Guides
Best gifts for someone who clears their own snow
The person shovelling at 6am does not want a nicer shovel. The question is only how wide and how deep.
Affiliate disclosure: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we rank first — here is how we're funded.

We have not tested these units. Every spec on this page comes from the manufacturer's own documentation and is linked to it. Every computed figure is arithmetic you can redo. Prices are checked daily — last verified October 11, 2026. Here is exactly how we pick.
Quick picks
Ranked on the published specs and the arithmetic below. Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these units -- here is exactly how we pick.
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Snow Joe 24V-SS13 IONMAX 13" Cordless Snow Shovel Thirteen pounds and a 400W motor that throws 20 ft, for the paths a snow blower cannot reach. | Best for steps and decks | 8.0 | |
| 2 | ![]() Greenworks 80V 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SN80L620 The only snow blower here that publishes a weight, an impeller size and an impeller speed -- and the only one with a four-year battery warranty. | Best published spec sheet | 8.9 | |
| 3 | ![]() EGO Power+ 21" Single-Stage Snow Blower SNT2134 A 21 inch single-stage on a steel auger that publishes both an IPX4 rating and a driveway coverage claim -- and takes the packs you already own. | Best single-stage | 8.5 | |
| 4 | ![]() EGO Power+ 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SNT2400 Two-stage, 24 inches wide with a 20 inch intake, and the only machine here that runs on the same 56V packs as the rest of the yard kit. | Best overall | 9.0 |
#ad Buy links are affiliate links. Prices come from a live daily check; where we have no verified price we say "check price" rather than print a stale one.
Snow gear is the one category where buying early is most of the value: it sells out regionally in the week of the first real storm, and the person you are buying for will not thank you for a machine in February. The choice itself is unusually simple, because two published numbers — clearing width and intake depth — settle almost all of it.
The short answer
Who each pick is for, and who should skip it
| Pick | Published clearing width | Buy it for | Skip it if |
|---|---|---|---|
| Snow Joe 24V-SS13 cordless shovel | 13 in wide, 6 in intake depth, about 14 lb | Steps, paths, decks, a short city drive, or someone who should not push a heavy machine. | They have a two-car driveway. This is not a driveway tool and we will not pretend it is. |
| EGO SNT2134 single-stage | 21 in wide | A paved drive that rarely sees more than about 8 inches at a time. | Gravel drive, or snow that regularly comes deeper than the intake. |
| EGO SNT2400 two-stage | 24 in wide | A two-car drive, deeper snow, and someone already on EGO 56V packs. | They own a different battery platform. Packs do not cross brands. |
| Greenworks SN80L620 two-stage | 24 in wide | The same job on the Greenworks 80V platform, or as the lower-cost two-stage. | They are on EGO or Ryobi. Same reasoning in reverse. |
Clearing widths, intake depth and weight transcribed from each maker's own published page, all four cited below. The driveway recommendations are our reading of those figures against the pass arithmetic below, not a manufacturer claim.
Width decides the time; depth decides whether it works at all
These are the two figures to buy on, and they do different jobs. Width sets how many passes the driveway takes. Depth sets whether the machine can eat what is actually on the ground — and a machine that cannot is not slow, it is useless.
1. Snow Joe 24V-SS13 — the one that fits most people
Snow Joe publishes a 13 inch clearing width, a 6 inch intake depth, a throw distance of up to 20 feet, a 24V 4.0Ah pack, a scraper bar and about 14 lb of machine.
Who it is for: the jobs that actually make people hate winter. Steps, the path to the bins, clearing round a car. At 14 lb it is also the only pick here that someone who should not be pushing a heavy machine can use, which makes it the right gift far more often than its price suggests.
Who should skip it: anyone with a two-car driveway, on the pass arithmetic above. The powered-shovel class is ranked properly in best electric snow shovels, and the honest comparison against a blower is snow shovel vs snow blower.
#ad Check the Snow Joe 24V-SS13 IONMAX 13" Cordless Snow Shovel price on Amazon — how we're funded.
