Mowers
Best battery mower for thick, tall grass
Thick grass does not test power so much as energy. Here is what a heavier cut costs you in watt-hours.
Affiliate disclosure: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we rank first — here is how we're funded.

We have not tested these units. Every spec on this page comes from the manufacturer's own documentation and is linked to it. Every computed figure is arithmetic you can redo. Prices are checked daily — last verified January 1, 1970. Here is exactly how we pick.
Quick picks
Ranked on the published specs and the arithmetic below. Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these units -- here is exactly how we pick.
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | No photo EGO Power+ 21" Select Cut LM2135SP The most watt-hours in the box of any flagship walk-behind here, on the platform with the widest tool range to grow into. | Best overall | 9.1 | |
| 2 | No photo Greenworks 80V 21" 4-in-1 LM2108S The only mower here that publishes motor wattage, blade RPM, weight and an acreage rating -- and the only one whose battery warranty matches its tool warranty. | Best published spec sheet | 8.4 | |
| 3 | No photo Kobalt 80V Max 21" Self-Propelled (dual-port) Two 4Ah bays, 80 published minutes and an acre rating -- the most runtime per purchase of any 80V walk-behind here. | Best two-bay runtime | 8.4 | |
| 4 | No photo Toro 60V Max 21" Recycler Self-Propel (21356) The only manufacturer here that publishes the actual watt-hour figure for its pack -- and the number tells you something the others hide. | Best published watt-hour honesty | 8.3 |
#ad Buy links are affiliate links. Prices come from a live daily check; where we have no verified price we say "check price" rather than print a stale one.
Every brand in this category sells cutting power and none of them publishes a torque curve, so "best for thick grass" is usually written on vibes. This page does it the only defensible way: rank the published power specs, then show what a heavier cut does to the runtime numbers those same brands publish.
What each maker actually publishes about power
| Mower | Power spec published | Blade speed | Energy aboard | Deck |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EGO LM2135SP | Cutting torque, up to 7.0 ft-lbs | Not published | 420Wh | Select Cut, 3 lower blades |
| Greenworks LM2108S | None (motor described as brushless) | 3200 RPM | 320Wh | 4-in-1 |
| Kobalt 80V dual-port | None (brushless) | Not published | 640Wh installed | 21 in steel |
| Toro 21356 | None (Personal Pace drive) | Not published | 324Wh published | 14-gauge steel Recycler |
Transcribed from each manufacturer's own product page. Note that no two brands publish the same power specification, which is exactly why cross-brand power claims should be treated with suspicion.
Read that table again and notice what it does not contain: a single figure that appears for more than one brand. EGO publishes torque, Greenworks publishes RPM, Kobalt and Toro publish neither. There is no honest way to rank these four machines on cutting force, and anyone who tells you otherwise is ranking them on something else.
So rank them on energy instead
Here is the part that is computable. Thick grass does not usually stop a brushless mower; it makes the motor draw more current, which drains the pack faster. So the machine that copes best with heavy growth is the one carrying the most energy for the load.
Notes on the picks
EGO LM2135SP: the only published torque figure, and three blades
Up to 7.0 ft-lbs of cutting torque is the only cutting-force number any of these brands puts in writing. Take it as EGO's own claim rather than an independently verified figure, but a company that publishes a torque number has at least decided to be measured on it.
The more practical advantage is the Select Cut system: three interchangeable lower blades — mulching, high-lift bagging and extended runtime. Heavy spring growth and a bagging blade go together; late-season dry grass and the runtime blade go together. It is the only mower here where the deck configuration is a decision you get to make after purchase.
#ad Check the EGO LM2135SP price on Amazon — how we're funded.
Greenworks LM2108S: 3200 RPM and a 4-in-1 deck
The published 3200 RPM blade speed matters in heavy growth because blade tip speed is what actually severs a thick stem. Greenworks is the only brand here that publishes it, and it publishes the same figure for its 40V push mower — which tells you the 80V machine's advantage is energy and drive, not blade speed.
The catch is the pack: 320Wh and a 33-minute claim. On the sensitivity arithmetic above, heavy growth takes that towards 22 minutes. Rated for half an acre, but plan on a second pack if your grass is thick.
#ad Check the Greenworks LM2108S price on Amazon — how we're funded.
Kobalt 80V: the most energy in reserve of anything here
640Wh installed across two 80V bays, a published 80-minute runtime claim and a one-acre rating. For thick grass over a big lawn, stored energy is the spec that decides whether you finish, and nothing else on this page carries this much. Kobalt does not state whether the two ports discharge together or in sequence, so we do not claim either — what is verifiable is that 640Wh is on the machine when you start.
#ad Check the Kobalt 80V mower price on Amazon — how we're funded.
Toro 21356: the steel deck argument
A 14-gauge steel deck is the only published material spec in this category. In heavy wet growth a deck accumulates clippings and takes knocks from hidden debris, and steel of a stated gauge is a more informative durability claim than any adjective. The 324Wh pack is the limit: 45 published minutes, less in heavy grass.
