Skip to content
MOW & MEADOW

Battery Platforms

Which battery platform should you pick if you need a snow blower?

A snow blower carries two of the largest packs in any range. Whether those are shared or stranded is decided by a choice you made buying a mower.

By Sawyer V.Published Last updated

Affiliate disclosure: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we rank first — here is how we're funded.

Battery charger station in a garage

We have not tested these units. Every spec on this page comes from the manufacturer's own documentation and is linked to it. Every computed figure is arithmetic you can redo. Prices are checked daily — last verified January 1, 1970. Here is exactly how we pick.

This site's standing advice is to pick a battery platform on the fourth tool rather than the first. A snow blower is the cleanest illustration of why: it is often the last tool a household buys, it needs two of the largest packs in the range, and by the time you want one the decision has already been made.

The short answer

Of the five platforms we hold cited specs for, only two make a snow blower: EGO 56V and Greenworks 80V. EGO's Peak Power runs its machines on any two 56V packs you already own, which is the strongest winter argument any platform in our registry can make.

Which platforms reach winter at all

PlatformSnow blower in our registryShares packs with
EGO 56V ARC LithiumYes -- SNT2400 two-stage and SNT2134 single-stageMower, blower, backpack blower, trimmer, hedge trimmer, chainsaw, pole saw, edger, zero turn
Greenworks 80VYes -- SN80L620 two-stageGreenworks 80V mower, blower and trimmer
Ryobi 40VNone in our registryMower, blower, trimmer
Kobalt 80V MaxNone in our registryMower
Toro 60V Max Flex-ForceNone in our registryMower
Greenworks 40V / 60VNone -- these are separate platforms from 80VTheir own lines only

"None in our registry" means we hold no cited manufacturer spec sheet for a snow blower on that platform — not that none exists. We only compare figures we have transcribed from a published source.

The bottom row is the trap. Being "on Greenworks" does not mean a Greenworks 80V snow blower shares your batteries. Greenworks runs 24V, 40V, 60V and 80V as four separate non-interchangeable families — the full rules are in our compatibility guide.

How much battery a snow blower ties up

More than any other walk-behind tool in the category, and it is worth seeing next to the rest of the range.

The arithmetic — Energy on the machine, compared
EGO SNT2400 snow blower: 2 x 7.5Ah = 840Wh
Greenworks SN80L620 snow blower: 2 x 5.0Ah (80V) = 800Wh
For contrast, the flagship mowers:
EGO LM2135SP: 420Wh
Greenworks LM2108S: 320Wh
A snow blower carries roughly double a mower's energy,
for a tool used a handful of times a year.

That is the crux. On a shared platform those packs run the mower every week from April. On a stranded one they sit on a shelf until the next storm.

The EGO case

Peak Power accepts any two EGO 56V ARC Lithium packs, and EGO 56V is the widest single pack family in our registry — the same battery runs a 4.6 lb handheld blower and a 42 inch zero turn.

For a household with an EGO mower, blower and trimmer already in the garage, the snow blower purchase is the bare machine plus whatever capacity you want to add. That is a materially different proposition from buying a machine and two large packs.

The honest gaps: EGO publishes no weight for either snow blower, no ingress rating on the two-stage, and no charge time for anything. The mechanism is explained in Peak Power explained.

#ad Check the EGO Power+ 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SNT2400 price on Amazonhow we're funded.

The Greenworks 80V case

If you are specifically on Greenworks 80V, the SN80L620 shares packs with the 80V mower, the 730 CFM blower and the 16 inch trimmer — three tools, which is a real platform rather than a single machine.

It is also the best-documented snow blower we hold: 176.4 lb published, a 12 inch impeller at 1,800 RPM, 15 inch rear wheels with a stated tire size, power steering with a zero-turn hub motor, and four years on both tool and battery. Greenworks consistently publishes more than anyone else, and it does so here too.

The condition is narrow though: 80V specifically, not Greenworks generally.

#ad Check the Greenworks 80V 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SN80L620 price on Amazonhow we're funded.

The gap that affects every platform equally

Not one manufacturer in our registry — across 28 products and eight brands — publishes a cold-weather derating figure for any battery. That matters more here than anywhere else on this site, because a snow blower is the one tool guaranteed to be used below freezing.

