Yard Tools
Single-stage or two-stage snow blower?
Two published numbers separate these classes, and the second one quietly rules out an entire type of driveway.
Affiliate disclosure: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we rank first — here is how we're funded.

We have not tested these units. Every spec on this page comes from the manufacturer's own documentation and is linked to it. Every computed figure is arithmetic you can redo. Prices are checked daily — last verified January 1, 1970. Here is exactly how we pick.
The names describe the mechanism and hide the consequence. What actually separates these two classes is a seven-inch difference in what they can swallow, and one structural fact about the auger that eliminates an entire kind of driveway.
The short answer
The mechanism, and why it matters twice
| Single-stage | Two-stage | |
|---|---|---|
| Auger job | Gathers and throws | Gathers only |
| Second stage | None | Impeller throws the snow |
| Auger and the ground | Contacts it | Held clear of it |
| Clearing height published | 13 in (EGO SNT2134) | 20 in (EGO SNT2400, Greenworks SN80L620) |
| Throw distance published | Up to 45 ft | Up to 50 ft |
| Gravel and loose surfaces | No -- it will throw the surface | Yes |
| Self-propulsion | Not published on the SNT2134 | Published on both two-stage machines |
| Impeller spec | n/a | 12 in at 1,800 RPM (Greenworks only) |
From the manufacturers' own product pages, fetched 9 September 2026. The auger-contact row is what a single stage means mechanically, not a manufacturer claim.
The ground contact is doing two things at once on a single-stage. It scrapes the surface clean, which is why single-stage machines leave a tidier paved driveway. And it helps pull the machine forward, which is why a single-stage often needs no drive motor — EGO publishes none for the SNT2134.
The seven inches that decide most purchases
This is why the honest question is not "how much snow do you get" but "how much snow do you get at once, and does a plow come past". A region that averages modest snowfall but leaves a compacted ridge across the driveway apron is a two-stage region.
#ad Check the EGO Power+ 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SNT2400 price on Amazon — how we're funded.
Where a single-stage is the better buy
- Paved driveway, no gravel anywhere on the route. The ground-contact auger scrapes cleaner than a two-stage will.
- Snowfalls that stay under about a foot. Inside the published 13 inch clearing height, the single-stage does the job in one pass.
- Storage matters. The one two-stage weight we have is 176.4 lb, and these machines are wide.
- You want the published weather rating. The SNT2134 is the only snow blower in our registry publishing IPX4.
#ad Check the EGO Power+ 21" Single-Stage Snow Blower SNT2134 price on Amazon — how we're funded.
Where a two-stage earns it
- Gravel, or a drive that crosses gravel. Not a preference, a requirement.
- Deep or drifted snow. 20 inches of intake against 13.
- A plow ridge. Compacted snow is where the separate impeller earns its existence.
- A long or wide driveway. 24 inches of clearing width and published self-propulsion, which the single-stage does not have.
- Slope. Self-propel matters when you are pushing a heavy machine uphill on a surface designed to be slippery.
#ad Check the Greenworks 80V 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SN80L620 price on Amazon — how we're funded.
Does one use less energy?
Surprisingly little, on the published claims — which is itself worth knowing, because it removes running cost from the decision.
What we cannot tell you
We have run neither class. EGO publishes no weight for either of its machines, so we cannot tell you how much lighter a single-stage actually is. Nobody publishes a maximum snow density, a plow-ridge rating, or how either class behaves in wet heavy snow versus dry powder.
What is published and decisive: 13 inches against 20, a ground-contact auger against one held clear, and self-propulsion on one class and not the other.
The products discussed
Specs are the manufacturer's own and linked to the page they came from. Prices come from a live daily check; where we have no verified price we say so rather than print a stale one.
EGO Power+ 21" Single-Stage Snow Blower SNT2134
EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium · Our score 8.5/10
#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.
A 21 inch single-stage on a steel auger that publishes both an IPX4 rating and a driveway coverage claim -- and takes the packs you already own.
Published specs
| Model | SNT2134 |
|---|---|
| Clearing width | 21 in |
| Clearing height | 13 in |
| Stages | Single-stage |
| Throw distance | Up to 45 ft |
| Batteries included | 2 x 56V 6.0Ah |
| Coverage claim | Up to a 14-car driveway with 8 in of snow on a single charge |
| Auger | Steel |
| Chute | 200-degree directional control |
| Weather rating | IPX4 |
| Warranty | 5-yr tool / 3-yr battery |
Source: EGO POWER+ 21" Single-Stage Snow Blower with Peak Power (SNT2134), egopowerplus.com
56V x 6.0Ah = 336Wh per pack; two packs = 672Wh. Over the published 14-car driveway at 8 in of snow that is about 48Wh per car-space -- within a few watt-hours of the two-stage EGO and the Greenworks, which is a useful cross-check on all three claims.
What the numbers favor
- Publishes an IPX4 weather rating, which the two-stage EGO does not
- Steel auger, published, rather than an unstated material
- 45 ft throw and a 200-degree chute on a single-stage machine
- Ships with two 6.0Ah packs that also run every other EGO 56V tool
What they don't
- 13 in clearing height against 20 in on the two-stage machines -- this is the spec that decides deep snow
- Single-stage augers contact the ground, so this is not a gravel-driveway machine
- EGO publishes no weight
you get deep or drifted snow, or your driveway is gravel. A 13 in clearing height and a ground-contact auger are both hard limits.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
EGO Power+ 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SNT2400
EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium · Our score 9.0/10
#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.