#ad Check the Toro 21356 price on Amazon — how we're funded.
The technique that beats any of these specs
University of Minnesota Extension guidance is to remove no more than one third of the leaf blade in a single cut. On grass that has run away from you, that means two or three lighter mows across a week rather than one heroic pass — which also happens to be the lowest-draw way to do it on a battery.
- Raise the deck to its highest setting and take the top third off. On most of these mowers that is a 3.6 to 4 inch cut.
- Wait two or three days. Drop one setting and cut again. Repeat until you are back at your maintenance height.
- Use side discharge rather than mulching while the growth is heavy; recutting clippings is extra work for the motor.
More on where those heights come from, and why the deck's maximum setting is a spec worth checking before you buy, on the mowing height guide. If you are deciding what to do with the clippings afterwards, mulching versus bagging has the extension research on it.
What we cannot tell you
- Actual cutting force. One brand publishes torque, one publishes RPM, two publish neither. No cross-brand ranking of cutting power is possible from these documents.
- How much heavy grass really raises draw. Nobody publishes it. The 20/35/50% figures above are stated assumptions so you can see the sensitivity, not measurements.
- Whether a mower bogs down. That is a load-response behaviour that only shows up in use, and we have not used these.
The picks in full
Specs are the manufacturer's own and linked to the page they came from. Prices come from a live daily check; where we have no verified price we say so rather than print a stale one.
EGO Power+ 21" Select Cut LM2135SP
EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium · Our score 9.1/10
#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.
The most watt-hours in the box of any flagship walk-behind here, on the platform with the widest tool range to grow into.
Published specs
| Deck | 21 in |
|---|---|
| Cutting torque | Up to 7.0 ft-lbs |
| Battery included | 56V 7.5Ah |
| Cut height | 1-4 in, 8 positions |
| Self-propel speed | 0.9-3.1 MPH |
| Runtime claim | Up to 60 min |
| Warranty | 5-yr tool / 3-yr battery |
Source: EGO POWER+ 21" Select Cut System (LM2135SP), egopowerplus.com
56V x 7.5Ah = 420Wh, using EGO's advertised pack voltage.
What the numbers favor
- 420Wh in the box -- the largest included pack of any flagship walk-behind on this page
- Eight cut-height positions from 1 to 4 in, the widest published range here
- Three interchangeable lower blades (mulching, high-lift bagging, extended runtime)
- 5-year tool warranty, the longest published on this page
What they don't
- EGO publishes torque (7.0 ft-lbs), not motor wattage, so it cannot be compared directly against Greenworks' 1500W figure
- The 7.5Ah pack that earns the runtime claim is also the expensive one to replace
your yard is under a quarter acre. You would be paying for 420Wh of headroom you will never discharge, and a 20 in push mower cuts the same grass.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
Greenworks 80V 21" 4-in-1 LM2108S
Greenworks · Greenworks 80V · Our score 8.4/10
#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.
The only mower here that publishes motor wattage, blade RPM, weight and an acreage rating -- and the only one whose battery warranty matches its tool warranty.
Published specs
| Model / SKU | LM2108S / 2550402 |
|---|---|
| Deck | 21 in |
| Max blade speed | 3200 RPM |
| Battery included | 80V 4.0Ah |
| Cut height | 1.38-4.0 in, 7 positions |
| Runtime claim | Up to 33 min |
| Weight | 75 lb |
| Rated for | Up to 1/2 acre |
| Warranty | 4-yr tool / 4-yr battery |
Source: 80V 21" 4-in-1 Self-Propelled Lawn Mower (LM2108S), greenworkstools.com
80V x 4.0Ah = 320Wh, using Greenworks' advertised pack voltage.
What the numbers favor
- 4-year battery warranty -- a year longer than EGO's 3-year, on the component that fails first
- Publishes blade RPM, weight and acreage rating; the other two brands publish none of the three
- 40-minute recharge on the included charger, the fastest published here
- 4-in-1 deck adds turbo leaf pickup on top of mulch, bag and side discharge
What they don't
- 320Wh included, the least of the three flagships -- and the 33-minute runtime claim reflects that
- 75 lb is the only published weight here, and it is not light
you want one battery to finish a half-acre without a swap. Greenworks rates the mower for 1/2 acre but claims only 33 minutes on the included pack; those two numbers only reconcile if you buy a second battery.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
Kobalt 80V Max 21" Self-Propelled (dual-port)
Kobalt · Kobalt 80V Max · Our score 8.4/10
#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.
Two 4Ah bays, 80 published minutes and an acre rating -- the most runtime per purchase of any 80V walk-behind here.