Every coverage claim on the snow blower pages is a warm-condition manufacturer figure. We publish no percentage because none exists, and the honest instruction is to budget below the claim and keep the packs indoors until you need them.

This is also an argument for the shared-platform route on its own terms. If cold shortens what a pack delivers, having more packs available — because they are the same ones your summer tools use — is a more robust position than owning exactly two.

How to decide

  1. Do you already own a platform? If it is EGO 56V or Greenworks 80V, that settles it. If it is Ryobi 40V, Kobalt 80V, Toro 60V, or Greenworks 40V or 60V, a snow blower means starting a second platform.
  2. Is a snow blower likely in the next five years? If yes and you are buying your first cordless tool now, that is an argument for EGO 56V before you buy the mower.
  3. How many car-spaces is your driveway? Multiply by about 50 watt-hours to size the packs — the method is in the snow blower runtime guide.
  4. Is a second platform actually worse than the alternative? Sometimes not. Two platforms for one specialized tool can be cheaper than abandoning the platform that serves the other five — see switching platforms.

#ad Check the EGO Power+ 21" Select Cut LM2135SP price on Amazonhow we're funded.

#ad Check the Greenworks 80V 21" 4-in-1 LM2108S price on Amazonhow we're funded.

What we cannot tell you

We hold cited specifications for three snow blowers on two platforms. Other manufacturers may make cordless snow blowers; we have transcribed no figures for them and therefore do not rank or mention them as options. Nobody publishes a cold-weather derating, a charge time, or a weight for either EGO machine.

What is published and decisive: two platforms reach winter, one of them shares its packs with nine other tool classes, and a snow blower ties up roughly double a mower's energy either way.

The products discussed

Specs are the manufacturer's own and linked to the page they came from. Prices come from a live daily check; where we have no verified price we say so rather than print a stale one.

1. Best overall

EGO Power+ 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SNT2400

EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium · Our score 9.0/10

#ad Check price on Amazon

No photo
Check price on Amazon

#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.

Two-stage, 24 inches wide with a 20 inch intake, and the only machine here that runs on the same 56V packs as the rest of the yard kit.

Published specs

ModelSNT2400 / SNT2405 / SNT2406
Clearing width24 in
Intake height20 in
StagesTwo-stage
Throw distanceUp to 50 ft
BatteriesPeak Power -- any two EGO 56V packs; 2 x 7.5Ah recommended
Coverage claimUp to an 18-car driveway with 8 in of snow on the recommended 2 x 7.5Ah
Chute200-degree rear chute control
DriveVariable-speed self-propel, forward and reverse
MotorsIndependent brushless motors for self-propel and auger
LightingFour LED headlights
Warranty5-yr tool / 3-yr battery

Source: EGO POWER+ 24 in. Self-Propelled 2-Stage Snow Blower (SNT2400), egopowerplus.com

Our arithmetic — Energy per car-space of driveway
~46.7Wh

56V x 7.5Ah = 420Wh per pack; two packs = 840Wh. Over the published 18-car driveway at 8 in of snow that is about 46.7Wh per car-space. It is a work-per-charge figure rather than a runtime, which is the more useful shape for a job measured in driveways.

What the numbers favor

  • Runs on the same 56V ARC Lithium packs as EGO's mower, blower, trimmer and chainsaw -- no new platform
  • Peak Power accepts any two 56V packs, so existing batteries go straight in
  • 20 in intake height and a 50 ft throw, the largest published figures here
  • Independent brushless motors for auger and drive, published separately
  • Four LED headlights, published

What they don't

  • EGO publishes no weight for this machine at all
  • The 18-car coverage claim is tied to the recommended 7.5Ah packs; smaller packs will do less and EGO does not say how much less
  • No published ingress rating on this model, where EGO publishes IPX4 on its single-stage
Skip this one if

your driveway is short and flat and the snow is usually under a few inches. A two-stage machine is a lot of hardware for a dusting, and the single-stage costs less energy per pass.

How it scores

Clearing capacity9.5
Throw distance9.5
Platform fit10.0
Published spec depth7.0
Warranty9.0

Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.

2. Best published spec sheet

Greenworks 80V 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SN80L620

Greenworks · Greenworks 80V · Our score 8.9/10

#ad Check price on Amazon

No photo
Check price on Amazon

#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.

