Skip to content
MOW & MEADOW

Yard Tools

How long will a cordless snow blower actually run?

This is the only category on the site where no manufacturer publishes a runtime in minutes. What they publish instead turns out to be better.

By Sawyer V.Published Last updated

Affiliate disclosure: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we rank first — here is how we're funded.

A man using a snow blower to clear snow from a snowy street in winter

We have not tested these units. Every spec on this page comes from the manufacturer's own documentation and is linked to it. Every computed figure is arithmetic you can redo. Prices are checked daily — last verified January 1, 1970. Here is exactly how we pick.

Every other cordless category on this site publishes a runtime in minutes, and we spend a lot of words explaining why that figure is less useful than it looks. Snow blowers skip it entirely, and what they publish instead is the figure we would have asked for.

The short answer

Nobody publishes minutes. All three machines publish driveway coverage: an 18-car driveway with 8 inches of snow (EGO SNT2400), 16 car-spaces (Greenworks SN80L620) and a 14-car driveway with 8 inches (EGO SNT2134). Converted, all three land near 50 watt-hours per car-space.

The conversion, in full

The arithmetic — Coverage claims to watt-hours per car-space
EGO SNT2400
2 x 56V 7.5Ah = 2 x 420Wh = 840Wh
840 / 18 = 46.7Wh per car-space
EGO SNT2134
2 x 56V 6.0Ah = 2 x 336Wh = 672Wh
672 / 14 = 48.0Wh per car-space
Greenworks SN80L620
2 x 80V 5.0Ah = 2 x 400Wh = 800Wh
800 / 16 = 50.0Wh per car-space
Spread: 46.7 to 50.0Wh, under 7%
One caveat that matters. EGO states 8 inches of snow for both of its claims. Greenworks states no depth at all. So the Greenworks figure could describe easier or harder work, and the three numbers are not strictly comparable. What makes the convergence interesting is that it happens anyway, across two brands and two machine classes.

Using the figure to size a purchase

A car-space is roughly 9 feet by 18 feet, or about 160 square feet. That gives you a way in from your own driveway dimensions.

DrivewayApprox. sq ftCar-spacesEnergy at ~50Wh each
Single-car, 10 x 20 ft200About 1.3About 65Wh
Two-car, 20 x 40 ft800About 5About 250Wh
Long drive, 12 x 100 ft1,200About 7.5About 375Wh
Drive plus apron2,40015About 750Wh
Rural drive, 12 x 250 ft3,000About 19About 940Wh

The 160 sq ft car-space is our stated assumption; the 50Wh rate is our arithmetic on the published claims. Neither is a manufacturer figure.

Read the bottom row against the machines: 940Wh is more than any of them carries on one set of packs. That is the point at which a spare pair stops being optional.

#ad Check the EGO Power+ 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SNT2400 price on Amazonhow we're funded.

Why coverage is the better metric

A runtime tells you how long the motor can spin. It does not tell you how much snow you moved, and snow varies enormously in density — dry powder and wet spring snow are different materials that happen to share a name.

Coverage at a stated depth is a work figure. It is the same shape as EGO's chainsaw claim of up to 300 cuts on a 4x4, and it is more useful than minutes for exactly the same reason: nobody clears snow for a fixed period, they clear a driveway. We make the general argument in how to read a spec sheet.

Two packs, and what Peak Power changes

Every machine here runs two batteries, which is unusual — most cordless tools run one. It has a consequence worth understanding.

On the Greenworks, the two 80V 5.0Ah packs are what the machine ships with, and replacing or supplementing them means buying Greenworks 80V packs. On the EGO machines, Peak Power accepts any two 56V ARC Lithium packs — so the energy on board is whatever you choose to put there, and packs bought for a mower or a chainsaw go straight in. The mechanism is explained in Peak Power explained.

The arithmetic — What pack choice does to EGO's coverage
EGO SNT2400 at its own rate of about 46.7Wh per car-space
2 x 7.5Ah = 840Wh, EGO's published 18 car-spaces
2 x 5.0Ah = 560Wh, implies about 12 car-spaces
2 x 10.0Ah = 1,120Wh, implies about 24 car-spaces
Only the first line is EGO's figure.
The other two are our arithmetic at EGO's own rate.

#ad Check the EGO Power+ 21" Single-Stage Snow Blower SNT2134 price on Amazonhow we're funded.

The blank that matters most

Not one of these three publishes a charge time. On mowers we can compare charger rates precisely because brands do publish them — Greenworks 40 minutes for a 320Wh pack, Toro 150 minutes for 324Wh, a spread of nearly four times.

For snow blowers we have nothing, on the job where waiting is least acceptable: it is cold, it is often early, and the snow is still falling. Greenworks does at least publish that a dual-port rapid charger is included. EGO publishes no charger detail for either machine.

The practical consequence: if your driveway is near or past a machine's published coverage, buy the spare packs rather than planning to charge mid-job.

