 60 min on low |
| Recharge | Not published | 40 min |
| Warranty | Not stated on this page | 4-yr |
From the Ryobi RY404100 and Greenworks 80V 730 CFM product pages, checked 3 September 2026.
57 dB against a brand that publishes nothing is the strongest single claim on either side of this comparison. Both figures would be measured under each brand's own conditions if both existed, so a published figure you can check beats an absent one. Against that, Greenworks moves the same air from 5.5 lb where Ryobi needs 9.4 lb — nearly double, held at arm's length.
#ad Check the Ryobi 40V HP Whisper Series 730 CFM RY404100 price on Amazon — how we're funded.
The trimmers, which are the same tool twice
This is the finding that surprised us. Ryobi's 17 inch carbon fiber trimmer runs 67 published minutes from a 240Wh pack. The Greenworks 80V 16 inch runs 45 published minutes from a 160Wh pack. Divide, and they land in the same place.
So the trimmer choice is not about efficiency. It is 7.1 lb bare against 8.8 lb bare, a 0.080 in line gauge against 0.095 in, a published 30-minute recharge against an unpublished one, and 45 minutes against 67. If you cut heavy weeds the line gauge decides it — the detail is in our trimmer line guide.
The verdict, by buyer
- First cordless purchase, expecting more later: Ryobi 40V. One family, kits that ship two packs, and no way to accidentally buy the wrong voltage from the same brand.
- Half an acre and you want the machine documented: Greenworks 80V. It is the only mower here publishing blade RPM, weight, acreage, recharge time and a four-year battery warranty.
- Under a third of an acre, flat: Greenworks 40V push. 57.5 lb and 4.0Wh per minute, and nothing you do not need.
- Close neighbors: Ryobi Whisper. A published 57 dB beats an unpublished figure every time.
What we cannot tell you
We have not run any of these. Whether Greenworks' 40-minute recharge claim holds at low temperature, how Ryobi's dual-pack handoff feels mid-lawn, and how either brand's service network behaves at year four are outside what a spec sheet can settle.
The structural point survives all of that. One brand asks you to make one battery decision. The other asks you to make it four times and get it right every time.
The products discussed
Specs are the manufacturer's own and linked to the page they came from. Prices come from a live daily check; where we have no verified price we say so rather than print a stale one.
Ryobi 40V HP Brushless 21" Self-Propelled
Ryobi · Ryobi 40V · Our score 8.6/10
#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.
Two 6Ah packs and the longest published runtime claim on this page, on the platform with the cheapest route to a fourth and fifth tool.
Published specs
| Model | RY40HPLM01B |
|---|---|
| Deck | 21 in |
| Motor | Brushless, 40V HP |
| Batteries included (kit) | 2 x 40V 6.0Ah |
| Drive | Variable-speed rear-wheel self-propel |
| Runtime claim | Up to 80 min on 2 x 6Ah |
Source: 40V HP Brushless 21" Self-Propelled Mower, ryobitools.com
40V x 6.0Ah = 240Wh per pack; the kit ships two, so 480Wh total -- but only 240Wh is available at any moment, because the mower draws one pack at a time.
What the numbers favor
- 480Wh across two packs, the most total energy in any kit here
- Two packs means you swap and keep mowing instead of waiting on a charger
- Ryobi's 40V range is the broadest consumer battery line of the three platforms
What they don't
- Only one 240Wh pack is live at a time -- the 480Wh is sequential, not simultaneous
- Ryobi does not publish a cut-height range or weight on the product page, so both are unknown to us
you own nothing on Ryobi yet and expect to buy heavy tools later. 40V is the lowest voltage of the three platforms, and the ceiling shows on chainsaws and riding gear.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
Greenworks 80V 21" 4-in-1 LM2108S
Greenworks · Greenworks 80V · Our score 8.4/10
#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.
The only mower here that publishes motor wattage, blade RPM, weight and an acreage rating -- and the only one whose battery warranty matches its tool warranty.
