Battery Platforms
EGO 56V vs Kobalt 80V Max: more energy now, or more platform later
One of these ships nearly double the watt-hours. The other ships an ecosystem. That is the entire decision.
Affiliate disclosure: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we rank first — here is how we're funded.

We have not tested these units. Every spec on this page comes from the manufacturer's own documentation and is linked to it. Every computed figure is arithmetic you can redo. Prices are checked daily — last verified January 1, 1970. Here is exactly how we pick.
These two mowers answer the same question in opposite directions. Kobalt puts as much energy on the machine as it can and rates it for an acre. EGO puts less energy on the machine, gets more minutes out of each watt-hour, and spends the difference on a battery that runs nine other tools. Both are defensible. They are not defensible for the same buyer.
The short answer
Watt-hours in the box
Neither brand prints a watt-hour figure, so both have to be computed the same way: advertised volts multiplied by amp-hours. That convention is only valid within a brand's own marketing, which is exactly why we show the working rather than just the answer.
Then look at what each machine does with it. Kobalt publishes up to 80 minutes. EGO publishes up to 60. Divide the energy by the minutes and the ranking reverses.
#ad Check the Kobalt 80V Max 21" Self-Propelled (dual-port) price on Amazon — how we're funded.
The acreage number, and the one brand that publishes it
Kobalt rates the dual-bay mower to one acre. EGO publishes no acreage rating for the LM2135SP. That silence is worth noticing on a spec sheet that otherwise publishes torque, drive speed, cut heights and warranty terms.
What makes Kobalt's figure more credible than a marketing round number is that a second manufacturer arrives at the same energy density from a different machine. Greenworks rates its 80V flagship to half an acre on 320Wh. Kobalt rates its 80V to a full acre on 640Wh. Both work out to the same watt-hours per acre.
Apply that rate to EGO's 420Wh and you land near two thirds of an acre, which is in the same territory as its 60-minute claim. That is a computed estimate from other manufacturers' ratings, not an EGO figure, and we would not print it as one.
What each brand is willing to publish
| Spec | Kobalt 80V dual bay | EGO LM2135SP |
|---|---|---|
| Deck | 21 in, steel | 21 in |
| Energy installed | 640Wh (2 x 320Wh) | 420Wh |
| Runtime claim | Up to 80 min | Up to 60 min |
| Acreage rating | Up to 1 acre | Not published |
| Cut height range | Not published | 1-4 in, 8 positions |
| Drive | Self-propelled RWD, 7 speeds | Self-propelled, 0.9-3.1 MPH |
| Cutting torque | Not published | Up to 7.0 ft-lbs |
| Recharge | Approx. 60-90 min | Not published for this pack |
| Warranty | Not stated on the listing | 5-yr tool / 3-yr battery |
| Where it sells | Lowe's | Multiple retailers |
Kobalt figures from the Lowe's product listing; EGO figures from the LM2135SP product page. Both checked 3 September 2026. "Not published" means the figure is absent from the source, not that we failed to look.
The pattern is consistent: Kobalt publishes what the machine achieves, EGO publishes what the machine is made of. If you want a cut-height range before committing — and on a cool-season lawn you should, because the top of the range decides whether you can mow at three inches — only one of these two tells you.
#ad Check the EGO Power+ 21" Select Cut LM2135SP price on Amazon — how we're funded.
The part that outlives the mower
A mower lasts years. A battery platform lasts as long as you keep buying tools for it, which is longer. This is where the two diverge hard.
| Tool class | EGO 56V | Kobalt 80V |
|---|---|---|
| Walk-behind mower | Yes | Yes |
| Handheld blower | Yes (650 and 765 CFM) | Outside our registry |
| Backpack blower | Yes (600 CFM) | Outside our registry |
| String trimmer | Yes (15 in POWERLOAD) | Outside our registry |
| Hedge trimmer | Yes (24 in, 1 in capacity) | Outside our registry |
| Chainsaw | Yes (18 in) | Outside our registry |
| Pole saw | Yes (10 in attachment) | Outside our registry |
| Edger | Yes (8 in attachment) | Outside our registry |
| Zero turn rider | Yes (Z6, same 56V packs) | Outside our registry |
"Outside our registry" means we hold no cited manufacturer spec sheet for a Kobalt 80V tool in that class — not that no such tool exists. We only compare figures we have transcribed from a published source.
The EGO column is the argument. Nine of the products we hold specs for run on one pack family, up to and including a zero turn that takes the identical 56V packs your handheld blower uses. That is unusual, and it is why a 420Wh pack bought for a mower is not stranded when the mower is done.
Who should buy which
Buy the Kobalt if
- Your lot runs from half an acre to an acre and you want it done on one charge
- Single-retailer availability does not bother you
- The mower is the whole purchase and the rest of the yard is handled
- You want seven published drive speeds rather than a speed range
Buy the EGO if
- This is your first cordless yard tool and there will be more
- You want a published cut-height range so you can mow high
- You value a five-year tool warranty in writing
- A second session on a big lot is acceptable in exchange for the platform
What we cannot tell you
We have pushed neither mower. Whether Kobalt's two bays discharge in parallel or in sequence, how the steel deck holds up against EGO's, how either self-propel drive behaves on a wet slope, and what the real minutes look like in thick spring growth are all outside what a spec sheet settles.