#ad Check the Greenworks 80V 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SN80L620 price on Amazonhow we're funded.

Cold weather, and why we publish no number

Lithium packs behave differently in the cold, and a snow blower is the one tool on this site guaranteed to be used there. No manufacturer in our registry — across 28 products and eight brands — publishes a cold-weather derating figure for any battery.

So we give none. Every coverage claim on this page is a warm-condition manufacturer figure, and the honest instruction is to budget below it rather than at it. Your pack's own manual states the manufacturer's operating temperature range.

What we cannot tell you

No runtime in minutes, no charge time, no cold derating, no snow depth for the Greenworks claim, and no published density assumption behind any of the three figures. We have not run any of these machines.

What we can give you is the conversion: three coverage claims, three battery configurations, and a rate of roughly 50 watt-hours per car-space that all three agree on more closely than they had any obligation to.

The products discussed

Specs are the manufacturer's own and linked to the page they came from. Prices come from a live daily check; where we have no verified price we say so rather than print a stale one.

1. Best overall

EGO Power+ 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SNT2400

EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium · Our score 9.0/10

#ad Check price on Amazon

No photo
Check price on Amazon

#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.

Two-stage, 24 inches wide with a 20 inch intake, and the only machine here that runs on the same 56V packs as the rest of the yard kit.

Published specs

ModelSNT2400 / SNT2405 / SNT2406
Clearing width24 in
Intake height20 in
StagesTwo-stage
Throw distanceUp to 50 ft
BatteriesPeak Power -- any two EGO 56V packs; 2 x 7.5Ah recommended
Coverage claimUp to an 18-car driveway with 8 in of snow on the recommended 2 x 7.5Ah
Chute200-degree rear chute control
DriveVariable-speed self-propel, forward and reverse
MotorsIndependent brushless motors for self-propel and auger
LightingFour LED headlights
Warranty5-yr tool / 3-yr battery

Source: EGO POWER+ 24 in. Self-Propelled 2-Stage Snow Blower (SNT2400), egopowerplus.com

Our arithmetic — Energy per car-space of driveway
~46.7Wh

56V x 7.5Ah = 420Wh per pack; two packs = 840Wh. Over the published 18-car driveway at 8 in of snow that is about 46.7Wh per car-space. It is a work-per-charge figure rather than a runtime, which is the more useful shape for a job measured in driveways.

What the numbers favor

  • Runs on the same 56V ARC Lithium packs as EGO's mower, blower, trimmer and chainsaw -- no new platform
  • Peak Power accepts any two 56V packs, so existing batteries go straight in
  • 20 in intake height and a 50 ft throw, the largest published figures here
  • Independent brushless motors for auger and drive, published separately
  • Four LED headlights, published

What they don't

  • EGO publishes no weight for this machine at all
  • The 18-car coverage claim is tied to the recommended 7.5Ah packs; smaller packs will do less and EGO does not say how much less
  • No published ingress rating on this model, where EGO publishes IPX4 on its single-stage
Skip this one if

your driveway is short and flat and the snow is usually under a few inches. A two-stage machine is a lot of hardware for a dusting, and the single-stage costs less energy per pass.

How it scores

Clearing capacity9.5
Throw distance9.5
Platform fit10.0
Published spec depth7.0
Warranty9.0

Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.

2. Best single-stage

EGO Power+ 21" Single-Stage Snow Blower SNT2134

EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium · Our score 8.5/10

#ad Check price on Amazon

No photo
Check price on Amazon

#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.

A 21 inch single-stage on a steel auger that publishes both an IPX4 rating and a driveway coverage claim -- and takes the packs you already own.

Published specs

ModelSNT2134
Clearing width21 in
Clearing height13 in
StagesSingle-stage
Throw distanceUp to 45 ft
Batteries included2 x 56V 6.0Ah
Coverage claimUp to a 14-car driveway with 8 in of snow on a single charge
AugerSteel
Chute200-degree directional control
Weather ratingIPX4
Warranty5-yr tool / 3-yr battery

Source: EGO POWER+ 21" Single-Stage Snow Blower with Peak Power (SNT2134), egopowerplus.com

Our arithmetic — Energy per car-space of driveway
~48Wh

56V x 6.0Ah = 336Wh per pack; two packs = 672Wh. Over the published 14-car driveway at 8 in of snow that is about 48Wh per car-space -- within a few watt-hours of the two-stage EGO and the Greenworks, which is a useful cross-check on all three claims.

What the numbers favor

  • Publishes an IPX4 weather rating, which the two-stage EGO does not
  • Steel auger, published, rather than an unstated material
  • 45 ft throw and a 200-degree chute on a single-stage machine
  • Ships with two 6.0Ah packs that also run every other EGO 56V tool

What they don't

  • 13 in clearing height against 20 in on the two-stage machines -- this is the spec that decides deep snow
  • Single-stage augers contact the ground, so this is not a gravel-driveway machine
  • EGO publishes no weight
Skip this one if

you get deep or drifted snow, or your driveway is gravel. A 13 in clearing height and a ground-contact auger are both hard limits.

