Yard Tools
Cordless snow blower maintenance
A battery snow blower deletes the entire gas maintenance schedule. What remains is short, seasonal, and mostly about the eleven months it spends not being used.
Affiliate disclosure: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we rank first — here is how we're funded.

We have not tested these units. Every spec on this page comes from the manufacturer's own documentation and is linked to it. Every computed figure is arithmetic you can redo. Prices are checked daily — last verified January 1, 1970. Here is exactly how we pick.
A gas snow blower spends eleven months of the year not being used and demands a maintenance routine designed around exactly that: stale fuel, a gummed carburetor, an engine that has not turned since March. A cordless machine deletes all of it, and what is left is worth doing properly because it is so short.
Before anything: both packs out
What the electric drivetrain removed
| Gas snow blower job | Cordless equivalent |
|---|---|
| Fuel stabilizer and end-of-season draining | None |
| Engine oil changes | None |
| Spark plug | None |
| Air filter | None |
| Carburetor cleaning after storage | None |
| Pull-cord and starting in the cold | None |
| Shear pin inspection | Not published on any machine we hold |
| Auger and chute clearing | Unchanged |
| Skid shoe adjustment | Unchanged |
| Battery care | New, and it is the important one |
The right column reflects what the manufacturers publish for the machines in our registry. Where a component is simply not mentioned we say so rather than assume it is absent.
After every use
- Both packs out. Every time, before anything else.
- Clear packed snow from the auger housing and chute. Snow left to freeze in the chute is the clog you will meet at the worst possible moment next time.
- Run the chute through its rotation. All three machines publish a 200-degree chute; a frozen one is a chute you cannot aim.
- Let the machine dry before storing. Only the EGO SNT2134 publishes an ingress rating (IPX4), and the other two publish none at all — absence of a rating is not a claim of protection.
- Bring the packs indoors. They do not want to sit in an unheated garage overnight in winter any more than they do in July.
#ad Check the EGO Power+ 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SNT2400 price on Amazon — how we're funded.
Start of season
- Check the skid shoes. They set how high the auger housing rides. On gravel this is the setting that decides whether you throw stones — see snow blowers for gravel driveways.
- Inspect the auger. EGO publishes a steel auger on the SNT2134 and a metal auger on the SNT2400; Greenworks publishes no auger material. Look for damage from anything you hit last winter.
- Check the tires, where they are published. Greenworks publishes 15 inch rear wheels at AT 15 x 5-7; neither EGO machine publishes a tire spec.
- Test the lights before you need them. EGO publishes four LED headlights on the SNT2400 and Greenworks LED lighting with four settings. This is a pre-dawn tool.
- Charge both packs and confirm they still hold. A pack that sat all summer is the most likely thing to disappoint you in December.
#ad Check the Greenworks 80V 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SN80L620 price on Amazon — how we're funded.
The eleven months off
Storage is most of the maintenance story for this tool, simply because that is where it spends its life.
| Item | What to do | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Battery packs | Off the machine, stored indoors at the manual's stated charge level | The most expensive replaceable component by a wide margin |
| Auger and chute | Cleaned and dried before it goes away | Trapped moisture has eleven months to work |
| The machine itself | Somewhere dry, and out of the way | 176.4 lb where it is published; 24 in wide on two of three |
| Skid shoes | Noted where they were set | Saves re-learning your gravel surface next winter |
| Chute rotation | Worked through its range before storing | Stops a seized mechanism appearing in the first snowfall |
We publish no battery storage temperature or charge percentage, because no manufacturer product page we cite states one.
The storage footprint is worth planning for before you buy rather than after. Greenworks is the only manufacturer here that publishes a weight, and 176.4 lb is a permanent occupant of a garage bay. Neither EGO machine publishes one at all.
#ad Check the EGO Power+ 21" Single-Stage Snow Blower SNT2134 price on Amazon — how we're funded.
