Yard Tools
Cordless or gas snow blower?
The cordless case is stronger here than in any other yard category, and the one place it is weakest is the place nobody publishes a number.
Affiliate disclosure: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we rank first — here is how we're funded.

We have not tested these units. Every spec on this page comes from the manufacturer's own documentation and is linked to it. Every computed figure is arithmetic you can redo. Prices are checked daily — last verified January 1, 1970. Here is exactly how we pick.
Of every category on this site, snow blowers make the strongest case for going cordless — and it has almost nothing to do with performance. It is about what this particular machine is asked to do: sit untouched for eleven months, then work perfectly on the coldest morning of the year.
The short answer
The argument that decides it for most people
A snow blower has the worst duty cycle of any tool in the garage. It is used a handful of times a year, always urgently, always in conditions hostile to a small engine, after the better part of a year sitting still.
Every gas snow blower maintenance job exists to manage that: fuel stabilizer so the the fuel does not degrade, draining so the carburetor does not gum, an oil change, a spark plug, an air filter, and a pull cord to be hauled in the cold. A battery machine removes the whole list.
| Job | Gas | Cordless |
|---|---|---|
| Fuel stabilizer and off-season draining | Required | None |
| Oil change | Required | None |
| Spark plug | Required | None |
| Air filter | Required | None |
| Carburetor cleaning after storage | Common | None |
| Starting in the cold | Pull cord or electric start | Button |
| Auger and chute clearing | Required | Required |
| Skid shoe adjustment | Required | Required |
| Battery storage | n/a | Required |
The cordless column reflects what the manufacturers publish for the machines in our registry. The full routine is in snow blower maintenance.
On published specs, the classes match
This is the part that surprises people. The clearing geometry on a cordless two-stage machine is not a compromised version of a gas one — the published figures are the figures you would expect from the class.
| Spec | EGO SNT2400 | Greenworks SN80L620 | EGO SNT2134 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Clearing width | 24 in | 24 in | 21 in |
| Intake height | 20 in | 20 in | 13 in |
| Throw distance | Up to 50 ft | 50 ft | Up to 45 ft |
| Chute rotation | 200 degrees | 200 degrees | 200 degrees |
| Self-propel | Variable speed, fwd and reverse | Power steering, zero-turn hub motor | Not published |
| Warranty | 5-yr tool / 3-yr battery | 4-yr tool / 4-yr battery | 5-yr tool / 3-yr battery |
From the manufacturers' own product pages, fetched 9 September 2026. We hold no cited spec sheet for any gas snow blower and therefore rank none.
#ad Check the EGO Power+ 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SNT2400 price on Amazon — how we're funded.
Where cordless is genuinely weaker
Two things, and the second is the one that should decide a purchase.
Energy is finite and the ceiling is published
Fourteen, sixteen and eighteen car-spaces. A gas machine refuels in a minute from a can; a cordless machine either finishes inside its coverage or needs a second pair of packs. The arithmetic for sizing that is in the snow blower runtime guide.
Nobody publishes what cold does to the batteries
This is the real gap. Across 28 products and eight brands, not one manufacturer in our registry publishes a cold-weather derating figure for any battery — and this is the one tool guaranteed to be used below freezing. Every coverage claim on this page is a warm-condition figure.
We give no percentage because none is published. The honest instruction is to budget below the claim and to keep the packs indoors until you need them.
#ad Check the Greenworks 80V 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SN80L620 price on Amazon — how we're funded.
Two things neither side publishes
- Noise. Not one snow blower in our registry publishes a decibel rating. A battery machine is very likely quieter — there is no combustion engine — but we cannot put a number on it, and a 6am snow clear is exactly when that number would be useful.
- Weight. Only Greenworks publishes one, at 176.4 lb. Neither EGO machine publishes a weight at all, so we cannot tell you whether cordless is lighter than the gas equivalent.