Published specs
| Deck | 21 in, steel |
|---|---|
| Motor | Brushless |
| Batteries included | 2 x 80V 4.0Ah (dual port) |
| Runtime claim | Up to 80 min |
| Rated for | Up to 1 acre |
| Drive | Self-propelled RWD, 7 speed settings |
| Recharge | Approx. 60-90 min |
Source: Kobalt 80-Volt 21-in Self-propelled Battery Mower (2 batteries), lowes.com
80V x 4.0Ah = 320Wh per pack; two bays = 640Wh installed. Kobalt's listing does not state whether the two ports discharge simultaneously or in sequence, so we do not claim either -- what is verifiable is that 640Wh is on the machine when you start.
What the numbers favor
- 640Wh installed across two bays, the most of any walk-behind on this page
- Rated to 1 acre, twice the Greenworks 80V flagship's half-acre rating
- Seven published speed settings on the self-propel drive
- All Kobalt 80V packs are cross-compatible across the 80V outdoor line
What they don't
- Sold through Lowe's only, so availability and price track one retailer
- The listing does not publish weight, cut-height range or a noise figure
- Kobalt's 80V outdoor range is narrower than EGO's or Ryobi's
you want a platform rather than a mower. Kobalt is a single-retailer house brand -- fine for the tool, thinner as a decade-long ecosystem bet.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
Toro 60V Max 21" Recycler Self-Propel (21356)
Toro · Toro 60V Max Flex-Force · Our score 8.3/10
#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.
The only manufacturer here that publishes the actual watt-hour figure for its pack -- and the number tells you something the others hide.
Published specs
| Model | 21356 |
|---|---|
| Deck | 21 in, 14-gauge steel |
| Battery | 60V Max L324, 6.0Ah, 324Wh |
| Charge time | 150 min |
| Runtime claim | Up to 45 min on the 6.0Ah |
| Drive | Personal Pace variable-speed RWD |
| Weight | 66 lb |
| Storage | SmartStow vertical |
Source: 60V Max 21 in. Recycler Self-Propel Lawn Mower (21356T), toro.com
Toro labels the pack 60V Max 6.0Ah and publishes 324Wh. 324 / 6.0 = 54V -- the nominal voltage, not the 60V max-charge figure on the sticker. Every brand's 'max volts' is roughly 11% above nominal, so a nameplate watt-hour number is always about 11% optimistic. This is the single most useful spec on this page.
What the numbers favor
- Publishes a real watt-hour figure (324Wh) instead of leaving you to multiply the marketing voltage
- 45 minutes from 324Wh, against Greenworks' 33 minutes from a nameplate 320Wh
- 14-gauge steel deck, the only steel deck spec published on this page
- SmartStow vertical storage -- a genuine constraint solver in a one-car garage
What they don't
- 150-minute recharge is the slowest here by a wide margin
- Toro's 60V line is narrower than EGO's or Ryobi's, so the platform grows less far
you are buying into a platform rather than a mower. Toro builds excellent mowers; the 60V Flex-Force tool range is not the one to bet a decade of yard tools on.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
Where to buy the tools on this page
Every link below is an Amazon affiliate link. We show no price we have not verified today, so where there is no live figure the link says "check price" and takes you to the listing to read it there.
Best overall
EGO Power+ 21" Select Cut LM2135SP
EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium
Best published spec sheet
Greenworks 80V 21" 4-in-1 LM2108S
Greenworks · Greenworks 80V
Best two-bay runtime
Kobalt 80V Max 21" Self-Propelled (dual-port)
Kobalt · Kobalt 80V Max
Best published watt-hour honesty
Toro 60V Max 21" Recycler Self-Propel (21356)
Toro · Toro 60V Max Flex-Force
#ad As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.
Common questions
What is the best battery mower for thick grass?
Do battery mowers struggle in thick grass?
Does higher voltage cut thick grass better?
What blade speed do these mowers run?
Should I mow thick grass in two passes?
Does a mulching blade make thick grass harder to cut?
Sources
- EGO POWER+ 21" Select Cut System (LM2135SP), egopowerplus.com
- Greenworks 80V 21" 4-in-1 Self-Propelled Mower (LM2108S), greenworkstools.com
- Kobalt 80-Volt 21-in Self-propelled Battery Mower, lowes.com
- 60V Max 21 in. Recycler Self-Propel Lawn Mower (21356T), toro.com
- Mowing practices for healthy lawns, University of Minnesota Extension
Read next
- Mowers
Deck width sets how fast you finish. Watt-hours set whether you finish at all.
- Best battery lawn mowers of 2026
Six flagship battery mowers ranked on watt-hours in the box and energy spent per minute.
- Best electric mower for a half acre to an acre
Half an acre and up, runtime is the whole problem. Ranked on installed watt-hours and acreage rating.
- What height should you mow your lawn?
The one-third rule, the 3-inch recommendation, and every published cut-height range checked against them.
- Mulching vs bagging: which should you actually do?
The extension research on returning clippings, and what each deck mode costs you in runtime.
- How long do electric lawn mower batteries last?
Runtime per charge is arithmetic. Lifespan in years is mostly warranty terms and honest uncertainty.