Two-stage, 24 inches wide with a 20 inch intake, and the only machine here that runs on the same 56V packs as the rest of the yard kit.
Published specs
| Model | SNT2400 / SNT2405 / SNT2406 |
|---|---|
| Clearing width | 24 in |
| Intake height | 20 in |
| Stages | Two-stage |
| Throw distance | Up to 50 ft |
| Batteries | Peak Power -- any two EGO 56V packs; 2 x 7.5Ah recommended |
| Coverage claim | Up to an 18-car driveway with 8 in of snow on the recommended 2 x 7.5Ah |
| Chute | 200-degree rear chute control |
| Drive | Variable-speed self-propel, forward and reverse |
| Motors | Independent brushless motors for self-propel and auger |
| Lighting | Four LED headlights |
| Warranty | 5-yr tool / 3-yr battery |
Source: EGO POWER+ 24 in. Self-Propelled 2-Stage Snow Blower (SNT2400), egopowerplus.com
56V x 7.5Ah = 420Wh per pack; two packs = 840Wh. Over the published 18-car driveway at 8 in of snow that is about 46.7Wh per car-space. It is a work-per-charge figure rather than a runtime, which is the more useful shape for a job measured in driveways.
What the numbers favor
- Runs on the same 56V ARC Lithium packs as EGO's mower, blower, trimmer and chainsaw -- no new platform
- Peak Power accepts any two 56V packs, so existing batteries go straight in
- 20 in intake height and a 50 ft throw, the largest published figures here
- Independent brushless motors for auger and drive, published separately
- Four LED headlights, published
What they don't
- EGO publishes no weight for this machine at all
- The 18-car coverage claim is tied to the recommended 7.5Ah packs; smaller packs will do less and EGO does not say how much less
- No published ingress rating on this model, where EGO publishes IPX4 on its single-stage
your driveway is short and flat and the snow is usually under a few inches. A two-stage machine is a lot of hardware for a dusting, and the single-stage costs less energy per pass.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
Greenworks 80V 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SN80L620
Greenworks · Greenworks 80V · Our score 8.9/10
#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.
The only snow blower here that publishes a weight, an impeller size and an impeller speed -- and the only one with a four-year battery warranty.
Published specs
| Model / SKU | SN80L620 / 2609102 |
|---|---|
| Clearing width | 24 in |
| Clearing depth | 20 in |
| Stages | Two-stage |
| Throw distance | 50 ft |
| Chute rotation | 200 degrees |
| Batteries included | 2 x 80V 5.0Ah, dual-port rapid charger |
| Coverage claim | Up to a 16-car driveway per charge |
| Impeller | 12 in at 1,800 RPM |
| Weight | 176.4 lb |
| Wheels | 15 in rear, AT 15 x 5-7 |
| Drive | Self-propelled with power steering, zero-turn hub motor |
| Warranty | 4-yr tool / 4-yr battery |
Source: Greenworks 80V 24" Cordless Battery Two-Stage Snow Blower (SN80L620), greenworkstools.com
80V x 5.0Ah = 400Wh per pack; two packs = 800Wh. Over the published 16-car driveway that is 50Wh per car-space. Greenworks does not state a snow depth for its claim where EGO states 8 inches, so this figure is not strictly like-for-like -- we publish it because it lands within 7% of both EGO machines, which is the interesting part.
What the numbers favor
- 176.4 lb published -- the only snow blower weight in our registry
- Publishes a 12 in impeller at 1,800 RPM; nobody else publishes an impeller spec at all
- 4-year warranty on tool AND battery, the longest battery term here
- Power steering with a zero-turn hub motor, published
- 15 in rear wheels with a stated tire size
What they don't
- Greenworks does not state a snow depth for its 16-car driveway claim, where EGO states 8 inches
- 80V is a separate Greenworks platform from its own 40V and 60V lines -- check what you already own
- 176.4 lb is a lot of machine to move on a flat or store in a small garage
you are on EGO 56V or Greenworks 40V or 60V already. This runs on Greenworks 80V and nothing else, and a snow blower is an expensive way to start a fourth platform.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
Where to buy the tools on this page
Every link below is an Amazon affiliate link. We show no price we have not verified today, so where there is no live figure the link says "check price" and takes you to the listing to read it there.
Best single-stage
EGO Power+ 21" Single-Stage Snow Blower SNT2134
EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium
Best overall
EGO Power+ 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SNT2400
EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium
Best published spec sheet
Greenworks 80V 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SN80L620
Greenworks · Greenworks 80V
#ad As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.
Common questions
What is the difference between single-stage and two-stage snow blowers?
Can a single-stage snow blower be used on gravel?
How deep can a single-stage snow blower handle?
Is a two-stage snow blower worth it?
Which is lighter?
Do both types throw snow the same distance?
Sources
Read next
- Yard Tools
The tools you buy third and fourth. This is where a platform choice pays off or bites.
- Best cordless snow blower
Clearing width, intake height and driveway coverage, converted to watt-hours per car-space.
- How to choose a cordless snow blower
Intake height, clearing width, throw distance and energy -- and the two specs nobody prints.
- Best cordless snow blower for a gravel driveway
Gravel rules out single-stage machines outright. The two-stage options and the reason why.
- Best cordless snow blower for a large driveway
Coverage claims converted to car-spaces, and what a spare pair of packs actually adds.
- Cordless snow blower maintenance
Auger, chute, skid shoes and storage -- what a gas schedule leaves behind.