Guides
Best gifts for someone who keeps their own hedges
Nobody struggles to cut a hedge. They struggle to reach the top of it while holding six pounds at arm's length.
Affiliate disclosure: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we rank first — here is how we're funded.

We have not tested these units. Every spec on this page comes from the manufacturer's own documentation and is linked to it. Every computed figure is arithmetic you can redo. Prices are checked daily — last verified October 11, 2026. Here is exactly how we pick.
Quick picks
Ranked on the published specs and the arithmetic below. Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these units -- here is exactly how we pick.
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() EGO Power+ 24" Hedge Trimmer HT2410 A published 1 in cut capacity on 24 in of forged steel, at 6.17 lb bare -- the numbers that decide whether a hedge trimmer is a hedge trimmer. | Best cut capacity | 8.3 | |
| 2 | ![]() EGO POWER+ Carbon Fiber Hedge Trimmer Attachment (HTA2020) A 20 in blade on a carbon fiber shaft with 12-position articulation, driven by a power head you may already own. | Best pole hedge trimmer | 8.2 | |
| 3 | ![]() RYOBI 18V ONE+ HP Brushless 8" Pruning Mini Chainsaw (PSBCW01K) Eight inches of bar, a 6 in cut capacity and 65+ cuts from a 2.0Ah pack, with no bar oil to spill in the car. | Best cuts per charge | 8.4 | |
| 4 | ![]() EGO Power+ 10" Pole Saw Attachment PSA1000 70 published cuts from a 140Wh pack at 4.17 lb -- the honest answer for limbs you should not be on a ladder for. | Best pole saw on-platform | 8.1 |
#ad Buy links are affiliate links. Prices come from a live daily check; where we have no verified price we say "check price" rather than print a stale one.
Hedge work is almost never limited by cutting power. It is limited by how long someone can hold a tool at or above shoulder height, and by the moment a stem turns out to be thicker than the blade gap. Both of those are published figures, which makes this an unusually decidable gift.
The short answer
Who each pick is for, and who should skip it
| Pick | Published figures | The problem it solves | Skip it if |
|---|---|---|---|
| EGO HT2410 hedge trimmer | 24 in forged steel blade, 1 in cut capacity, 3,000 SPM, 6.17 lb bare | Shearing a maintained hedge at or below shoulder height. | They own a hedge trimmer that works. Reach is the upgrade, not a second trimmer. |
| EGO HTA2020 pole attachment | Carbon fiber shaft; fits the EGO 56V multi-head system | Hedge tops above shoulder height, from the ground. | Not on EGO 56V, or no compatible power head to fit it to. |
| RYOBI 18V ONE+ pruning mini chainsaw | 8 in bar, 6 in cut capacity, one-handed | Woody stems a hedge trimmer cannot take, and shaping shrubs. | They only shear formal hedges and never cut back to wood. |
| EGO PSA1000 pole saw attachment | 10 in bar; fits the EGO 56V multi-head system | Overhead limbs above a hedge line. | Same platform caveat as the HTA2020. |
Blade lengths, cut capacities, stroke rate and bare-tool weight transcribed from each maker's own published page, all four cited below. Note what is NOT published: EGO states no weight for either attachment in use, which is the figure that would decide overhead work.
Reach is the upgrade, not power
If the person you are buying for already owns a working hedge trimmer, a better hedge trimmer changes very little. What changes their afternoon is not standing on a ladder.
1. EGO HT2410 — if they need the trimmer itself
EGO publishes a 24 inch forged steel blade, a 1 inch cut capacity, 3,000 strokes per minute, a dual-action fully serviceable blade, 6.17 lb as a bare tool and compatibility with any EGO 56V ARC Lithium pack.
Two of those are the reason it leads. A fully serviceable blade means it can be sharpened and rebuilt rather than replaced, which on a tool used twice a year is the difference between a decade and three seasons. And 6.17 lb bare is light for a 24 inch blade, which matters for exactly the reason set out above.
Who should skip it: anyone who already owns a hedge trimmer. The honest gaps: EGO publishes no runtime claim for this tool at all and no noise figure, so we cannot tell you how long a hedge session lasts on any pack. The class is ranked in best hedge trimmers, and the above-an-inch case in best for thick hedges.
#ad Check the EGO Power+ 24" Hedge Trimmer HT2410 price on Amazon — how we're funded.
2. EGO HTA2020 — the reach upgrade
EGO publishes a carbon fiber shaft and multi-head compatibility on the HTA2020 hedge trimmer attachment. It is the pick for someone whose hedge is taller than they are.
Who should skip it: anyone not on EGO 56V, and anyone whose hedges are all waist-height. The dedicated pole trimmers — complete tools rather than attachments — are ranked in best pole hedge trimmers, which is the better page if they own no EGO power head.
#ad Check the EGO POWER+ Carbon Fiber Hedge Trimmer Attachment (HTA2020) price on Amazon — how we're funded.
3. RYOBI pruning mini chainsaw — for shaping, not shearing
RYOBI publishes an 8 inch bar, a 6 inch cut capacity, brushless motor and one-handed operation on the 18V ONE+ HP pruning chainsaw.
Who it is for: someone who shapes shrubs rather than only shearing formal hedges. Six inches of cut capacity against a hedge trimmer's one inch is the difference between tidying a hedge and renovating an overgrown one, and the two tools genuinely do different jobs.
Who should skip it: anyone on a different battery platform — this is RYOBI 18V ONE+, which does not cross to RYOBI's own 40V line either. More in best mini chainsaws and battery compatibility.
#ad Check the RYOBI 18V ONE+ HP Brushless 8" Pruning Mini Chainsaw (PSBCW01K) price on Amazon — how we're funded.
4. EGO PSA1000 — for what is above the hedge
EGO publishes a 10 inch bar on the PSA1000 pole saw attachment, on the same 56V multi-head system as the HTA2020. Hedge lines usually have something growing over them, and this is the head for that.
Who should skip it: same platform caveat, and anyone whose overhead work is really tree work — a pole saw attachment is for limbs within reach from the ground, not for felling. Timing for all of this is in when to trim hedges and technique in hedge trimming technique.
#ad Check the EGO Power+ 10" Pole Saw Attachment PSA1000 price on Amazon — how we're funded.
What we cannot tell you
We have not used any of these four. EGO publishes no runtime claim and no noise figure for the HT2410, and no weight at all for either attachment — which on tools bought specifically to be held overhead is the single most useful figure the category could publish and none of it exists. RYOBI publishes a cut capacity but no runtime in cuts for the pruning saw, so we cannot compare it with the Milwaukee figure on the same basis. Nobody publishes a blade life or a sharpening interval for a hedge trimmer, so "fully serviceable" is a design statement rather than a measured one. And the question that decides three of these four picks — whether they already own an EGO 56V power head — is one only you can check.
The picks in full
Specs are the manufacturer's own and linked to the page they came from. Prices come from a live daily check; where we have no verified price we say so rather than print a stale one.
EGO Power+ 24" Hedge Trimmer HT2410
EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium · Our score 8.3/10