Who should pick which
| If this is true | Lean toward | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Suburban driveway inside 15 car-spaces | Cordless | Comfortably inside every published coverage claim |
| You already own EGO 56V or Greenworks 80V | Cordless | A large share of the purchase is already in the garage |
| The machine sits unused most of the year | Cordless | This is the entire maintenance argument |
| Long rural drive and no spare packs | Gas, or buy the spare packs | Published coverage is a real ceiling |
| You clear for other people as well | Gas, or multiple pack sets | Sequential driveways multiply the energy need |
| Very cold climate | Weigh it carefully | Nobody publishes a cold derating, so nobody can size this honestly |
#ad Check the EGO Power+ 21" Single-Stage Snow Blower SNT2134 price on Amazon — how we're funded.
What we cannot tell you
We hold no spec sheet for any gas snow blower and have not used a machine of either kind. We cannot compare purchase prices, because we print none. We cannot compare noise, weight or cold-weather performance, because nobody publishes those figures for the cordless machines and we have no gas figures at all.
What is documented is the maintenance list that disappears, the clearing specs that do not compromise, and the coverage ceiling that is real. That is enough to decide with on most driveways.
The products discussed
Specs are the manufacturer's own and linked to the page they came from. Prices come from a live daily check; where we have no verified price we say so rather than print a stale one.
EGO Power+ 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SNT2400
EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium · Our score 9.0/10
#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.
Two-stage, 24 inches wide with a 20 inch intake, and the only machine here that runs on the same 56V packs as the rest of the yard kit.
Published specs
| Model | SNT2400 / SNT2405 / SNT2406 |
|---|---|
| Clearing width | 24 in |
| Intake height | 20 in |
| Stages | Two-stage |
| Throw distance | Up to 50 ft |
| Batteries | Peak Power -- any two EGO 56V packs; 2 x 7.5Ah recommended |
| Coverage claim | Up to an 18-car driveway with 8 in of snow on the recommended 2 x 7.5Ah |
| Chute | 200-degree rear chute control |
| Drive | Variable-speed self-propel, forward and reverse |
| Motors | Independent brushless motors for self-propel and auger |
| Lighting | Four LED headlights |
| Warranty | 5-yr tool / 3-yr battery |
Source: EGO POWER+ 24 in. Self-Propelled 2-Stage Snow Blower (SNT2400), egopowerplus.com
56V x 7.5Ah = 420Wh per pack; two packs = 840Wh. Over the published 18-car driveway at 8 in of snow that is about 46.7Wh per car-space. It is a work-per-charge figure rather than a runtime, which is the more useful shape for a job measured in driveways.
What the numbers favor
- Runs on the same 56V ARC Lithium packs as EGO's mower, blower, trimmer and chainsaw -- no new platform
- Peak Power accepts any two 56V packs, so existing batteries go straight in
- 20 in intake height and a 50 ft throw, the largest published figures here
- Independent brushless motors for auger and drive, published separately
- Four LED headlights, published
What they don't
- EGO publishes no weight for this machine at all
- The 18-car coverage claim is tied to the recommended 7.5Ah packs; smaller packs will do less and EGO does not say how much less
- No published ingress rating on this model, where EGO publishes IPX4 on its single-stage
your driveway is short and flat and the snow is usually under a few inches. A two-stage machine is a lot of hardware for a dusting, and the single-stage costs less energy per pass.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
Greenworks 80V 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SN80L620
Greenworks · Greenworks 80V · Our score 8.9/10
#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.
The only snow blower here that publishes a weight, an impeller size and an impeller speed -- and the only one with a four-year battery warranty.
Published specs
| Model / SKU | SN80L620 / 2609102 |
|---|---|
| Clearing width | 24 in |
| Clearing depth | 20 in |
| Stages | Two-stage |
| Throw distance | 50 ft |
| Chute rotation | 200 degrees |
| Batteries included | 2 x 80V 5.0Ah, dual-port rapid charger |
| Coverage claim | Up to a 16-car driveway per charge |
| Impeller | 12 in at 1,800 RPM |
| Weight | 176.4 lb |
| Wheels | 15 in rear, AT 15 x 5-7 |
| Drive | Self-propelled with power steering, zero-turn hub motor |
| Warranty | 4-yr tool / 4-yr battery |
Source: Greenworks 80V 24" Cordless Battery Two-Stage Snow Blower (SN80L620), greenworkstools.com
80V x 5.0Ah = 400Wh per pack; two packs = 800Wh. Over the published 16-car driveway that is 50Wh per car-space. Greenworks does not state a snow depth for its claim where EGO states 8 inches, so this figure is not strictly like-for-like -- we publish it because it lands within 7% of both EGO machines, which is the interesting part.
