Leaf Blowers
What to look for in a cordless leaf blower
Six specifications, in the order they should actually influence your decision. Peak CFM is not first.
Affiliate disclosure: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we rank first — here is how we're funded.

We have not tested these units. Every spec on this page comes from the manufacturer's own documentation and is linked to it. Every computed figure is arithmetic you can redo. Prices are checked daily — last verified January 1, 1970. Here is exactly how we pick.
Blower listings lead with peak CFM because it is one big number and it sorts well. It is roughly sixth on the list of things that will determine whether you like the tool. Here is that list in the right order.
1. A published variable range
The most useful specification on a blower is the bottom of its range, not the top. You will spend most of your time at moderate output, and the low end is what lets you work near mulch beds, gravel and flowerbeds without undoing your own work.
| Blower | Published range | Peak |
|---|---|---|
| EGO LB6504 | 225-470 CFM | 650 CFM turbo |
| EGO LB6000 backpack | 260-600 CFM | 600 CFM |
| EGO LB7650 | 260-580 CFM | 765 CFM turbo |
| Ryobi RY404100 | Three speed tips (160/175/190 MPH) | 730 CFM |
| Greenworks 80V axial | Variable trigger, range not published | 730 CFM |
A published range is itself a signal: a brand that states its minimum has thought about controllability.
The LB6504's 225 CFM floor is the lowest published figure here, and it is the reason it tops our blower roundup despite not having the highest peak.
2. Runtime published per setting, not averaged
EGO publishes turbo and low separately on the LB7650 and all three settings on the LB6000 backpack. Ryobi publishes 30 minutes high and 120 low. Greenworks publishes one figure for low and nothing else. That difference tells you something about each company before you get to the airflow numbers.
3. Weight, and whose convention it uses
You hold this tool out in front of you. A pound matters here in a way it does not on a mower.
| Blower | Published weight | Convention |
|---|---|---|
| EGO LB7650 | 4.6 lb | Without battery |
| Greenworks 80V | 5.5 lb | Tool only |
| Ryobi RY404100 | 9.4 lb | Not stated -- appears to include a battery |
| EGO LB6000 | 12.5 lb | Backpack, carried on a harness |
| EGO LB6504 | Not published | — |
Weight conventions differ between manufacturers and are frequently not stated. Add roughly 2-3 lb for a mid-size pack when comparing a bare figure with an as-used one.
That inconsistency is worth naming. A 4.6 lb bare tool with a 5.0Ah pack fitted is not 4.6 lb in your hand, and the brand quoting 9.4 lb may simply be the one being straightforward. Compare like with like, or do not compare at all.
4. A published noise figure
Blowers are the tool your neighbors notice. Ryobi publishes 57 dB, EGO publishes 64 dB, Greenworks publishes nothing.
Both published figures are measured under each brand's own conditions, so the 7 dB gap is directional rather than laboratory-grade. But the presence or absence of a figure is itself informative: a company that engineered for noise tends to say so. The comparison is on the quiet blower page.
5. The nozzles in the box
The nozzle sets the trade between air speed and volume, so it is effectively part of the tool's specification. EGO ships tapered and spread nozzles with both handhelds. Ryobi ships three speed tips rated 160, 175 and 190 MPH, which is a more explicit version of the same idea.
A blower with one fixed nozzle has one CFM-to-MPH split whatever its trigger does — and that split is the thing that matches the tool to your debris.
6. Which platform it locks you into
A blower is rarely anyone's first cordless tool. If you already own a mower on a platform, buying the bare blower for that platform is usually the cheapest capable option available to you — and your mower's large pack will give it far more runtime than the small one in a blower kit.
That is a threefold difference from a battery you already own. It is the single strongest practical argument for staying on one platform, and the whole reason we lead the site with the platform decision.
What to ignore
- Peak CFM as a ranking criterion. It describes turbo, and turbo is about a tenth of your usage.
- "Gas equivalent" claims. Unfalsifiable, and never defined against a specific engine.
- Voltage as a proxy for power. The 730 CFM tools here are 40V and 80V respectively — the voltage guide explains why.
- Vacuum and mulching attachments, unless you specifically want a leaf vacuum. They add weight and cost to a tool most people use as a blower.
The products discussed
Specs are the manufacturer's own and linked to the page they came from. Prices come from a live daily check; where we have no verified price we say so rather than print a stale one.
EGO Power+ 650 CFM Blower LB6504
EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium · Our score 9.0/10
#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.
650 CFM in turbo with a genuine variable dial down to 225 CFM, and 64 dB published -- the useful range is the whole point.
Published specs
| Max air volume | 650 CFM (turbo) |
|---|---|
| Variable range | 225-470 CFM |
| Max air speed | Up to 180 MPH |
| Battery (kit) | 56V 5.0Ah |
| Runtime claim | Up to 90 min average |
| Noise | 64 dB |
| Warranty | 5-yr tool / 3-yr battery |
Source: POWER+ 650 CFM Blower, egopowerplus.com
56V x 5.0Ah = 280Wh, using EGO's advertised pack voltage.