2. Greenworks SN80L620 — the two-stage that costs least
Greenworks publishes a 24 inch clearing width, a two-stage auger and impeller system, an 80V platform, a steel auger housing and LED lighting on the SN80L620.
Who it is for: a two-car driveway on the Greenworks 80V platform, or anyone who wants a 24 inch two-stage without the EGO price. Two stages matter on gravel and in deep snow: the auger feeds and the impeller throws, which is what lets a machine clear more than its intake depth without choking.
Who should skip it: anyone on EGO or Ryobi packs. The three-way is in best cordless snow blowers, and the gravel case specifically is in snow blowers for gravel driveways.
#ad Check the Greenworks 80V 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SN80L620 price on Amazon — how we're funded.
3. EGO SNT2134 — the single-stage middle
EGO publishes a 21 inch clearing width on the SNT2134 single-stage, with a steel auger, a variable-speed chute and the 56V ARC Lithium platform.
Who it is for: a paved drive in a place that gets snow but not often deep snow, and someone already holding EGO 56V packs — which turns a pack they own into a machine they do not.
Who should skip it: anyone with a gravel drive. A single-stage auger contacts the ground by design and gravel is what it will throw. The distinction is set out in single-stage vs two-stage.
#ad Check the EGO Power+ 21" Single-Stage Snow Blower SNT2134 price on Amazon — how we're funded.
4. EGO SNT2400 — the one for a serious winter
EGO publishes a 24 inch clearing width on the SNT2400 two-stage, with steel augers, a powered chute and the same 56V platform as its handhelds.
Who it is for: a wide drive, a snowy region, and an EGO owner. It is the most expensive pick here and the one with the widest published intake, which on the pass arithmetic is the shortest morning.
Who should skip it: anyone whose drive is short enough that the shovel covers it, and anyone who stores tools in a small garage — a 24 inch two-stage is a large object for eight months of the year. Runtime planning is in the snow blower runtime guide, and the buying frame is the snow blower buying guide.
#ad Check the EGO Power+ 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SNT2400 price on Amazon — how we're funded.
What we cannot tell you
We have not cleared snow with any of these four. Every width, depth and throw figure is the maker's own published claim under conditions none of them describes — and snow varies more than almost any other material a yard tool handles, so a throw distance in dry powder and in wet slush are different numbers that get published as one. None of the four publishes a runtime in driveways cleared, which is the figure a buyer actually wants. Greenworks and EGO publish no empty weight for the two-stage machines, so we cannot tell you what either is like to maneuver or to get up a step into a garage. And the deciding facts are things only you can check: how wide their drive is, whether it is paved or gravel, and which battery platform is already in their shed.
The picks in full
Specs are the manufacturer's own and linked to the page they came from. Prices come from a live daily check; where we have no verified price we say so rather than print a stale one.
Snow Joe 24V-SS13 IONMAX 13" Cordless Snow Shovel
Snow Joe · Snow Joe 24V · Our score 8.0/10

#ad Price as of October 11, 2026. Prices change; we check daily. How we're funded.
Thirteen pounds and a 400W motor that throws 20 ft, for the paths a snow blower cannot reach.
Published specs
| Clearing width | 13 in |
|---|---|
| Cut depth | 6 in per pass |
| Throw distance | Up to 20 ft |
| Clearing rate | Up to 300 lb of snow per minute |
| Auger | 2-blade paddle |
| Motor | 400 W |
| Battery | 24V 4.0Ah (96Wh) |
| Weight | 13 lb |
| Warranty | 2 years |
Source: Snow Joe 24V-SS13 24-Volt IONMAX Cordless Snow Shovel Kit, shopjoe.com
24V x 4.0Ah = 96 watt-hours of stored energy. A 400 W motor drawing its full rating empties that in 96 / 400 = 0.24 hours, or about 14 minutes. Real clearing is intermittent and lighter than full load, so treat 14 minutes as the floor rather than the expectation -- Snow Joe publishes no runtime at all, which is why the arithmetic is worth doing.