#ad Price as of October 11, 2026. Prices change; we check daily. How we're funded.
A published 1 in cut capacity on 24 in of forged steel, at 6.17 lb bare -- the numbers that decide whether a hedge trimmer is a hedge trimmer.
Published specs
| Blade length | 24 in, forged steel |
|---|---|
| Cut capacity | 1 in |
| Blade speed | 3,000 strokes per minute |
| Blade type | Dual-action, fully serviceable |
| Weight | 6.17 lb (bare tool) |
| Battery | Any EGO 56V ARC Lithium |
Source: 24" Cordless Brushless Hedge Trimmer (HT2410), egopowerplus.com
What the numbers favor
- 1 in published cut capacity -- most cordless hedge trimmers publish 3/4 in or stay silent
- 6.17 lb bare, light enough to hold above shoulder height
- Blades described as fully serviceable rather than sealed
- Runs on any EGO 56V pack you already own
What they don't
- EGO publishes no runtime figure for this tool at any pack size, so we cannot compute one honestly
- Sold bare in most configurations
your hedges are soft new growth on a small boundary. 24 in of blade is awkward on a low hedge and a 20 in tool is easier to control.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
EGO POWER+ Carbon Fiber Hedge Trimmer Attachment (HTA2020)
EGO · EGO 56V (Multi-Head) · Our score 8.2/10

#ad Price as of October 11, 2026. Prices change; we check daily. How we're funded.
A 20 in blade on a carbon fiber shaft with 12-position articulation, driven by a power head you may already own.
Published specs
| Blade | 20 in steel |
|---|---|
| Cut capacity | 1 in |
| Articulation | 12 positions |
| Shaft | Carbon fiber |
| Weather rating | IPX4 |
| Power heads | PH1400, PH1420 (sold separately) |
| Weight | Not published |
| Warranty | 5-yr tool / 3-yr battery; lifetime carbon fiber shaft if registered within 90 days |
Source: POWER+ Carbon Fiber Hedge Trimmer Attachment (HTA2020), egopowerplus.com
EGO's Multi-Head extension is a 31 in aluminum pole -- 2 ft 7 in of additional reach -- and EGO states it suggests using only one extension pole at a time. EGO publishes no total assembled reach and no attachment weight, so we cannot tell you how high the blade ends up or how heavy it feels there. The 12-position articulation is what makes the top of a hedge cuttable without that figure.
What the numbers favor
- 12-position articulation cuts hedge tops flat from ground level
- Carbon fiber shaft with a lifetime warranty when registered
- 1 in cut capacity, the same as a mid-size dedicated hedge trimmer
- Runs off an EGO 56V pack you already own if you are on the platform
What they don't
- Weight is not published -- the number that decides whether you can hold it overhead
- Power head sold separately, so the entry cost is two purchases
- No published total reach with or without the extension
you are not already on EGO 56V. Buying a power head plus an attachment to trim one hedge costs more than a good dedicated trimmer.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
RYOBI 18V ONE+ HP Brushless 8" Pruning Mini Chainsaw (PSBCW01K)
RYOBI · Ryobi 18V ONE+ · Our score 8.4/10