What we cannot tell you
No manufacturer we cite publishes a service schedule, a skid shoe height, a shear pin specification, a lubrication interval, a battery storage temperature or a charge time for any of these machines. We have deliberately left every one of those blank rather than invent a figure. The tool's own manual is the authority.
What this page gives you is the list of what actually remains once the engine is gone, and the one instruction that comes before all of it: both packs out first, and never clear a chute by hand.
The products discussed
Specs are the manufacturer's own and linked to the page they came from. Prices come from a live daily check; where we have no verified price we say so rather than print a stale one.
EGO Power+ 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SNT2400
EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium · Our score 9.0/10
#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.
Two-stage, 24 inches wide with a 20 inch intake, and the only machine here that runs on the same 56V packs as the rest of the yard kit.
Published specs
| Model | SNT2400 / SNT2405 / SNT2406 |
|---|---|
| Clearing width | 24 in |
| Intake height | 20 in |
| Stages | Two-stage |
| Throw distance | Up to 50 ft |
| Batteries | Peak Power -- any two EGO 56V packs; 2 x 7.5Ah recommended |
| Coverage claim | Up to an 18-car driveway with 8 in of snow on the recommended 2 x 7.5Ah |
| Chute | 200-degree rear chute control |
| Drive | Variable-speed self-propel, forward and reverse |
| Motors | Independent brushless motors for self-propel and auger |
| Lighting | Four LED headlights |
| Warranty | 5-yr tool / 3-yr battery |
Source: EGO POWER+ 24 in. Self-Propelled 2-Stage Snow Blower (SNT2400), egopowerplus.com
56V x 7.5Ah = 420Wh per pack; two packs = 840Wh. Over the published 18-car driveway at 8 in of snow that is about 46.7Wh per car-space. It is a work-per-charge figure rather than a runtime, which is the more useful shape for a job measured in driveways.
What the numbers favor
- Runs on the same 56V ARC Lithium packs as EGO's mower, blower, trimmer and chainsaw -- no new platform
- Peak Power accepts any two 56V packs, so existing batteries go straight in
- 20 in intake height and a 50 ft throw, the largest published figures here
- Independent brushless motors for auger and drive, published separately
- Four LED headlights, published
What they don't
- EGO publishes no weight for this machine at all
- The 18-car coverage claim is tied to the recommended 7.5Ah packs; smaller packs will do less and EGO does not say how much less
- No published ingress rating on this model, where EGO publishes IPX4 on its single-stage
your driveway is short and flat and the snow is usually under a few inches. A two-stage machine is a lot of hardware for a dusting, and the single-stage costs less energy per pass.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
Greenworks 80V 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SN80L620
Greenworks · Greenworks 80V · Our score 8.9/10
#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.
The only snow blower here that publishes a weight, an impeller size and an impeller speed -- and the only one with a four-year battery warranty.
Published specs
| Model / SKU | SN80L620 / 2609102 |
|---|---|
| Clearing width | 24 in |
| Clearing depth | 20 in |
| Stages | Two-stage |
| Throw distance | 50 ft |
| Chute rotation | 200 degrees |
| Batteries included | 2 x 80V 5.0Ah, dual-port rapid charger |
| Coverage claim | Up to a 16-car driveway per charge |
| Impeller | 12 in at 1,800 RPM |
| Weight | 176.4 lb |
| Wheels | 15 in rear, AT 15 x 5-7 |
| Drive | Self-propelled with power steering, zero-turn hub motor |
| Warranty | 4-yr tool / 4-yr battery |
Source: Greenworks 80V 24" Cordless Battery Two-Stage Snow Blower (SN80L620), greenworkstools.com
80V x 5.0Ah = 400Wh per pack; two packs = 800Wh. Over the published 16-car driveway that is 50Wh per car-space. Greenworks does not state a snow depth for its claim where EGO states 8 inches, so this figure is not strictly like-for-like -- we publish it because it lands within 7% of both EGO machines, which is the interesting part.