Published specs
| Model / SKU | LM2108S / 2550402 |
|---|---|
| Deck | 21 in |
| Max blade speed | 3200 RPM |
| Battery included | 80V 4.0Ah |
| Cut height | 1.38-4.0 in, 7 positions |
| Runtime claim | Up to 33 min |
| Weight | 75 lb |
| Rated for | Up to 1/2 acre |
| Warranty | 4-yr tool / 4-yr battery |
Source: 80V 21" 4-in-1 Self-Propelled Lawn Mower (LM2108S), greenworkstools.com
80V x 4.0Ah = 320Wh, using Greenworks' advertised pack voltage.
What the numbers favor
- 4-year battery warranty -- a year longer than EGO's 3-year, on the component that fails first
- Publishes blade RPM, weight and acreage rating; the other two brands publish none of the three
- 40-minute recharge on the included charger, the fastest published here
- 4-in-1 deck adds turbo leaf pickup on top of mulch, bag and side discharge
What they don't
- 320Wh included, the least of the three flagships -- and the 33-minute runtime claim reflects that
- 75 lb is the only published weight here, and it is not light
you want one battery to finish a half-acre without a swap. Greenworks rates the mower for 1/2 acre but claims only 33 minutes on the included pack; those two numbers only reconcile if you buy a second battery.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
Greenworks 40V 20" Push LM2054
Greenworks · Greenworks 40V · Our score 8.0/10
#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.
40 minutes on a 160Wh pack and 57.5 lb to push -- the honest answer for a third of an acre and nothing more.
Published specs
| Model / SKU | LM2054 / 2549902 |
|---|---|
| Deck | 20 in |
| Max blade speed | 3200 RPM |
| Battery included | 40V 4.0Ah |
| Cut height | 1.2-3.6 in, 7 positions |
| Runtime claim | Up to 40 min |
| Weight | 57.5 lb |
| Rated for | Up to 1/3 acre |
| Warranty | 3-yr tool / 3-yr battery |
Source: 40V 20" 4-in-1 Push Lawn Mower (LM2054), greenworkstools.com
40V x 4.0Ah = 160Wh. Note it claims 40 minutes on 160Wh where the 80V flagship claims 33 minutes on 320Wh -- a 20 in deck and no self-propel drive motor is why.
What the numbers favor
- Lightest published weight on this page at 57.5 lb, and the only sub-60 lb mower here
- Claims 40 minutes from 160Wh -- the best published minutes-per-watt-hour of any mower on this page
- Same 3200 RPM blade speed as the 80V flagship
- 4-in-1 deck at the entry price
What they don't
- Push only -- no drive assist on any slope
- 1.2 in minimum cut height is lower than most cool-season lawns should ever be cut
- 120-minute recharge, three times the 80V model's 40 minutes
your lawn is over a third of an acre or has any real slope. Greenworks rates it to 1/3 acre and you will be pushing all 57.5 lb of it up the hill yourself.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
Ryobi 40V HP Whisper Series 730 CFM RY404100
Ryobi · Ryobi 40V · Our score 8.8/10
#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.
57 dB published at 730 CFM. That is the lowest published noise figure on this page and it is not close.
Published specs
| Max air volume | 730 CFM |
|---|---|
| Max air speed | 190 MPH |
| Speed tips | 160 / 175 / 190 MPH |
| Noise | 57 dB |
| Batteries (kit) | 2 x 40V 4.0Ah |
| Runtime | 30 min high / 120 min low |
| Weight | 9.4 lb |
Source: 40V HP Brushless Whisper Series 730 CFM Blower (RY404100), ryobitools.com
Decibels are logarithmic: a 7 dB drop is roughly a 5x reduction in sound intensity, and is perceived as roughly half as loud. Both figures are manufacturer-published under their own test conditions, so treat the gap as directional, not lab-comparable.
What the numbers favor
- 57 dB published -- the quietest figure any manufacturer on this page publishes
- 730 CFM while doing it, second only to the 765 CFM EGO
- Ships with two 4Ah packs (320Wh total) in the kit
- Publishes high AND low runtimes rather than an average
What they don't
- 9.4 lb is the heaviest published handheld weight here, roughly double the EGO LB7650 bare
- Manufacturer noise figures are measured under each brand's own conditions -- not a like-for-like lab comparison
you need to move soaked leaves off a large property fast. Quiet costs air speed, and 190 MPH is the lowest peak here.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
Greenworks 80V 730 CFM Axial Blower
Greenworks · Greenworks 80V · Our score 8.3/10
#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.
