Skip to content
MOW & MEADOW

Guides

How many batteries do you actually need?

Two packs of 240Wh is not the same as one pack of 480Wh, and the difference decides whether you finish.

By Sawyer V.Published Last updated

Affiliate disclosure: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we rank first — here is how we're funded.

Close-up of battery pack terminals

We have not tested these units. Every spec on this page comes from the manufacturer's own documentation and is linked to it. Every computed figure is arithmetic you can redo. Prices are checked daily — last verified January 1, 1970. Here is exactly how we pick.

Battery count is the question every cordless buyer asks after the purchase, when the mower stops two thirds of the way down the lawn. It is answerable in advance, with arithmetic, from numbers the manufacturers already publish.

Convert your lawn into mowing minutes, multiply by the tool's published energy per minute, and compare with the watt-hours in the pack. A half acre is roughly 60 minutes at about 7.5Wh per minute — about 450Wh — which is more than any single pack in most mower kits.

Step one: lawn size to watt-hours

LawnMowing timeEnergy per minuteWatt-hours needed
1/4 acre (10,890 sq ft)~25-35 min~4Wh (20 in push)~140Wh
1/3 acre~35-45 min~4-7Wh~270Wh
1/2 acre (21,780 sq ft)~50-70 min~7.5Wh (21 in self-propelled)~450-600Wh
1 acre (43,560 sq ft)~70-110 min~7.5Wh~600-1,000Wh
2 acresSeated~1,120Wh per acre (42 in rider)~2,240Wh

Our arithmetic, using the per-minute rates derived from manufacturers' own published runtime claims. The riding figure comes from EGO's published two-acre coverage on 2,240Wh of installed packs.

Then compare with what is actually in the box. EGO ships 420Wh in one 7.5Ah pack. Greenworks 80V ships 320Wh. Toro publishes 324Wh. Kobalt installs 640Wh across two bays. Ryobi ships 480Wh in two packs — with a catch we come to next.

The sequential trap

This is the distinction that costs people an afternoon. Two 240Wh packs in a mower that draws from one at a time is not a 480Wh mower. It is a 240Wh mower with a spare you do not have to walk back to the garage for.

The arithmetic — Sequential versus simultaneous
Ryobi RY40HPLM01B kit: 2 x 40V 6.0Ah
40V x 6.0Ah = 240Wh per pack; 480Wh total
The mower draws ONE pack at a time.
Live capacity at any moment: 240Wh
Published runtime claim: up to 80 min on the pair
Kobalt 80V dual-port: 2 x 80V 4.0Ah = 640Wh installed
Kobalt does not state whether the ports discharge together
or in sequence, so we claim neither. 640Wh is aboard.

Does it matter? For total mowing time, no — 480Wh is 480Wh either way. For anything that needs sustained draw, and for the convenience of not stopping, yes. And it matters enormously for how you read a spec sheet: the Ryobi kit's 80-minute claim is a two-pack claim, not a one-pack one.

Step two: check the charge time before you rely on it

If one pack does not finish your lawn, your options are a second pack or a wait. How long a wait depends entirely on the charger, and the spread is enormous: Greenworks publishes 40 minutes for a 320Wh pack, Toro publishes 150 minutes for 324Wh.

At a 45% duty cycle — the Greenworks 80V's published 33 minutes of mowing against 40 of charging — a mow-wait-mow afternoon is workable. At Toro's rate it is not an afternoon, it is a project. The whole comparison is on the charging times page.

#ad Check the Greenworks LM2108S price on Amazonhow we're funded.

The answer, by lawn size

Your lawnPacks to buyWhy
Up to 1/3 acreOne, and no spareA single 160-320Wh pack finishes the job with margin
1/3 to 1/2 acreOne large, or two mediumYou are close to the limit of one pack; a spare removes the risk
1/2 to 1 acreTwo, minimum600-1,000Wh needed; no single walk-behind pack carries that
1 to 2 acresFour (rider) or three (walk-behind)~1,120Wh per acre on a rider by EGO's published coverage
Over 2 acresSix, plus a rechargeEGO publishes six bays and up to 3 acres at full capacity

Our arithmetic on published runtime claims, energy per minute and coverage figures. Add margin for thick or wet growth, which raises draw on any mower.