#ad Price as of October 11, 2026. Prices change; we check daily. How we're funded.
Eight inches of bar, a 6 in cut capacity and 65+ cuts from a 2.0Ah pack, with no bar oil to spill in the car.
Published specs
| Bar | 8 in |
|---|---|
| Cut capacity | 6 in |
| Oiling | Oil-free design |
| Motor | Brushless, 18V ONE+ HP |
| Battery | 18V 2.0Ah included (36Wh) |
| Cuts per charge | Over 65 with the 2.0Ah pack |
| Guards | Chain and handle guards |
| Weight | Not published |
| Chain pitch and gauge | Not published |
Source: 18V ONE+ HP Brushless 8" Pruning Mini Chainsaw, ryobitools.com
18V x 2.0Ah = 36 watt-hours. RYOBI publishes over 65 cuts per charge, so 36 / 65 = 0.55Wh per cut at most. The Milwaukee hatchet works out to 0.40Wh per cut on its own published figures, but it is cutting a different reference log -- RYOBI does not state what it cut, which is exactly the caveat that keeps these two numbers from being a ranking.
What the numbers favor
- 8 in bar and a 6 in cut capacity, the largest in the mini class we hold
- Oil-free, so it travels in a truck bed or a car without leaking
- Publishes cuts per charge against a stated battery size
- Runs on the 18V ONE+ platform, which is the largest cordless tool platform in this registry
What they don't
- No published weight, chain pitch or gauge, so replacement chains mean reading the manual
- Does not state what wood or diameter the 65-cut claim was measured on
- Oil-free designs trade chain life for convenience; RYOBI publishes no chain life figure
- No published warranty term on the product page
you are felling rather than pruning. A 6 in cut capacity is a limb tool -- see our full-size chainsaw roundup.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
EGO Power+ 10" Pole Saw Attachment PSA1000
EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium · Our score 8.1/10

#ad Price as of October 11, 2026. Prices change; we check daily. How we're funded.
70 published cuts from a 140Wh pack at 4.17 lb -- the honest answer for limbs you should not be on a ladder for.
Published specs
| Bar length | 10 in |
|---|---|
| Max cut diameter | 10 in |
| Chain | 3/8 in pitch, 0.043 in gauge |
| Pole length | 38 in (plus power head) |
| Cuts per charge | Up to 70 (2.5Ah) |
| Weight | 4.17 lb |
| Lubrication | Automatic |
Source: 10" Pole Saw Attachment for Multi-Head System (PSA1000), egopowerplus.com
140Wh (56V x 2.5Ah) over 70 published cuts = about 2.0Wh per cut, roughly double the CS1804's 0.93Wh -- a narrow-kerf chain on a long pole works harder per cut than a saw you can lean on.
What the numbers favor
- 70 cuts per 2.5Ah pack, published
- 4.17 lb attachment weight, published
- Automatic bar lubrication rather than a manual oiler
- Takes EGO's EP7500 extension pole for more reach
What they don't
- Attachment only -- needs an EGO PH1400 or PH1420 power head
- 0.043 in narrow-kerf gauge chain, less common than the 0.050 in on the CS1804
you have one overhanging branch. Renting or hiring is cheaper than a power head plus an attachment for a single afternoon.
How it scores
Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.
Where to buy the tools on this page
Every link below is an Amazon affiliate link. We show no price we have not verified today, so where there is no live figure the link says "check price" and takes you to the listing to read it there.
Best cut capacity
EGO Power+ 24" Hedge Trimmer HT2410
EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium
Best pole hedge trimmer
EGO POWER+ Carbon Fiber Hedge Trimmer Attachment (HTA2020)
EGO · EGO 56V (Multi-Head)
Best cuts per charge
RYOBI 18V ONE+ HP Brushless 8" Pruning Mini Chainsaw (PSBCW01K)
RYOBI · Ryobi 18V ONE+
Best pole saw on-platform
EGO Power+ 10" Pole Saw Attachment PSA1000
EGO · EGO 56V ARC Lithium
#ad As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.
Common questions
What is the best gift for someone who trims their own hedges?
What cut capacity do you need for a hedge trimmer?
Is a pole hedge trimmer worth it?
What should you buy someone who prunes rather than trims?
What should you not buy for hedge work?
Sources
Read next
- Guides
The questions that come before the shopping. Answered in the first paragraph, then explained.
- Best cordless hedge trimmer
Cut capacity decides whether a trimmer suits your hedge. The published figures and the runtime gap.
- Best pole hedge trimmer
Articulation, cut capacity and added reach for trimming hedge tops without a ladder.
- Best cordless hedge trimmer for thick growth
Cut capacity decides it: 1 in published, and a different tool above that.
- How to trim a hedge properly
Taper the sides, work bottom to top, and follow the extension limit on how much to remove.
- When should you trim hedges and shrubs?
Late dormant season for most pruning, spring bloomers right after flowering, hedges twice a year.
- Multi-head attachment systems: one power head, several tools
Attachments carry no motor and no battery. What the EGO multi-head system covers and where it stops.