Skip to content
MOW & MEADOW

Yard Tools

How to choose a cordless snow blower

Four published specs decide this purchase, and only one of them is the number on the front of the box.

By Sawyer V.Published Last updated

Affiliate disclosure: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we rank first — here is how we're funded.

A person using a snow blower to clear snow from a suburban sidewalk in winter

We have not tested these units. Every spec on this page comes from the manufacturer's own documentation and is linked to it. Every computed figure is arithmetic you can redo. Prices are checked daily — last verified January 1, 1970. Here is exactly how we pick.

Snow blower marketing leads on clearing width because it is the biggest number on the machine. It is the second most important spec at best. Here is what actually decides the purchase, in order, and what the spec sheets refuse to tell you.

The four specs, in order of importance

Intake height first — it decides what the machine can eat. Then clearing width, which decides how many passes. Then energy on board, which decides how much driveway you finish. Then throw distance, which decides whether you clear the same snow twice.

1. Intake height, the one that is a hard limit

Intake height is the depth of snow the machine can take in a single pass. Above it, the machine is climbing rather than clearing and you are taking two bites at the same drift.

MachineIntake / clearing heightClass
EGO SNT240020 inTwo-stage
Greenworks SN80L62020 inTwo-stage
EGO SNT213413 inSingle-stage

From the manufacturers' own product pages, fetched 9 September 2026. The seven-inch gap between the classes is the single biggest published difference in this category.

This is where the single-stage / two-stage decision actually lives. It is not about power in the abstract — it is 13 inches against 20, published. The full comparison is in single-stage vs two-stage.

2. Clearing width, which is really a pass count

Width does not decide capability, it decides how long the job takes. The arithmetic is the same shape as mowing: driveway area divided by effective width gives linear feet, and linear feet divided by run length gives passes.

The arithmetic — Passes across a two-car driveway
Say a driveway 20 ft wide and 40 ft long
At 24 in (2.0 ft) clearing width:
20 / 2.0 = 10 passes of 40 ft
At 21 in (1.75 ft):
20 / 1.75 = about 12 passes of 40 ft
Two extra passes. Real, but small next to
a machine that cannot take the depth at all.
Overlap is not included and nobody publishes a figure for it.

3. Energy on board

None of these machines publishes a runtime. All three publish driveway coverage, which is a better figure anyway, and all three run two battery packs.

MachineBattery configurationEnergyPublished coverage
EGO SNT2400Any two EGO 56V; 2 x 7.5Ah recommended840Wh at the recommended packs18-car driveway at 8 in
Greenworks SN80L6202 x 80V 5.0Ah included800Wh16-car driveway, depth not stated
EGO SNT21342 x 56V 6.0Ah included672Wh14-car driveway at 8 in

Watt-hour figures are our arithmetic on advertised volts x amp-hours. Coverage claims are the manufacturers' own.

Those three claims converge on roughly 47 to 50 watt-hours per car-space, which is the number to size a purchase against. We work it through in the snow blower runtime guide.

#ad Check the EGO Power+ 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SNT2400 price on Amazonhow we're funded.

4. Throw distance and chute control

Throw distance decides where the snow lands relative to where you are working. Too short and you re-clear your own output on the next pass; on a narrow lot, too far in the wrong direction puts it on a path you also have to clear.

Published figures here are tight: up to 50 feet on both two-stage machines and up to 45 feet on the single-stage. All three publish a 200-degree chute rotation, which is the more useful of the two figures — it is what lets you place snow rather than simply move it.

#ad Check the Greenworks 80V 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SN80L620 price on Amazonhow we're funded.

The specs nobody publishes

  • Runtime in minutes. None of the three. Coverage claims are the substitute and are arguably better, but they cannot be compared with any other tool category.
  • Weight. Only Greenworks publishes one: 176.4 lb. Neither EGO machine publishes a weight at all, on a product you push through snow and store for eleven months.
  • Noise. None of the three publishes a decibel figure — the same silence we found across every walk-behind mower in our registry.
  • Cold-weather battery derating. Nobody in this category publishes one for any tool, which matters more here than anywhere else on the site.
  • Snow depth for the Greenworks coverage claim. EGO states 8 inches for both of its claims; Greenworks states none.
The cold-weather gap deserves emphasis. Every published runtime and coverage figure in this category is a warm-condition manufacturer claim, and a snow blower is by definition used in the cold. Budget below the claim; we will not invent a percentage.

The decision that outlives the machine

A snow blower is used a handful of times a year and carries two of the largest packs in the range. That makes the platform question sharper here than anywhere else: EGO's Peak Power runs its machines on any two 56V packs you already own, while the Greenworks runs on 80V and nothing else — not even Greenworks' own 40V or 60V lines.