How it scores

Clearing capacity7.0
Spec transparency9.0
Platform fit10.0
Throw distance9.0
Warranty9.0

Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.

3. Best published spec sheet

Greenworks 80V 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SN80L620

Greenworks · Greenworks 80V · Our score 8.9/10

#ad Check price on Amazon

No photo
Check price on Amazon

#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.

The only snow blower here that publishes a weight, an impeller size and an impeller speed -- and the only one with a four-year battery warranty.

Published specs

Model / SKUSN80L620 / 2609102
Clearing width24 in
Clearing depth20 in
StagesTwo-stage
Throw distance50 ft
Chute rotation200 degrees
Batteries included2 x 80V 5.0Ah, dual-port rapid charger
Coverage claimUp to a 16-car driveway per charge
Impeller12 in at 1,800 RPM
Weight176.4 lb
Wheels15 in rear, AT 15 x 5-7
DriveSelf-propelled with power steering, zero-turn hub motor
Warranty4-yr tool / 4-yr battery

Source: Greenworks 80V 24" Cordless Battery Two-Stage Snow Blower (SN80L620), greenworkstools.com

Our arithmetic — Energy per car-space of driveway
~50Wh

80V x 5.0Ah = 400Wh per pack; two packs = 800Wh. Over the published 16-car driveway that is 50Wh per car-space. Greenworks does not state a snow depth for its claim where EGO states 8 inches, so this figure is not strictly like-for-like -- we publish it because it lands within 7% of both EGO machines, which is the interesting part.

What the numbers favor

  • 176.4 lb published -- the only snow blower weight in our registry
  • Publishes a 12 in impeller at 1,800 RPM; nobody else publishes an impeller spec at all
  • 4-year warranty on tool AND battery, the longest battery term here
  • Power steering with a zero-turn hub motor, published
  • 15 in rear wheels with a stated tire size

What they don't

  • Greenworks does not state a snow depth for its 16-car driveway claim, where EGO states 8 inches
  • 80V is a separate Greenworks platform from its own 40V and 60V lines -- check what you already own
  • 176.4 lb is a lot of machine to move on a flat or store in a small garage
Skip this one if

you are on EGO 56V or Greenworks 40V or 60V already. This runs on Greenworks 80V and nothing else, and a snow blower is an expensive way to start a fourth platform.

How it scores

Published spec depth10.0
Warranty9.5
Clearing capacity9.5
Drive control9.5
Platform fit6.0

Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.

Where to buy the tools on this page

Every link below is an Amazon affiliate link. We show no price we have not verified today, so where there is no live figure the link says "check price" and takes you to the listing to read it there.

  • Best overall

    EGO Power+ 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SNT2400

    EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium

  • Best single-stage

    EGO Power+ 21" Single-Stage Snow Blower SNT2134

    EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium

  • Best published spec sheet

    Greenworks 80V 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SN80L620

    Greenworks · Greenworks 80V

#ad As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Common questions

How long does a battery snow blower run?
No manufacturer in our registry publishes a runtime in minutes for a snow blower. All three publish driveway coverage instead: 14, 16 and 18 car-spaces. Two of the three also state a snow depth of 8 inches.
How much battery does clearing a driveway use?
About 47 to 50 watt-hours per car-space, on our arithmetic across all three machines. A five-car-space driveway therefore works out at roughly 250 watt-hours -- well inside a single charge on any of them.
Why do snow blower makers publish coverage instead of runtime?
Because minutes are close to meaningless for this job. Nobody clears for a fixed time; they clear a driveway. It is the same reason EGO publishes cuts-per-charge for its chainsaw rather than a runtime.
Do the coverage claims agree with each other?
Remarkably. Converted to watt-hours per car-space they land at about 46.7, 48 and 50 -- under 7% apart across two brands and both machine classes. That is weak but real evidence the claims describe similar work.
How long do snow blower batteries take to charge?
None of the three publishes a charge time. That is a significant gap on the one job where waiting is least acceptable, and it is why a spare pair of packs is the only reliable way to extend a session.
Will cold weather reduce the runtime?
Almost certainly, and no manufacturer in this category publishes a derating figure for any tool. Every published claim is a warm-condition figure. Budget below it; we will not invent a percentage.

Sources

  1. EGO POWER+ 24 in. Self-Propelled 2-Stage Snow Blower (SNT2400), egopowerplus.com
  2. EGO POWER+ 21" Single-Stage Snow Blower with Peak Power (SNT2134), egopowerplus.com
  3. Greenworks 80V 24" Cordless Battery Two-Stage Snow Blower (SN80L620), greenworkstools.com