What the numbers favor
- A real variable dial (225-470 CFM) plus turbo, not a three-position switch
- 64 dB published -- quieter than the 730 CFM Greenworks, which does not publish a figure at all
- IPX4 weather-resistant rating, published
- 5-year tool warranty
What they don't
- The 650 CFM headline is turbo-only; sustained work happens at 470 CFM or below
- EGO does not publish a weight for this model
your yard is a small courtyard or a deck. 650 CFM will move your mulch, your gravel and your neighbor's patience.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
Ryobi 40V HP Whisper Series 730 CFM RY404100
Ryobi · Ryobi 40V · Our score 8.8/10
#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.
57 dB published at 730 CFM. That is the lowest published noise figure on this page and it is not close.
Published specs
| Max air volume | 730 CFM |
|---|---|
| Max air speed | 190 MPH |
| Speed tips | 160 / 175 / 190 MPH |
| Noise | 57 dB |
| Batteries (kit) | 2 x 40V 4.0Ah |
| Runtime | 30 min high / 120 min low |
| Weight | 9.4 lb |
Source: 40V HP Brushless Whisper Series 730 CFM Blower (RY404100), ryobitools.com
Decibels are logarithmic: a 7 dB drop is roughly a 5x reduction in sound intensity, and is perceived as roughly half as loud. Both figures are manufacturer-published under their own test conditions, so treat the gap as directional, not lab-comparable.
What the numbers favor
- 57 dB published -- the quietest figure any manufacturer on this page publishes
- 730 CFM while doing it, second only to the 765 CFM EGO
- Ships with two 4Ah packs (320Wh total) in the kit
- Publishes high AND low runtimes rather than an average
What they don't
- 9.4 lb is the heaviest published handheld weight here, roughly double the EGO LB7650 bare
- Manufacturer noise figures are measured under each brand's own conditions -- not a like-for-like lab comparison
you need to move soaked leaves off a large property fast. Quiet costs air speed, and 190 MPH is the lowest peak here.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
EGO Power+ 765 CFM Blower LB7650
EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium · Our score 8.9/10
#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.
765 CFM and 200 MPH, with the turbo/low split published honestly: 15 minutes flat out, 150 minutes on low.
Published specs
| Max air volume | 765 CFM |
|---|---|
| Variable range | 260-580 CFM |
| Max air speed | Up to 200 MPH |
| Runtime (turbo) | 15 min on 5.0Ah |
| Runtime (low) | 150 min on 5.0Ah |
| Weight | 4.6 lb without battery |
| Noise | 64 dB |
Source: POWER+ 765 CFM Blower (LB7650), egopowerplus.com
280Wh (56V x 5.0Ah) over the published 15-minute turbo runtime = about 18.7Wh per minute. On low, 280Wh over 150 minutes is about 1.9Wh/min -- turbo costs roughly 10x the energy per minute.
What the numbers favor
- Highest published CFM and MPH of any handheld here
- Publishes BOTH turbo and low runtimes, so the trade-off is visible instead of averaged away
- 4.6 lb bare -- the lightest published weight of the handhelds on this page
What they don't
- 15 minutes of turbo on a 5.0Ah pack is the real constraint, whatever the 90-minute average says
- Sold bare in most configurations; budget for a battery and charger
you are clearing a small lawn. You will run it at 260 CFM forever and never touch what you paid for.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
Greenworks 80V 730 CFM Axial Blower
Greenworks · Greenworks 80V · Our score 8.3/10
#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.
730 CFM from a 5.5 lb tool with a 4-year warranty -- the cheapest published route to real airflow.
Published specs
| Max air volume | 730 CFM |
|---|---|
| Max air speed | 170 MPH |
| Weight | 5.5 lb (tool only) |
| Battery (kit) | 80V 2.5Ah |
| Runtime | Up to 60 min on low |
| Recharge | 40 min |
| Warranty | 4-yr |
Source: 80V 730 CFM Cordless Battery Leaf Blower, greenworkstools.com
80V x 2.5Ah = 200Wh, using Greenworks' advertised pack voltage.
What the numbers favor
- 730 CFM from 5.5 lb -- the best published airflow-per-pound on this page
- 4-year warranty on tool and battery
- 40-minute recharge
- Cruise control and turbo button, so it is not a dead-man trigger for long sessions
What they don't
- 170 MPH is the lowest peak air speed here -- airflow moves volume, speed dislodges wet debris
- Greenworks publishes no noise figure for this tool at all
- 200Wh included is the smallest pack of the blowers here
you own nothing else on Greenworks 80V. A 200Wh pack bought for one blower is an expensive way to start a platform.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
Common questions
What should I look for in a cordless leaf blower?
How do I know if the runtime claim is honest?
Does a heavier blower mean a better one?
How many nozzles do I need?
Should I match the blower to my other tools' battery?
Sources
Read next
- Leaf Blowers
CFM moves the pile. MPH lifts what's stuck. Almost nobody explains which you need.
- Leaf blower CFM vs MPH: which is better?
CFM moves volume, MPH dislodges. Which spec predicts clearing power for which job.
- Best cordless leaf blowers of 2026
Five cordless blowers ranked on usable airflow range, published noise and real turbo runtime.
- Quietest cordless leaf blower: the published decibel figures
57 dB vs 64 dB, what the gap means, and which brands publish no figure at all.
- 40V vs 80V: what the voltage on the sticker actually buys you
Volts x amp-hours = watt-hours. The one calculation that makes every battery spec comparable.