The Kobalt 80V dual-bay is the shortcut for the half- to-one acre band: 640Wh installed and a published one-acre rating, in one purchase rather than a mower plus a spare pack. The EGO LM2135SP is the shortcut for anyone who wants the biggest single pack rather than the biggest pair.

Why the spare pack is the better buy

  • It removes the wait rather than shortening it. A faster charger is still a pause; a spare is a swap.
  • It halves the cycles on each pack. Nobody publishes a cycle-life figure, but rotating two packs means each does half the work. What is actually published about pack life is thinner than you would hope.
  • It runs your other tools. A spare mower pack is also the pack in your blower on a long autumn afternoon.
  • It covers the bad day. Wet, thick grass raises draw. Margin is the whole point of a spare.

Three worked examples

A 4,000 sq ft front and back, 20-inch push mower

The arithmetic — Small property on one small pack
4,000 sq ft / 1.5 ft effective per pass = ~2,670 linear ft
At 3 MPH (264 ft/min) = ~10 min of cutting, call it 20 with turns
20 min x ~4Wh/min (20 in push deck) = ~80Wh
A 160Wh pack covers it twice over. One pack, no spare.

This is the case where buying a second battery is money spent on nothing. The published 40-minute runtime claim on a 160Wh pack is already double what the job needs, and the mower will be back on the charger before the next mow anyway.

A half acre, 21-inch self-propelled

The arithmetic — The awkward middle
21,780 sq ft, ~60 min of cutting by our sizing table
60 min x 7.5Wh/min = ~450Wh
EGO 7.5Ah pack = 420Wh. Just short on a bad week.
Greenworks 80V 4.0Ah = 320Wh. Comfortably short.
Kobalt dual-bay = 640Wh installed. Comfortably over.

Half an acre is where the decision actually bites, because the biggest single pack in most kits lands within a few tens of watt-hours of the requirement. Add 20 to 30% for thick or wet growth and one pack stops being enough on exactly the weeks you least want to stop.

A full acre, walk-behind

The arithmetic — Two packs, minimum
43,560 sq ft, ~110 min of walking behind a 21 in deck
110 min x 7.5Wh/min = ~825Wh
Two 420Wh packs = 840Wh. Just enough, with nothing spare.
Kobalt's 640Wh dual-bay is rated to an acre but is 185Wh short
of our arithmetic -- which is why we quote the rating AND the maths.

When a manufacturer's acreage rating and our watt-hour arithmetic disagree, we publish both rather than picking the flattering one. Kobalt rates the machine for an acre; our figures say an acre needs more energy than it carries. The honest reading is that its rating assumes lighter, faster mowing than our per-minute rate does.

What we cannot tell you

  • How Kobalt's two ports discharge. The listing does not say, so we do not claim either behaviour.
  • Real energy per minute on your lawn. Our per-minute rates come from published runtime claims under manufacturer conditions.
  • How many cycles a pack lasts. Not published by any of these brands.
  • What packs cost. We publish no unverified price. Put your own figures into the cost calculator.

The products discussed

Specs are the manufacturer's own and linked to the page they came from. Prices come from a live daily check; where we have no verified price we say so rather than print a stale one.

1. Best for a household already on Ryobi

Ryobi 40V HP Brushless 21" Self-Propelled

Ryobi · Ryobi 40V · Our score 8.6/10

#ad Check price on Amazon

No photo
Check price on Amazon

#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.

Two 6Ah packs and the longest published runtime claim on this page, on the platform with the cheapest route to a fourth and fifth tool.

Published specs

ModelRY40HPLM01B
Deck21 in
MotorBrushless, 40V HP
Batteries included (kit)2 x 40V 6.0Ah
DriveVariable-speed rear-wheel self-propel
Runtime claimUp to 80 min on 2 x 6Ah

Source: 40V HP Brushless 21" Self-Propelled Mower, ryobitools.com

Our arithmetic — Nameplate watt-hours
480Wh (2 x 240Wh)

40V x 6.0Ah = 240Wh per pack; the kit ships two, so 480Wh total -- but only 240Wh is available at any moment, because the mower draws one pack at a time.