If you own neither platform, this is an expensive place to start one. We work the winter side of that decision through in which battery platform for winter.

#ad Check the EGO Power+ 21" Single-Stage Snow Blower SNT2134 price on Amazonhow we're funded.

What we cannot tell you

We have not used a snow blower of any kind. We cannot tell you how any of these machines behaves in wet heavy snow versus dry powder, how the augers cope with the compacted ridge a plow leaves at the end of a driveway, or how much of a published coverage claim survives a cold morning.

What we can do is rank the specifications in the order that actually decides the purchase, and name every figure the manufacturers chose not to print.

The products discussed

Specs are the manufacturer's own and linked to the page they came from. Prices come from a live daily check; where we have no verified price we say so rather than print a stale one.

1. Best overall

EGO Power+ 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SNT2400

EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium · Our score 9.0/10

#ad Check price on Amazon

No photo
Check price on Amazon

#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.

Two-stage, 24 inches wide with a 20 inch intake, and the only machine here that runs on the same 56V packs as the rest of the yard kit.

Published specs

ModelSNT2400 / SNT2405 / SNT2406
Clearing width24 in
Intake height20 in
StagesTwo-stage
Throw distanceUp to 50 ft
BatteriesPeak Power -- any two EGO 56V packs; 2 x 7.5Ah recommended
Coverage claimUp to an 18-car driveway with 8 in of snow on the recommended 2 x 7.5Ah
Chute200-degree rear chute control
DriveVariable-speed self-propel, forward and reverse
MotorsIndependent brushless motors for self-propel and auger
LightingFour LED headlights
Warranty5-yr tool / 3-yr battery

Source: EGO POWER+ 24 in. Self-Propelled 2-Stage Snow Blower (SNT2400), egopowerplus.com

Our arithmetic — Energy per car-space of driveway
~46.7Wh

56V x 7.5Ah = 420Wh per pack; two packs = 840Wh. Over the published 18-car driveway at 8 in of snow that is about 46.7Wh per car-space. It is a work-per-charge figure rather than a runtime, which is the more useful shape for a job measured in driveways.

What the numbers favor

  • Runs on the same 56V ARC Lithium packs as EGO's mower, blower, trimmer and chainsaw -- no new platform
  • Peak Power accepts any two 56V packs, so existing batteries go straight in
  • 20 in intake height and a 50 ft throw, the largest published figures here
  • Independent brushless motors for auger and drive, published separately
  • Four LED headlights, published

What they don't

  • EGO publishes no weight for this machine at all
  • The 18-car coverage claim is tied to the recommended 7.5Ah packs; smaller packs will do less and EGO does not say how much less
  • No published ingress rating on this model, where EGO publishes IPX4 on its single-stage
Skip this one if

your driveway is short and flat and the snow is usually under a few inches. A two-stage machine is a lot of hardware for a dusting, and the single-stage costs less energy per pass.

How it scores

Clearing capacity9.5
Throw distance9.5
Platform fit10.0
Published spec depth7.0
Warranty9.0

Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.

2. Best published spec sheet

Greenworks 80V 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SN80L620

Greenworks · Greenworks 80V · Our score 8.9/10

#ad Check price on Amazon

No photo
Check price on Amazon

#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.

The only snow blower here that publishes a weight, an impeller size and an impeller speed -- and the only one with a four-year battery warranty.

Published specs

Model / SKUSN80L620 / 2609102
Clearing width24 in
Clearing depth20 in
StagesTwo-stage
Throw distance50 ft
Chute rotation200 degrees
Batteries included2 x 80V 5.0Ah, dual-port rapid charger
Coverage claimUp to a 16-car driveway per charge
Impeller12 in at 1,800 RPM
Weight176.4 lb
Wheels15 in rear, AT 15 x 5-7
DriveSelf-propelled with power steering, zero-turn hub motor
Warranty4-yr tool / 4-yr battery

Source: Greenworks 80V 24" Cordless Battery Two-Stage Snow Blower (SN80L620), greenworkstools.com

Our arithmetic — Energy per car-space of driveway
~50Wh

80V x 5.0Ah = 400Wh per pack; two packs = 800Wh. Over the published 16-car driveway that is 50Wh per car-space. Greenworks does not state a snow depth for its claim where EGO states 8 inches, so this figure is not strictly like-for-like -- we publish it because it lands within 7% of both EGO machines, which is the interesting part.