The only snow blower here that publishes a weight, an impeller size and an impeller speed -- and the only one with a four-year battery warranty.

Published specs

Model / SKUSN80L620 / 2609102
Clearing width24 in
Clearing depth20 in
StagesTwo-stage
Throw distance50 ft
Chute rotation200 degrees
Batteries included2 x 80V 5.0Ah, dual-port rapid charger
Coverage claimUp to a 16-car driveway per charge
Impeller12 in at 1,800 RPM
Weight176.4 lb
Wheels15 in rear, AT 15 x 5-7
DriveSelf-propelled with power steering, zero-turn hub motor
Warranty4-yr tool / 4-yr battery

Source: Greenworks 80V 24" Cordless Battery Two-Stage Snow Blower (SN80L620), greenworkstools.com

Our arithmetic — Energy per car-space of driveway
~50Wh

80V x 5.0Ah = 400Wh per pack; two packs = 800Wh. Over the published 16-car driveway that is 50Wh per car-space. Greenworks does not state a snow depth for its claim where EGO states 8 inches, so this figure is not strictly like-for-like -- we publish it because it lands within 7% of both EGO machines, which is the interesting part.

What the numbers favor

  • 176.4 lb published -- the only snow blower weight in our registry
  • Publishes a 12 in impeller at 1,800 RPM; nobody else publishes an impeller spec at all
  • 4-year warranty on tool AND battery, the longest battery term here
  • Power steering with a zero-turn hub motor, published
  • 15 in rear wheels with a stated tire size

What they don't

  • Greenworks does not state a snow depth for its 16-car driveway claim, where EGO states 8 inches
  • 80V is a separate Greenworks platform from its own 40V and 60V lines -- check what you already own
  • 176.4 lb is a lot of machine to move on a flat or store in a small garage
Skip this one if

you are on EGO 56V or Greenworks 40V or 60V already. This runs on Greenworks 80V and nothing else, and a snow blower is an expensive way to start a fourth platform.

How it scores

Published spec depth10.0
Warranty9.5
Clearing capacity9.5
Drive control9.5
Platform fit6.0

Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.

3. Best overall

EGO Power+ 21" Select Cut LM2135SP

EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium · Our score 9.1/10

#ad Check price on Amazon

No photo
Check price on Amazon

#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.

The most watt-hours in the box of any flagship walk-behind here, on the platform with the widest tool range to grow into.

Published specs

Deck21 in
Cutting torqueUp to 7.0 ft-lbs
Battery included56V 7.5Ah
Cut height1-4 in, 8 positions
Self-propel speed0.9-3.1 MPH
Runtime claimUp to 60 min
Warranty5-yr tool / 3-yr battery

Source: EGO POWER+ 21" Select Cut System (LM2135SP), egopowerplus.com

Our arithmetic — Nameplate watt-hours
420Wh

56V x 7.5Ah = 420Wh, using EGO's advertised pack voltage.

What the numbers favor

  • 420Wh in the box -- the largest included pack of any flagship walk-behind on this page
  • Eight cut-height positions from 1 to 4 in, the widest published range here
  • Three interchangeable lower blades (mulching, high-lift bagging, extended runtime)
  • 5-year tool warranty, the longest published on this page

What they don't

  • EGO publishes torque (7.0 ft-lbs), not motor wattage, so it cannot be compared directly against Greenworks' 1500W figure
  • The 7.5Ah pack that earns the runtime claim is also the expensive one to replace
Skip this one if

your yard is under a quarter acre. You would be paying for 420Wh of headroom you will never discharge, and a 20 in push mower cuts the same grass.

How it scores

Included energy9.5
Cut adjustability9.0
Platform range9.5
Warranty9.5
Value per watt-hour7.5

Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.

4. Best published spec sheet

Greenworks 80V 21" 4-in-1 LM2108S

Greenworks · Greenworks 80V · Our score 8.4/10

#ad Check price on Amazon

No photo
Check price on Amazon

#ad No verified live price right now, so we show none rather than a stale one. How we're funded.

The only mower here that publishes motor wattage, blade RPM, weight and an acreage rating -- and the only one whose battery warranty matches its tool warranty.