What we can tell you is the arithmetic: 640Wh against 420Wh, 8.0Wh per minute against 7.0, a published acre against no acreage figure at all, and nine tools on one pack family against one. Those four facts decide this comparison for almost everybody.
The products discussed
Specs are the manufacturer's own and linked to the page they came from. Prices come from a live daily check; where we have no verified price we say so rather than print a stale one.
Kobalt 80V Max 21" Self-Propelled (dual-port)
Kobalt · Kobalt 80V Max · Our score 8.4/10
#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.
Two 4Ah bays, 80 published minutes and an acre rating -- the most runtime per purchase of any 80V walk-behind here.
Published specs
| Deck | 21 in, steel |
|---|---|
| Motor | Brushless |
| Batteries included | 2 x 80V 4.0Ah (dual port) |
| Runtime claim | Up to 80 min |
| Rated for | Up to 1 acre |
| Drive | Self-propelled RWD, 7 speed settings |
| Recharge | Approx. 60-90 min |
Source: Kobalt 80-Volt 21-in Self-propelled Battery Mower (2 batteries), lowes.com
80V x 4.0Ah = 320Wh per pack; two bays = 640Wh installed. Kobalt's listing does not state whether the two ports discharge simultaneously or in sequence, so we do not claim either -- what is verifiable is that 640Wh is on the machine when you start.
What the numbers favor
- 640Wh installed across two bays, the most of any walk-behind on this page
- Rated to 1 acre, twice the Greenworks 80V flagship's half-acre rating
- Seven published speed settings on the self-propel drive
- All Kobalt 80V packs are cross-compatible across the 80V outdoor line
What they don't
- Sold through Lowe's only, so availability and price track one retailer
- The listing does not publish weight, cut-height range or a noise figure
- Kobalt's 80V outdoor range is narrower than EGO's or Ryobi's
you want a platform rather than a mower. Kobalt is a single-retailer house brand -- fine for the tool, thinner as a decade-long ecosystem bet.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
EGO Power+ 21" Select Cut LM2135SP
EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium · Our score 9.1/10
#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.
The most watt-hours in the box of any flagship walk-behind here, on the platform with the widest tool range to grow into.
Published specs
| Deck | 21 in |
|---|---|
| Cutting torque | Up to 7.0 ft-lbs |
| Battery included | 56V 7.5Ah |
| Cut height | 1-4 in, 8 positions |
| Self-propel speed | 0.9-3.1 MPH |
| Runtime claim | Up to 60 min |
| Warranty | 5-yr tool / 3-yr battery |
Source: EGO POWER+ 21" Select Cut System (LM2135SP), egopowerplus.com
56V x 7.5Ah = 420Wh, using EGO's advertised pack voltage.
What the numbers favor
- 420Wh in the box -- the largest included pack of any flagship walk-behind on this page
- Eight cut-height positions from 1 to 4 in, the widest published range here
- Three interchangeable lower blades (mulching, high-lift bagging, extended runtime)
- 5-year tool warranty, the longest published on this page
What they don't
- EGO publishes torque (7.0 ft-lbs), not motor wattage, so it cannot be compared directly against Greenworks' 1500W figure
- The 7.5Ah pack that earns the runtime claim is also the expensive one to replace
your yard is under a quarter acre. You would be paying for 420Wh of headroom you will never discharge, and a 20 in push mower cuts the same grass.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
Where to buy the tools on this page
Every link below is an Amazon affiliate link. We show no price we have not verified today, so where there is no live figure the link says "check price" and takes you to the listing to read it there.
Best two-bay runtime
Kobalt 80V Max 21" Self-Propelled (dual-port)
Kobalt · Kobalt 80V Max
Best overall
EGO Power+ 21" Select Cut LM2135SP
EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium
#ad As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.
Common questions
Is Kobalt 80V better than EGO 56V?
How many watt-hours does the Kobalt 80V mower carry?
Which mower uses less energy per minute?
Is Kobalt 80V only sold at Lowe's?
Can Kobalt 80V batteries run EGO tools?
Which should I buy for an acre?
Sources
Read next
- Battery Platforms
Pick the system once and the next four tools are decided for you. Start here.
- Greenworks 80V vs Kobalt 80V: same voltage, different bets
Same 80V sticker, double the installed energy on one of them. The comparison is about packs, not volts.
- EGO 56V vs Toro 60V Max: the honest watt-hour comparison
420Wh nameplate against 324Wh published, and what Toro's own number says about everyone else's.
- Watt-hours explained: the one number that compares any two battery tools
Volts x amp-hours = watt-hours. Every pack in the registry converted, and why max volts overstates it.
- Best battery lawn mowers of 2026
Six flagship battery mowers ranked on watt-hours in the box and energy spent per minute.
- What a battery platform really costs over ten years
The four-line cost model for a decade of cordless yard tools, with the battery replacement nobody counts.