What the numbers favor

  • 480Wh across two packs, the most total energy in any kit here
  • Two packs means you swap and keep mowing instead of waiting on a charger
  • Ryobi's 40V range is the broadest consumer battery line of the three platforms

What they don't

  • Only one 240Wh pack is live at a time -- the 480Wh is sequential, not simultaneous
  • Ryobi does not publish a cut-height range or weight on the product page, so both are unknown to us
Skip this one if

you own nothing on Ryobi yet and expect to buy heavy tools later. 40V is the lowest voltage of the three platforms, and the ceiling shows on chainsaws and riding gear.

How it scores

Included energy9.5
Swap convenience9.5
Platform range9.0
Published spec depth5.0
Value per watt-hour8.5

Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.

2. Best two-bay runtime

Kobalt 80V Max 21" Self-Propelled (dual-port)

Kobalt · Kobalt 80V Max · Our score 8.4/10

#ad Check price on Amazon

No photo
Check price on Amazon

#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.

Two 4Ah bays, 80 published minutes and an acre rating -- the most runtime per purchase of any 80V walk-behind here.

Published specs

Deck21 in, steel
MotorBrushless
Batteries included2 x 80V 4.0Ah (dual port)
Runtime claimUp to 80 min
Rated forUp to 1 acre
DriveSelf-propelled RWD, 7 speed settings
RechargeApprox. 60-90 min

Source: Kobalt 80-Volt 21-in Self-propelled Battery Mower (2 batteries), lowes.com

Our arithmetic — Nameplate watt-hours
640Wh installed (2 x 320Wh)

80V x 4.0Ah = 320Wh per pack; two bays = 640Wh installed. Kobalt's listing does not state whether the two ports discharge simultaneously or in sequence, so we do not claim either -- what is verifiable is that 640Wh is on the machine when you start.

What the numbers favor

  • 640Wh installed across two bays, the most of any walk-behind on this page
  • Rated to 1 acre, twice the Greenworks 80V flagship's half-acre rating
  • Seven published speed settings on the self-propel drive
  • All Kobalt 80V packs are cross-compatible across the 80V outdoor line

What they don't

  • Sold through Lowe's only, so availability and price track one retailer
  • The listing does not publish weight, cut-height range or a noise figure
  • Kobalt's 80V outdoor range is narrower than EGO's or Ryobi's
Skip this one if

you want a platform rather than a mower. Kobalt is a single-retailer house brand -- fine for the tool, thinner as a decade-long ecosystem bet.

How it scores

Installed energy10.0
Acreage rating9.5
Drive control9.0
Published spec depth5.0
Platform range6.0

Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.

3. Best published spec sheet

Greenworks 80V 21" 4-in-1 LM2108S

Greenworks · Greenworks 80V · Our score 8.4/10

#ad Check price on Amazon

No photo
Check price on Amazon

#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.

The only mower here that publishes motor wattage, blade RPM, weight and an acreage rating -- and the only one whose battery warranty matches its tool warranty.

Published specs

Model / SKULM2108S / 2550402
Deck21 in
Max blade speed3200 RPM
Battery included80V 4.0Ah
Cut height1.38-4.0 in, 7 positions
Runtime claimUp to 33 min
Weight75 lb
Rated forUp to 1/2 acre
Warranty4-yr tool / 4-yr battery

Source: 80V 21" 4-in-1 Self-Propelled Lawn Mower (LM2108S), greenworkstools.com

Our arithmetic — Nameplate watt-hours
320Wh

80V x 4.0Ah = 320Wh, using Greenworks' advertised pack voltage.

What the numbers favor

  • 4-year battery warranty -- a year longer than EGO's 3-year, on the component that fails first
  • Publishes blade RPM, weight and acreage rating; the other two brands publish none of the three
  • 40-minute recharge on the included charger, the fastest published here
  • 4-in-1 deck adds turbo leaf pickup on top of mulch, bag and side discharge

What they don't

  • 320Wh included, the least of the three flagships -- and the 33-minute runtime claim reflects that
  • 75 lb is the only published weight here, and it is not light
Skip this one if

you want one battery to finish a half-acre without a swap. Greenworks rates the mower for 1/2 acre but claims only 33 minutes on the included pack; those two numbers only reconcile if you buy a second battery.

How it scores

Included energy6.5
Published spec depth10.0
Warranty9.0
Recharge speed9.5
Value per watt-hour8.0

Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.