What the numbers favor
- 13 lb, light enough to carry down a flight of steps
- Publishes a clearing rate in pounds per minute, which almost nobody does
- 20 ft throw from a shovel-format tool
- 6 in cut depth handles an ordinary overnight fall
What they don't
- 96Wh is a small tank -- roughly 14 minutes at full draw
- No published runtime
- 13 in wide means a two-car driveway is a long job
you are clearing a driveway rather than a path. This is a shovel replacement, and a 13 in bite proves it.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
Greenworks 80V 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SN80L620
Greenworks · Greenworks 80V · Our score 8.9/10

#ad Price as of October 11, 2026. Prices change; we check daily. How we're funded.
The only snow blower here that publishes a weight, an impeller size and an impeller speed -- and the only one with a four-year battery warranty.
Published specs
| Model / SKU | SN80L620 / 2609102 |
|---|---|
| Clearing width | 24 in |
| Clearing depth | 20 in |
| Stages | Two-stage |
| Throw distance | 50 ft |
| Chute rotation | 200 degrees |
| Batteries included | 2 x 80V 5.0Ah, dual-port rapid charger |
| Coverage claim | Up to a 16-car driveway per charge |
| Impeller | 12 in at 1,800 RPM |
| Weight | 176.4 lb |
| Wheels | 15 in rear, AT 15 x 5-7 |
| Drive | Self-propelled with power steering, zero-turn hub motor |
| Warranty | 4-yr tool / 4-yr battery |
Source: Greenworks 80V 24" Cordless Battery Two-Stage Snow Blower (SN80L620), greenworkstools.com
80V x 5.0Ah = 400Wh per pack; two packs = 800Wh. Over the published 16-car driveway that is 50Wh per car-space. Greenworks does not state a snow depth for its claim where EGO states 8 inches, so this figure is not strictly like-for-like -- we publish it because it lands within 7% of both EGO machines, which is the interesting part.
What the numbers favor
- 176.4 lb published -- the only snow blower weight in our registry
- Publishes a 12 in impeller at 1,800 RPM; nobody else publishes an impeller spec at all
- 4-year warranty on tool AND battery, the longest battery term here
- Power steering with a zero-turn hub motor, published
- 15 in rear wheels with a stated tire size
What they don't
- Greenworks does not state a snow depth for its 16-car driveway claim, where EGO states 8 inches
- 80V is a separate Greenworks platform from its own 40V and 60V lines -- check what you already own
- 176.4 lb is a lot of machine to move on a flat or store in a small garage
you are on EGO 56V or Greenworks 40V or 60V already. This runs on Greenworks 80V and nothing else, and a snow blower is an expensive way to start a fourth platform.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
EGO Power+ 21" Single-Stage Snow Blower SNT2134
EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium · Our score 8.5/10

#ad Price as of October 11, 2026. Prices change; we check daily. How we're funded.
A 21 inch single-stage on a steel auger that publishes both an IPX4 rating and a driveway coverage claim -- and takes the packs you already own.
Published specs
| Model | SNT2134 |
|---|---|
| Clearing width | 21 in |
| Clearing height | 13 in |
| Stages | Single-stage |
| Throw distance | Up to 45 ft |
| Batteries included | 2 x 56V 6.0Ah |
| Coverage claim | Up to a 14-car driveway with 8 in of snow on a single charge |
| Auger | Steel |
| Chute | 200-degree directional control |
| Weather rating | IPX4 |
| Warranty | 5-yr tool / 3-yr battery |
Source: EGO POWER+ 21" Single-Stage Snow Blower with Peak Power (SNT2134), egopowerplus.com
56V x 6.0Ah = 336Wh per pack; two packs = 672Wh. Over the published 14-car driveway at 8 in of snow that is about 48Wh per car-space -- within a few watt-hours of the two-stage EGO and the Greenworks, which is a useful cross-check on all three claims.