730 CFM from a 5.5 lb tool with a 4-year warranty -- the cheapest published route to real airflow.
Published specs
| Max air volume | 730 CFM |
|---|---|
| Max air speed | 170 MPH |
| Weight | 5.5 lb (tool only) |
| Battery (kit) | 80V 2.5Ah |
| Runtime | Up to 60 min on low |
| Recharge | 40 min |
| Warranty | 4-yr |
Source: 80V 730 CFM Cordless Battery Leaf Blower, greenworkstools.com
80V x 2.5Ah = 200Wh, using Greenworks' advertised pack voltage.
What the numbers favor
- 730 CFM from 5.5 lb -- the best published airflow-per-pound on this page
- 4-year warranty on tool and battery
- 40-minute recharge
- Cruise control and turbo button, so it is not a dead-man trigger for long sessions
What they don't
- 170 MPH is the lowest peak air speed here -- airflow moves volume, speed dislodges wet debris
- Greenworks publishes no noise figure for this tool at all
- 200Wh included is the smallest pack of the blowers here
you own nothing else on Greenworks 80V. A 200Wh pack bought for one blower is an expensive way to start a platform.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
Where to buy the tools on this page
Every link below is an Amazon affiliate link. We show no price we have not verified today, so where there is no live figure the link says "check price" and takes you to the listing to read it there.
Best for a household already on Ryobi
Ryobi 40V HP Brushless 21" Self-Propelled
Ryobi · Ryobi 40V
Best published spec sheet
Greenworks 80V 21" 4-in-1 LM2108S
Greenworks · Greenworks 80V
Best for small yards
Greenworks 40V 20" Push LM2054
Greenworks · Greenworks 40V
Best quiet blower
Ryobi 40V HP Whisper Series 730 CFM RY404100
Ryobi · Ryobi 40V
Best budget high-CFM
Greenworks 80V 730 CFM Axial Blower
Greenworks · Greenworks 80V
#ad As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.
Common questions
Is Ryobi 40V or Greenworks better?
Are Greenworks 40V and 80V batteries interchangeable?
Which brand recharges faster?
Which mower runs longer?
Do both brands publish the same specs?
Which blower should I get?
Sources
- Ryobi 40V HP Brushless 21" Self-Propelled Mower (RY40HPLM01B), ryobitools.com
- Ryobi 40V HP Brushless Whisper Series 730 CFM Blower (RY404100), ryobitools.com
- Ryobi 40V HP Brushless 17" String Trimmer (RY402110), ryobitools.com
- Greenworks 80V 21" Self-Propelled Lawn Mower (LM2108S), greenworkstools.com
- Greenworks 40V 20" 4-in-1 Push Lawn Mower (LM2054), greenworkstools.com
- Greenworks 80V 730 CFM Cordless Battery Leaf Blower, greenworkstools.com
- Greenworks 80V Cordless 16" Brushless String Trimmer (ST80L210), greenworkstools.com
Read next
- Battery Platforms
Pick the system once and the next four tools are decided for you. Start here.
- EGO 56V vs Ryobi 40V: which platform should you start on?
420Wh in one pack against 480Wh in two, with the warranty and build-out cost worked out.
- EGO 56V vs Greenworks 80V: higher voltage, smaller pack
80V beats 56V on paper. The included pack sizes reverse the result, and here is the math.
- Are EGO batteries interchangeable? And will they work with Ryobi?
Which packs fit which tools, stated plainly, plus the one place brands quietly break their own rule.
- Watt-hours explained: the one number that compares any two battery tools
Volts x amp-hours = watt-hours. Every pack in the registry converted, and why max volts overstates it.
- EGO vs Ryobi vs Greenworks vs Toro: the mowers compared
Every published spec from four flagship 21-inch mowers, converted so it is comparable.