4. Best overall

EGO Power+ 21" Select Cut LM2135SP

EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium · Our score 9.1/10

#ad Check price on Amazon

No photo
Check price on Amazon

#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.

The most watt-hours in the box of any flagship walk-behind here, on the platform with the widest tool range to grow into.

Published specs

Deck21 in
Cutting torqueUp to 7.0 ft-lbs
Battery included56V 7.5Ah
Cut height1-4 in, 8 positions
Self-propel speed0.9-3.1 MPH
Runtime claimUp to 60 min
Warranty5-yr tool / 3-yr battery

Source: EGO POWER+ 21" Select Cut System (LM2135SP), egopowerplus.com

Our arithmetic — Nameplate watt-hours
420Wh

56V x 7.5Ah = 420Wh, using EGO's advertised pack voltage.

What the numbers favor

  • 420Wh in the box -- the largest included pack of any flagship walk-behind on this page
  • Eight cut-height positions from 1 to 4 in, the widest published range here
  • Three interchangeable lower blades (mulching, high-lift bagging, extended runtime)
  • 5-year tool warranty, the longest published on this page

What they don't

  • EGO publishes torque (7.0 ft-lbs), not motor wattage, so it cannot be compared directly against Greenworks' 1500W figure
  • The 7.5Ah pack that earns the runtime claim is also the expensive one to replace
Skip this one if

your yard is under a quarter acre. You would be paying for 420Wh of headroom you will never discharge, and a 20 in push mower cuts the same grass.

How it scores

Included energy9.5
Cut adjustability9.0
Platform range9.5
Warranty9.5
Value per watt-hour7.5

Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.

Where to buy the tools on this page

Every link below is an Amazon affiliate link. We show no price we have not verified today, so where there is no live figure the link says "check price" and takes you to the listing to read it there.

  • Best for a household already on Ryobi

    Ryobi 40V HP Brushless 21" Self-Propelled

    Ryobi · Ryobi 40V

  • Best two-bay runtime

    Kobalt 80V Max 21" Self-Propelled (dual-port)

    Kobalt · Kobalt 80V Max

  • Best published spec sheet

    Greenworks 80V 21" 4-in-1 LM2108S

    Greenworks · Greenworks 80V

  • Best overall

    EGO Power+ 21" Select Cut LM2135SP

    EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium

#ad As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Common questions

How many batteries do I need for my lawn mower?
Enough watt-hours to finish in one go, plus a margin for heavy growth. A quarter acre needs roughly 140Wh, half an acre 450 to 600Wh, and a full acre 600 to 1,000Wh on a walk-behind by our arithmetic.
Is two small batteries the same as one big one?
Only if the tool can draw from both at once. Ryobi's mower kit ships two 6.0Ah packs -- 480Wh in total -- but the mower draws one pack at a time, so 240Wh is live at any moment and the second is a swap rather than extra capacity.
Should I buy a spare battery?
If your lawn needs more than one pack, yes -- a spare removes the wait entirely, where a faster charger only shortens it. Rotating two packs also halves the cycles each one does.
How do I convert my lawn size into watt-hours?
Estimate mowing minutes from lawn size, then multiply by the tool's energy per minute. A 21-inch self-propelled mower runs about 7.0 to 7.5 watt-hours per minute on published claims; a 20-inch push mower is closer to 4.
Does a bigger battery make the mower more powerful?
No. Capacity is runtime, not power. A bigger pack runs longer at the same output; it does not raise blade speed or cutting torque.
How long will I wait if I run out mid-lawn?
Between 40 and 150 minutes, depending on the charger. Greenworks publishes 40 minutes for a 320Wh pack; Toro publishes 150 for 324Wh. That gap is the reason a spare pack beats a fast charger.

Sources

  1. RYOBI 40V HP Brushless 21" Self-Propelled Mower, ryobitools.com
  2. Kobalt 80-Volt 21-in Self-propelled Battery Mower, lowes.com
  3. Greenworks 80V 21" Self-Propelled Mower (LM2108S), greenworkstools.com
  4. EGO POWER+ 21" Select Cut System (LM2135SP), egopowerplus.com
  5. Toro 60V Max 21 in. Recycler Self-Propel Lawn Mower (21356T), toro.com