What the numbers favor

  • 176.4 lb published -- the only snow blower weight in our registry
  • Publishes a 12 in impeller at 1,800 RPM; nobody else publishes an impeller spec at all
  • 4-year warranty on tool AND battery, the longest battery term here
  • Power steering with a zero-turn hub motor, published
  • 15 in rear wheels with a stated tire size

What they don't

  • Greenworks does not state a snow depth for its 16-car driveway claim, where EGO states 8 inches
  • 80V is a separate Greenworks platform from its own 40V and 60V lines -- check what you already own
  • 176.4 lb is a lot of machine to move on a flat or store in a small garage
Skip this one if

you are on EGO 56V or Greenworks 40V or 60V already. This runs on Greenworks 80V and nothing else, and a snow blower is an expensive way to start a fourth platform.

How it scores

Published spec depth10.0
Warranty9.5
Clearing capacity9.5
Drive control9.5
Platform fit6.0

Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.

3. Best single-stage

EGO Power+ 21" Single-Stage Snow Blower SNT2134

EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium · Our score 8.5/10

#ad Check price on Amazon

No photo
Check price on Amazon

#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.

A 21 inch single-stage on a steel auger that publishes both an IPX4 rating and a driveway coverage claim -- and takes the packs you already own.

Published specs

ModelSNT2134
Clearing width21 in
Clearing height13 in
StagesSingle-stage
Throw distanceUp to 45 ft
Batteries included2 x 56V 6.0Ah
Coverage claimUp to a 14-car driveway with 8 in of snow on a single charge
AugerSteel
Chute200-degree directional control
Weather ratingIPX4
Warranty5-yr tool / 3-yr battery

Source: EGO POWER+ 21" Single-Stage Snow Blower with Peak Power (SNT2134), egopowerplus.com

Our arithmetic — Energy per car-space of driveway
~48Wh

56V x 6.0Ah = 336Wh per pack; two packs = 672Wh. Over the published 14-car driveway at 8 in of snow that is about 48Wh per car-space -- within a few watt-hours of the two-stage EGO and the Greenworks, which is a useful cross-check on all three claims.

What the numbers favor

  • Publishes an IPX4 weather rating, which the two-stage EGO does not
  • Steel auger, published, rather than an unstated material
  • 45 ft throw and a 200-degree chute on a single-stage machine
  • Ships with two 6.0Ah packs that also run every other EGO 56V tool

What they don't

  • 13 in clearing height against 20 in on the two-stage machines -- this is the spec that decides deep snow
  • Single-stage augers contact the ground, so this is not a gravel-driveway machine
  • EGO publishes no weight
Skip this one if

you get deep or drifted snow, or your driveway is gravel. A 13 in clearing height and a ground-contact auger are both hard limits.

How it scores

Clearing capacity7.0
Spec transparency9.0
Platform fit10.0
Throw distance9.0
Warranty9.0

Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.

Where to buy the tools on this page

Every link below is an Amazon affiliate link. We show no price we have not verified today, so where there is no live figure the link says "check price" and takes you to the listing to read it there.

  • Best overall

    EGO Power+ 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SNT2400

    EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium

  • Best published spec sheet

    Greenworks 80V 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SN80L620

    Greenworks · Greenworks 80V

  • Best single-stage

    EGO Power+ 21" Single-Stage Snow Blower SNT2134

    EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium

#ad As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Common questions

What size snow blower do I need?
Match intake height to your typical snowfall and clearing width to your driveway. The two-stage machines we hold specs for publish a 24 inch width and a 20 inch intake; the single-stage publishes 21 inches wide and 13 inches of clearing height.
What is intake height on a snow blower?
The maximum depth of snow the machine can take in one pass. It is the spec that decides whether a snowfall is one pass or three, and it is where the two-stage machines separate from the single-stage: 20 inches against 13.
Does clearing width matter more than intake height?
No. Width sets how many passes a driveway takes; intake height sets whether the machine can handle the snow at all. A 24 inch machine that chokes on a 16 inch drift is worse than a 21 inch one that does not.
How much battery does a snow blower need?
All three machines we hold specs for run two packs. Converted, that is 672Wh to 840Wh on the machine, and their published coverage claims work out at roughly 47 to 50 watt-hours per car-space of driveway.
What does throw distance tell you?
How far from the cleared path the snow lands, which decides whether you are re-clearing the same snow. Published figures here are 45 to 50 feet. Combined with a 200-degree chute rotation, that is enough to place snow rather than just move it.
What specs do snow blower makers not publish?
Runtime in minutes -- none of the three publishes one. Weight, which only Greenworks publishes. Noise, which none of them publishes. And a cold-weather derating for the batteries, which nobody in this category publishes for any tool.

Sources

  1. EGO POWER+ 24 in. Self-Propelled 2-Stage Snow Blower (SNT2400), egopowerplus.com
  2. Greenworks 80V 24" Cordless Battery Two-Stage Snow Blower (SN80L620), greenworkstools.com
  3. EGO POWER+ 21" Single-Stage Snow Blower with Peak Power (SNT2134), egopowerplus.com