What the numbers favor
- 176.4 lb published -- the only snow blower weight in our registry
- Publishes a 12 in impeller at 1,800 RPM; nobody else publishes an impeller spec at all
- 4-year warranty on tool AND battery, the longest battery term here
- Power steering with a zero-turn hub motor, published
- 15 in rear wheels with a stated tire size
What they don't
- Greenworks does not state a snow depth for its 16-car driveway claim, where EGO states 8 inches
- 80V is a separate Greenworks platform from its own 40V and 60V lines -- check what you already own
- 176.4 lb is a lot of machine to move on a flat or store in a small garage
you are on EGO 56V or Greenworks 40V or 60V already. This runs on Greenworks 80V and nothing else, and a snow blower is an expensive way to start a fourth platform.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
EGO Power+ 21" Single-Stage Snow Blower SNT2134
EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium · Our score 8.5/10
#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.
A 21 inch single-stage on a steel auger that publishes both an IPX4 rating and a driveway coverage claim -- and takes the packs you already own.
Published specs
| Model | SNT2134 |
|---|---|
| Clearing width | 21 in |
| Clearing height | 13 in |
| Stages | Single-stage |
| Throw distance | Up to 45 ft |
| Batteries included | 2 x 56V 6.0Ah |
| Coverage claim | Up to a 14-car driveway with 8 in of snow on a single charge |
| Auger | Steel |
| Chute | 200-degree directional control |
| Weather rating | IPX4 |
| Warranty | 5-yr tool / 3-yr battery |
Source: EGO POWER+ 21" Single-Stage Snow Blower with Peak Power (SNT2134), egopowerplus.com
56V x 6.0Ah = 336Wh per pack; two packs = 672Wh. Over the published 14-car driveway at 8 in of snow that is about 48Wh per car-space -- within a few watt-hours of the two-stage EGO and the Greenworks, which is a useful cross-check on all three claims.
What the numbers favor
- Publishes an IPX4 weather rating, which the two-stage EGO does not
- Steel auger, published, rather than an unstated material
- 45 ft throw and a 200-degree chute on a single-stage machine
- Ships with two 6.0Ah packs that also run every other EGO 56V tool
What they don't
- 13 in clearing height against 20 in on the two-stage machines -- this is the spec that decides deep snow
- Single-stage augers contact the ground, so this is not a gravel-driveway machine
- EGO publishes no weight
you get deep or drifted snow, or your driveway is gravel. A 13 in clearing height and a ground-contact auger are both hard limits.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
Where to buy the tools on this page
Every link below is an Amazon affiliate link. We show no price we have not verified today, so where there is no live figure the link says "check price" and takes you to the listing to read it there.
Best overall
EGO Power+ 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SNT2400
EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium
Best published spec sheet
Greenworks 80V 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SN80L620
Greenworks · Greenworks 80V
Best single-stage
EGO Power+ 21" Single-Stage Snow Blower SNT2134
EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium
#ad As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.
Common questions
What maintenance does a cordless snow blower need?
How do I clear a clogged snow blower chute safely?
Should I take the batteries out for the off-season?
Do I need to do anything to the auger?
What about the skid shoes?
Is a cordless snow blower easier to maintain than a gas one?
Sources
Read next
- Yard Tools
The tools you buy third and fourth. This is where a platform choice pays off or bites.
- Best cordless snow blower
Clearing width, intake height and driveway coverage, converted to watt-hours per car-space.
- Cordless or gas snow blower?
Cordless deletes the fuel schedule and starts instantly. What it does not publish is the catch.
- Yard tool safety, from the published guidance
CDC, CPSC and extension guidance for saws, washers and mowers, in one place.
- The winter yard tool handover, in order
Summer kit away, winter kit ready, and the last lawn jobs on their published timings.
- Best cordless snow blower for a gravel driveway
Gravel rules out single-stage machines outright. The two-stage options and the reason why.