Published specs

Model / SKULM2108S / 2550402
Deck21 in
Max blade speed3200 RPM
Battery included80V 4.0Ah
Cut height1.38-4.0 in, 7 positions
Runtime claimUp to 33 min
Weight75 lb
Rated forUp to 1/2 acre
Warranty4-yr tool / 4-yr battery

Source: 80V 21" 4-in-1 Self-Propelled Lawn Mower (LM2108S), greenworkstools.com

Our arithmetic — Nameplate watt-hours
320Wh

80V x 4.0Ah = 320Wh, using Greenworks' advertised pack voltage.

What the numbers favor

  • 4-year battery warranty -- a year longer than EGO's 3-year, on the component that fails first
  • Publishes blade RPM, weight and acreage rating; the other two brands publish none of the three
  • 40-minute recharge on the included charger, the fastest published here
  • 4-in-1 deck adds turbo leaf pickup on top of mulch, bag and side discharge

What they don't

  • 320Wh included, the least of the three flagships -- and the 33-minute runtime claim reflects that
  • 75 lb is the only published weight here, and it is not light
Skip this one if

you want one battery to finish a half-acre without a swap. Greenworks rates the mower for 1/2 acre but claims only 33 minutes on the included pack; those two numbers only reconcile if you buy a second battery.

How it scores

Included energy6.5
Published spec depth10.0
Warranty9.0
Recharge speed9.5
Value per watt-hour8.0

Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.

Where to buy the tools on this page

Every link below is an Amazon affiliate link. We show no price we have not verified today, so where there is no live figure the link says "check price" and takes you to the listing to read it there.

  • Best overall

    EGO Power+ 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SNT2400

    EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium

  • Best published spec sheet

    Greenworks 80V 24" Two-Stage Snow Blower SN80L620

    Greenworks · Greenworks 80V

  • Best overall

    EGO Power+ 21" Select Cut LM2135SP

    EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium

  • Best published spec sheet

    Greenworks 80V 21" 4-in-1 LM2108S

    Greenworks · Greenworks 80V

#ad As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Common questions

Which battery platform makes a snow blower?
Of the platforms we hold cited specs for, two: EGO 56V and Greenworks 80V. Ryobi 40V, Kobalt 80V and Toro 60V Max have no snow blower in our registry -- which is not a claim that none exists, only that we hold no published spec sheet for one.
Does EGO or Greenworks make more sense for winter?
EGO, if you own or plan to own EGO summer tools, because Peak Power runs its snow blowers on any two 56V packs you already have. Greenworks 80V if you are already on that specific voltage -- but not if you are on Greenworks 40V or 60V, which are separate platforms.
How much battery does a snow blower tie up?
Two of the largest packs in the range. EGO recommends two 7.5Ah packs for its two-stage machine -- 840 nameplate watt-hours -- and Greenworks ships two 80V 5.0Ah packs at 800Wh.
Do batteries work in cold weather?
They work, and nobody publishes how well. Across 28 products and eight brands, not one manufacturer in our registry publishes a cold-weather derating figure for any battery. Every published runtime and coverage claim is a warm-condition figure.
Should I buy a snow blower on a new platform?
Rarely. A snow blower is used a handful of times a year and needs two large packs, so starting a platform with one means buying substantial battery capacity that sits idle for eleven months.
What if I already own Greenworks 40V?
Then a Greenworks 80V snow blower shares nothing with your existing tools. Greenworks runs 24V, 40V, 60V and 80V as four separate non-interchangeable platforms, so the brand name on the box does not settle compatibility.

Sources

  1. EGO POWER+ 24 in. Self-Propelled 2-Stage Snow Blower (SNT2400), egopowerplus.com
  2. Greenworks 80V 24" Cordless Battery Two-Stage Snow Blower (SN80L620), greenworkstools.com
  3. EGO POWER+ 21" Select Cut System (LM2135SP), egopowerplus.com
  4. Greenworks 80V 21" Self-Propelled Lawn Mower (LM2108S), greenworkstools.com
  5. Ryobi 40V HP Brushless 21" Self-Propelled Mower (RY40HPLM01B), ryobitools.com
  6. Kobalt 80-Volt 21-in Self-propelled Battery Mower (2 batteries), lowes.com