What the numbers favor
- Publishes an IPX4 weather rating, which the two-stage EGO does not
- Steel auger, published, rather than an unstated material
- 45 ft throw and a 200-degree chute on a single-stage machine
- Ships with two 6.0Ah packs that also run every other EGO 56V tool
What they don't
- 13 in clearing height against 20 in on the two-stage machines -- this is the spec that decides deep snow
- Single-stage augers contact the ground, so this is not a gravel-driveway machine
- EGO publishes no weight
you get deep or drifted snow, or your driveway is gravel. A 13 in clearing height and a ground-contact auger are both hard limits.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
EGO Power+ 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SNT2400
EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium · Our score 9.0/10

#ad Price as of October 11, 2026. Prices change; we check daily. How we're funded.
Two-stage, 24 inches wide with a 20 inch intake, and the only machine here that runs on the same 56V packs as the rest of the yard kit.
Published specs
| Model | SNT2400 / SNT2405 / SNT2406 |
|---|---|
| Clearing width | 24 in |
| Intake height | 20 in |
| Stages | Two-stage |
| Throw distance | Up to 50 ft |
| Batteries | Peak Power -- any two EGO 56V packs; 2 x 7.5Ah recommended |
| Coverage claim | Up to an 18-car driveway with 8 in of snow on the recommended 2 x 7.5Ah |
| Chute | 200-degree rear chute control |
| Drive | Variable-speed self-propel, forward and reverse |
| Motors | Independent brushless motors for self-propel and auger |
| Lighting | Four LED headlights |
| Warranty | 5-yr tool / 3-yr battery |
Source: EGO POWER+ 24 in. Self-Propelled 2-Stage Snow Blower (SNT2400), egopowerplus.com
56V x 7.5Ah = 420Wh per pack; two packs = 840Wh. Over the published 18-car driveway at 8 in of snow that is about 46.7Wh per car-space. It is a work-per-charge figure rather than a runtime, which is the more useful shape for a job measured in driveways.
What the numbers favor
- Runs on the same 56V ARC Lithium packs as EGO's mower, blower, trimmer and chainsaw -- no new platform
- Peak Power accepts any two 56V packs, so existing batteries go straight in
- 20 in intake height and a 50 ft throw, the largest published figures here
- Independent brushless motors for auger and drive, published separately
- Four LED headlights, published
What they don't
- EGO publishes no weight for this machine at all
- The 18-car coverage claim is tied to the recommended 7.5Ah packs; smaller packs will do less and EGO does not say how much less
- No published ingress rating on this model, where EGO publishes IPX4 on its single-stage
your driveway is short and flat and the snow is usually under a few inches. A two-stage machine is a lot of hardware for a dusting, and the single-stage costs less energy per pass.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
Where to buy the tools on this page
Every link below is an Amazon affiliate link. We show no price we have not verified today, so where there is no live figure the link says "check price" and takes you to the listing to read it there.
Best for steps and decks
Snow Joe 24V-SS13 IONMAX 13" Cordless Snow Shovel
Snow Joe · Snow Joe 24V
Best published spec sheet
Greenworks 80V 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SN80L620
Greenworks · Greenworks 80V
Best single-stage
EGO Power+ 21" Single-Stage Snow Blower SNT2134
EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium
Best overall
EGO Power+ 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SNT2400
EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium
#ad As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.
Common questions
What is the best gift for someone who shovels their own snow?
Single-stage or two-stage as a gift?
Is a cordless snow blower powerful enough?
When should you buy a snow blower?
What is the cheapest useful snow gift?
Sources
Read next
- Guides
The questions that come before the shopping. Answered in the first paragraph, then explained.
- Best cordless snow blower
Clearing width, intake height and driveway coverage, converted to watt-hours per car-space.
- Best electric snow shovel
Clearing width, depth, throw and weight for two cordless shovels, and what the replacement model stopped publishing.
- Electric snow shovel vs snow blower
Clearing width, clearing depth and throw distance for cordless snow shovels against a single-stage blower.
- Single-stage or two-stage snow blower?
13 in of intake against 20, and a ground-contact auger against one that clears it.
- How to choose a cordless snow blower
Intake height, clearing width, throw distance and energy -- and the two specs nobody prints.
- Which battery platform should you pick if you need a snow blower?
Two platforms make a snow blower. Only one shares its packs with the summer kit.