What the numbers favor
- 176.4 lb published -- the only snow blower weight in our registry
- Publishes a 12 in impeller at 1,800 RPM; nobody else publishes an impeller spec at all
- 4-year warranty on tool AND battery, the longest battery term here
- Power steering with a zero-turn hub motor, published
- 15 in rear wheels with a stated tire size
What they don't
- Greenworks does not state a snow depth for its 16-car driveway claim, where EGO states 8 inches
- 80V is a separate Greenworks platform from its own 40V and 60V lines -- check what you already own
- 176.4 lb is a lot of machine to move on a flat or store in a small garage
you are on EGO 56V or Greenworks 40V or 60V already. This runs on Greenworks 80V and nothing else, and a snow blower is an expensive way to start a fourth platform.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
EGO Power+ 21" Single-Stage Snow Blower SNT2134
EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium · Our score 8.5/10
#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.
A 21 inch single-stage on a steel auger that publishes both an IPX4 rating and a driveway coverage claim -- and takes the packs you already own.
Published specs
| Model | SNT2134 |
|---|---|
| Clearing width | 21 in |
| Clearing height | 13 in |
| Stages | Single-stage |
| Throw distance | Up to 45 ft |
| Batteries included | 2 x 56V 6.0Ah |
| Coverage claim | Up to a 14-car driveway with 8 in of snow on a single charge |
| Auger | Steel |
| Chute | 200-degree directional control |
| Weather rating | IPX4 |
| Warranty | 5-yr tool / 3-yr battery |
Source: EGO POWER+ 21" Single-Stage Snow Blower with Peak Power (SNT2134), egopowerplus.com
56V x 6.0Ah = 336Wh per pack; two packs = 672Wh. Over the published 14-car driveway at 8 in of snow that is about 48Wh per car-space -- within a few watt-hours of the two-stage EGO and the Greenworks, which is a useful cross-check on all three claims.
What the numbers favor
- Publishes an IPX4 weather rating, which the two-stage EGO does not
- Steel auger, published, rather than an unstated material
- 45 ft throw and a 200-degree chute on a single-stage machine
- Ships with two 6.0Ah packs that also run every other EGO 56V tool
What they don't
- 13 in clearing height against 20 in on the two-stage machines -- this is the spec that decides deep snow
- Single-stage augers contact the ground, so this is not a gravel-driveway machine
- EGO publishes no weight
you get deep or drifted snow, or your driveway is gravel. A 13 in clearing height and a ground-contact auger are both hard limits.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
Where to buy the tools on this page
Every link below is an Amazon affiliate link. We show no price we have not verified today, so where there is no live figure the link says "check price" and takes you to the listing to read it there.
Best overall
EGO Power+ 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SNT2400
EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium
Best published spec sheet
Greenworks 80V 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SN80L620
Greenworks · Greenworks 80V
Best single-stage
EGO Power+ 21" Single-Stage Snow Blower SNT2134
EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium
#ad As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.
Common questions
Are cordless snow blowers powerful enough?
What is the biggest advantage of a cordless snow blower?
What is the biggest weakness?
Can a cordless snow blower handle a long driveway?
Is a cordless snow blower cheaper to run?
Which is quieter?
Sources
Read next
- Yard Tools
The tools you buy third and fourth. This is where a platform choice pays off or bites.
- Best cordless snow blower
Clearing width, intake height and driveway coverage, converted to watt-hours per car-space.
- Cordless snow blower maintenance
Auger, chute, skid shoes and storage -- what a gas schedule leaves behind.
- How long will a cordless snow blower actually run?
No runtimes published anywhere. Coverage claims converted to about 50Wh per car-space.
- Corded or cordless: where a cord still wins
Duty cycle decides it. The two jobs where a cable still beats a pack, on published numbers.
- Which battery platform should you pick if you need a snow blower?
Two platforms make a snow blower. Only one shares its packs with the summer kit.